We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute chill out place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Planula B&B Retreat
Ranked #16 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Had a wonderful stay. Totally tranquil. I've not slept this well and felt more relaxed in a long time. Phil and Linda who manage the B&B are so cheerful and helpful and you absolutely have to try the freshly baked muffins in the morning. Definitely a place that I would come back to again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuAnneChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Wow! What a lovely place to spend a few days. The welcome was perfect. Friendly without being intrusive and made us feel comfortable right away. The accommodation fits into its environment really well and immediately creates a sense of relaxation and well being.

Arriving back from dinner in town, we were greeted by a selection of frogs and toads on pest control duty and then the sounds of the night time bush help you drift off to a glorious and unbroken sleep.

Breakfast is amazing. Home made muffins, plenty of fresh fruit and yoghurt, juice and coffee. The owners are very flexible too, offering to put breakfast out very early if we desired.

Just hired bikes from reception and now heading off out for the day, but looking forward to our return for a lunchtime siesta.

If you are coming to this part of the world I doubt that there is anywhere better and the hosts are lovely people who make the stay so relaxing. We decided we were coming back before we had even been to bed!

Room Tip: Next time we are booking the room with the Spa!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drewp84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I would stay there again in a heartbeat! Went there as a suprise bday weekend for my partner and it was perfect. Beautiful setting, lovely rooms, and a nice main house. It's run by a lovely young family with a cute dog, so it feels like a home away from home. The only thing I didn't like was the location, but at least you aren't in the midst of the crazy party zone. Excellent value for money! I hope we can go back soon :)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Most of these reviews are about the peace, relaxation and the friendly hosts. We were disappointed for other reasons, which would be so simple to do better. Some things are impossible to influence, such as the dust and lack of rain affecting the "lush tropical garden" and turning the frog pond into a muddy patch. Also the noisy group on our second night who kept us awake late as our room was next to the lounge/deck and also polished off all the tropical fruit at breakfast next day.

I have never, ever written a review about anywhere I have stayed in the world, so it is a big deal for me to spend time doing this and is hopefully helpful for the future and for the owners who are not there at the moment.

1. I think we paid for the best room, with the spa. The "deluxe beautiful room" is pretty basic and has no bedside table or reading light on one side. The blinds are dusty, the linen ordinary, and the curtains have marks on them which is either dirt or mould. Room is not made up during stay.
2. Apart from nice muffins, the "extensive continental breakfast" is basic, which is ok. But it is totally self serve, even for making a pot of tea or plunger coffee, and I thought to just put out everything on the table in the containers straight from the supermarket, including the Devondale spread, was just shabby. And during our stay, no-one came to check if anything needed to be replenished.
3. I did not see a "free newspaper".
4. In the kitchen the material which includes the bio of the artist is covered in dust. The table and chairs outside our room had bird poo on them, which was not cleaned off and I don't expect to do it myself or have to ask for it to be done, as this is pretty basic daily maintenance stuff. This is just too rustic for me.
The good things, such as the nice spa, location, etc have been covered extensively by others.
This might be a great place for a house party of friends, especially divers, who would enjoy the surroundings and communal living. Unfortunately, the things above, most of which are easy to improve, meant it was not as lovely as we had expected.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
planula, Owner at Planula B&B Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our retreat and that Planula did not meet your expectations.

We were not aware that you had any concerns until after your departure when we read your guest book comment about other guests who had been noisy during the previous evening, and now your Trip Advisor review. We live on-site and can always be reached in person or by phone 24/7 in case of any issues that arise during our guests' stays at Planula, and we are disappointed that you did not alert us of, or permit us to address, any concerns you had while you were staying with us, particularly as we spoke several times during your stay. Room servicing frequency, for example, is highlighted upon check-in and was acknowledged by you, however we would have been more than happy to service your room if you would have let us know of your dissatisfaction with our normal operating guidelines.

We pride ourselves on paying attention to detail when cleaning and preparing rooms ready for our guests, however, we do acknowledge that wind blown dust and bird droppings can appear quite quickly in our natural bush and rainforest setting.

Nevertheless, we take any feedback - good and bad - very seriously. Our main aim at all times is to provide all our guests with a more than pleasant stay in wonderful surrounds.

Regards,
Linda & Phil

Comment from the owners:

Linda and Phil take their job very serious and we have received plenty of positive feedback from our guests in regards to them. They have proven to be extremely reliable, professional and caring people. We are sure that if you would have mentioned anything that you were not happy about they would have addressed this immediately.

As for our breakfast - we have put a tremendous amount of thought into how and why things are done over the last 12 years. Plenty of quality ingredients are served to all our guests at breakfast time with excellent quality coffee and a huge variety of teas are available throughout the day. Furthermore we do not believe in generally low quality tiny plastic containers with jam and pre-packaged mini-butter for many reasons, however we present breakfast ingredients hygienically and fresh making Planula an environmentally sound option to stay when visiting Byron Bay.

Again we could not be more happy with Linda & Phil as managers and they set very high standards for anyone attempting to fill such a position.

It seems very clear from your review that you prefer to air this publicly on Trip Advisor rather than contacting or speaking us directly, which is unfortunate.

We wish you pleasant travels in the future and we hope your expectations will be met better elsewhere.

Regards,

Tim & Wandy Hochgrebe
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Had a nice stay. The staff were very friendly. King bed was 2 singles pushed together; not so good for snuggling. Nice hot shower with lovely pressure. Lots of songbirds around, nice to wake up to. The supplied breakfast was basic but nice. Overall, good!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessicawagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Great atmosphere for those looking for a ca place away from the city noise, yet 5 minutes drive from Byrom bay. When a smiling host brings warm scones for breakfast, you know you are in a great place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yossimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Just reflecting on my recent stay at Planula. Had a fantastic few days. The location is perfect to relax, enjoy the outdoor setting, explore the many attractions of Byron Bay or chill on the beach. It was a special time to share with friends and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KazCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
1.2 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
427 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
204 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Bayhaven Lodge
Bayhaven Lodge
#9 of 34 in Byron Bay
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planula B&B Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planula B&B Retreat

Address: Lot 1, Melaleuca Drive | PO Box 1753, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: £90 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Planula B&B Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planula Retreat offers beautiful accommodation set on over 50 acres amongst tropical landscaped gardens just over 3km from the centre of Byron Bay. You will love the relaxed atmosphere created in this modern B&B style retreat. We are the only true remaining oasis that close to town! Unwind on the extensive decks around the house overlooking the frog pond and enjoy the lush gardens. How about listening to the birds and frogs over a BBQ at night? Extensive continental breakfasts are included in all rates. FREE wireless fast broadband everywhere. Friendly hosts and great recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Planula B&B Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing