We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended”
Review of Wollongbar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wollongbar Motel
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed in this motel as i could not get the hostel i wanted. This motel is in a great location 5 mins walk from centre of byron bay but in a quiet area. The rooms are spacious we booked a room for 2 and we got a double bed and bunk beds! the facilities in the room are great microwave toaster plates cutlery fridge tv and aircon couldnt ask for more. The rooms were cleaned every day . The staff were great very friendly and helpful organised airport transfers for us. The beach is also 5 mins walk so everything is very close by. There is a lovely pool and pool area with sunbeds although most people go to the beach its nice to have this option. I cant recommend this motel enough and its where i will stay the next time i go to byron bay.

Room Tip: we were in room 1 not sure if all rooms are the same but ours had double and bunk beds didnt pay any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foferbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Motel was situated just a 5 min walk from the main street of Byron Bay, had it's own pool and pathway down to the beach, but as it was raining when I was there I didn't use any of these options. Friendly staff, big rooms and comfertable beds. Tea and coffeemaker, fridge and simpy kitchen supplies. Bathroom was big but not very nice, with dark spots on the wall and showercurtain.

All in all a good motel, ok priced for Byron Bay, if they upgrade their bathrooms a bit it would be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ida F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We go to Byron bay twice a year (from Brisbane) and we like this hotel.
No luxury like a 5 star hotel but after all the hotel reflect the price.
We usually stay 3 nights and we pay $119 a night.
Everything is closed, the beach the town and the shopping.
What else can you have?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friendofeverybody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Looks great from outside.. But was disappointed. We paid $169 for 1 bedroom family room. The door to the bedroom jammed which had I'm sure had many times in the past as the skin was coming away from the door. The bathroom door wouldn't shut either . The water jug in the fridge had a big black hair on it. The fridge in the main area which is also the main bedroom was very noisy.
The unit did not feel clean. Close to town for walking , which was convenient . We only stayed one night thank goodness ..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindielips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Rooms in Byron Bay are much more expensive than elsewhere along the coast in NSW and therfore we were not expecting much for the 189 $ we paid. And we certainley didn't expect a kitchen.
We had two rooms ensuite, a fully equipped kitchen (the only thing missing was a conventional oven) and one of the bedrooms was fully equipped with toys, children's books and pretty kids bedspreads (our two adult sons had a good laugh).
Parking was just outside and the pool was a few steps away. It only took minutes to get to the beach and also to the town centre.
.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This motel is a real gem. I wasn't going to write a review because it will get far too popular and won't be able to get a room next time!!! It's in a perfect location and easy flat walk into town and even though on a main room the room was very quiet (except when I set the smoke detector off cooking toast - so be warned they are sensative). The staff were very friendly and rooms very clean and had everything we needed. I'm not sure if all rooms are the same but ours was wheelchair friendly with large bathroom and appropriate handles. Definitely recommend and where else can you stay in Byron for under $120 a night...

Room Tip: this motel is only two storey's, so if you have lots of luggage request a room on the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJN2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

If you are after a good value motel for families close to town then you can't go wrong here.
It's not 5 star but who cares when you are wanting to go to the beach and into town all the time anyway. Would I stay here again absolutely as if you love Byron you will know it can get expensive around here and for this value I would come back
By the way Review by Frangipanilee is absolutely spot on.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneyforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#15 of 34 in Byron Bay
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hibiscus Motel
Hibiscus Motel
#9 of 34 in Byron Bay
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.4 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#17 of 34 in Byron Bay
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Beach Motel
Bay Beach Motel
#23 of 34 in Byron Bay
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wollongbar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wollongbar Motel

Address: 19 - 21 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range: £88 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wollongbar Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wollongbar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wollongbar Hotel Byron Bay
Wollongbar Motel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing