We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wollongbar Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wollongbar Motel
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Balnarring, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I rely on trip advisor, however there was no mention on the reviews about road noise, perhaps no one had stayed in room number 1.
When I booked there were 2 family rooms available, however when we arrived we got the dud room, the room that should be sold last, at a reduced rate.
We were in the first room from the street, LOTS of road noise.
I asked to be moved because of the noise but they were full and after a long drive, I was not prepared to go look for another place at 5pm on a Saturday.
The gentleman was polite and suggested we kept the doors and windows closed to combat the noise which quietens we were told at 10pm...which it did....then it started up again at 6am - which we were not told.
We chose to keep the windows slightly open for fresh, cool air as we don't want to have the air con on all night.
Was woken by someone running past the motel and yelling out at 2am, then again by the road noise at 6am.
Toilet continuously running, had to shut the bathroom door to get to sleep.
No fan in the bathroom so it steams up while showering, I could open the window however I don't like to be looked in on from the rooms next door which look directly into the shower.
Room was VERY VERY tired with dated and bad decor, have stayed in better places for less than their rate of $189.00, not in Byron Bay but still expect a certain standard for $189.00
Before we left we did one last check of the room to make sure we hadn't left anything behind, looked under the double bed and there was an empty plastic container that is used for sushi take away, tissues and general dirt, all not from our stay.

The location is perfect, close to the beach and shops.
The pool and bbq area looked nice but didn't use it.
I'm sure units further in from the street would be better, especially if house keeping cleans under the beds, therefore making it a more suitable place to stay for the price.

Perhaps if the room was cheaper you could over look the noise, ugly and tired decor factor and steamy bathroom but didn't like parting with my money for something unsuitable and over priced for what it offered.
I was prepared to talk to the staff upon check out about our experience, however when I handed over the room key I was greeted with:
"Good morning"
"Checking out ?"
"Would you like an invoice ?"

No question of " How was your stay ?"
Mmmmm.
Think they know now, but too late, not staying there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not near the street, if so, ask for a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    66
    21
    14
    5
See reviews for
28
64
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Victoria Austalia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

The reviews we read on Trip Advisor were very accurate. The location is excellent, the building and facilities tired, the room servicing very random, the reception staff helpful and the pool very enjoyable. They need to do some I vestment in the property and their staff if they want to do well in this competitive environment.

Gail

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank parnersinwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Front Office Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thanks for your review Gail.
As the winter low season approaches we have restoration and upgrade plans in place. It is also a good time for our house keepers to spend the extra time on each room to increase the standard. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Byron Bay and glad to hear you enjoyed our pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Room was a bit dated and ropey but very clean. Management and reception were very friendly and helpful. Sometimes you get the rat race attitude from Byron business owners because they're so flat out busy and don't need to try too hard as the punters flock there. These guys were brilliant - so helpful. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thanks for your review Tony,

Byron Bay can get busy , especially at the time of year you were here! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can accomodate you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I am a travel agent in Sydney and would highly recommend Wollongbar Motel - we booked the 3 bedroom apartment which is at the front of the property - great for family groups sleeping up to 10 people - 8 comfortably. Nigel and Jayne the Managers were very informative with what to do around Byron Bay and the apartment was fantastic!! They even made our beds daily which was a bonus - and when I had clothes washing to do - Nigel even hung it out as I was busy shopping in town - what can I say!!! The pool area was very handy - very clean and great for a dip in the hot temps - we cooked BBQ's at the poolside and were able to supervise the kids at the same time - the kids loved the access to the beach - they loved walking over the old railway lines and going through the private track - it was like being back in the 70's...

I highly recommend the 3 bedroom apartment if you are looking at a group of people who want to be right in town and have a great place to relax and sleep in..

Room Tip: 3 bedroom apartment great for family groups of 8-10 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean enough. Air conditioning doesn't work. A bit disappointing for the heat of summer. Short walk into town. Pillows were uncomfortable, fortunately there were spares but they too were identical.
If its only one night and you get it cheap enough then go for it. For extended stays I would avoid it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels_a-lot0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Sorry to hear your air conditioner wasn't working. Often it can be as simple as replacing flat batteries in the remote , or ensuring power activation key is in the slot on the wall underneath. Had you let us know we may have been able to fix it or move you to another room. Hope you had a good time in Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Direct beach access. Great location for everything you need- close to beach, bars and shops! Super Clean and extra friendly staff!
Great value, even during peak season.
Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Venessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Front Office Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Hi Venessa,
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Wollongbar Motel. You are most welcome back when you travel through town again.Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Nice location on the edge of town, few mins from town centre. Beach only 50 yards from hotel. Lovely big beach. Basic but clean rooms, good in size, we stayed in the lower deck. Didn't get to use the pool as beach was so close. Would stay here again. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thanks for taking time to comment.I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our easy beach access.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Dolphins
Dolphins
#19 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Motor Lodge Motel
Byron Motor Lodge Motel
#31 of 32 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.4 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#14 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Eco Beach
BreakFree Eco Beach
#7 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hibiscus Motel
Hibiscus Motel
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wollongbar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wollongbar Motel

Property: Wollongbar Motel
Address: 19 - 21 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wollongbar Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wollongbar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wollongbar Hotel Byron Bay
Wollongbar Motel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing