We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the dirtiest motel i have ever stayed in” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wollongbar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wollongbar Motel
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the dirtiest motel i have ever stayed in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

What was a nice looking motel from the road and a good looking clean reception area, we soon found out this was not so. Manager Craig was very friendly.but unfortunately it is as far as it goes.
From the front door right through the room was disgustingly dirty. I wonder who cleans the rooms as when we left around 10am there were no signs of any cleaners. The fridge freezer hasn't been cleaned for a long time as it was so iced up door couldn't open and nothing could be put in freezer.
Carpets worn, torn and disgustingly dirty. The yellow colour inside was poorly done, as the brickwork was only painted and doors and trims were all the same colour.
When we walked into room it smelt off and eventually we worked out it was the drains in the bathroom so we shut the door.
Could not lock door on inside so felt quite vulnerable.
I wonder why there is no star rating for this motel let alone no self rating.
We have owned and run motels for many years. Please ask to see and check the room before you book in.

Room Tip: Check the room out before you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our venue. We appreciate your comments as we strive to please.
We currently have an AAA 3.5 star rating and have enjoyed a continual association with Star Ratings Australia for over 20 years. Our housekeepers commence work at 10.00am as we offer guests an 11.00am check out. Our rooms are cleaned on every departure and serviced on a daily basis.
Our reception is open a minimum of 12 hours a day and resident management is contactable 24 hours a day. The 1800 number is located on the reception door and in each room compendium.
I apologise for the mysterious smell. Unfortunately, we did not discuss this at the time and we cannot find any evidence of this. Thank you for informing us and we will continue to look.
Our door locks have emergency exit handles that are locked on the outside but open from the inside.
Sorry your stay did not exceed your expectation and we will endeavour to continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    67
    22
    14
    5
See reviews for
28
66
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed in a family room for 3 nights, which was spacious, kids bedroom had ample room for 2 children although my son found the bed doonas amusing being an older boy. The bathroom was a decent size. I enjoyed having my morning cuppa on the balcony. A few minutes walk into Byron Bay and a pathway to the beach from the property. Unfortunately I didn't find the time to use the pool during our stay. Staff were friendly and attended to my complaint about the soft bed and rectified the problem the very next day. Nice and quiet with no traffic noise. The price was reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My partner has stayed many times and we spent 5 days over the school holidays.
The price is very, very reasonable for a nice motel so close to the centre of town, plus one with beach-side access.
Staff were very helpful.
We were very happy with our stay here - we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeLCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. Rooms are a good size with the bathroom being very large. There is a great pool and barbeque area with a large covered area. Only a short five minutes walk to town. At the back of the property is a gate that gives you direct access to the beach. We used this access nearly every day. Staff are very helpful and friendly. They have beach towels and bodyboards for use by guests. The only downside is it can get a little noisy at times.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Wollongbar for the Byron Bluesfest. Great location, only a few minutes stroll into the main shopping area, and a gate at the back of the property leading directly onto the beautiful Belongil beach, but very quiet. Rooms are spacious, the 2nd level ones have balconies looking over the swimming pool (and car park). The room we were in was a bit tired but comfy bed, very clean, and very pleasant and helpful staff. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Second level towards the back are quieter and have nice outlook over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayG_020454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at Wollongbar Hotel on Thursday the 1st and Friday the 2nd of May. The hotel is picturesque ,the rooms are spacious and the location is the best. We throughly enjoyed the walkway to the beach from the hotel, the walkway leads you to the wreck. The service is personalised. I can't wait to come back! Ps the macadamia shortbread they leave in the room is amazing. Michelle and Angus

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squidgyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Located close to the beach - just across old railway tracks and some bushes. With a special back gate, you don't even need to walk on streets - straight to the beach! And it's close to the town centre. This is best if you're looking for some quiet time after returning from dinner and/or drinks.

The rooms aren't as new/shiny as in some other motels (eg Hibiscus), but overall I was very pleased with it. Definitely on my list for the future in Byron Bay

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#17 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.4 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Eco Beach
BreakFree Eco Beach
#9 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wollongbar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wollongbar Motel

Property: Wollongbar Motel
Address: 19 - 21 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wollongbar Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wollongbar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wollongbar Hotel Byron Bay
Wollongbar Motel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing