We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and tidy, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice and tidy, great value”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Found this on WOTIF and went in to see if they could match rate. The owner bettered the rate shown on WOTIF and gave us a really nice room after letting us inspect it first! Awesome service. Although located a couple of kms out of the main town, I was glad we decided to stay there rather than right in town amongst all the hippies! The only bummer was that we had some death metal fans staying in the room above us on our last night there and they played their music until 1.30am and you could hear it through the ceiling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madashell47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    71
    20
    4
    8
See reviews for
41
95
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Located a bit outside the Byron Bay city center, a car is required.
Tallow beach is the nearest one and is within walking distance.

The owners were friendly and very helpful.
Both the room and the pool area is a bit worn, and might need an update. But there was also a spacious BBQ area, were you can prepare your own food. When we stayed at the motel, the lights didnt work in the evening and that was unfortunate.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

it is quite ok for a motel. we had 2 bedrooms and a terrace - all was nice and clean. Mind that you can't really walk to somewhere where you could eat - you could, but it would take you around half an hour and the way is not at all picturesque.

maybe the place is overpriced

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

With the overpriced accommodation this is a good value motel at a convenient location. No stove though, but there is a BBQ. (which we did not use so I can not give my opinion on that).Staff is very friendly and helpful. Good walk to the centre and to the beach though, but not too far.
Cabin was very spacious, beds were ok, place is clean and tidy. However, interior is bit worn, so do not expect the most stylish furniture. It makes a good experience though to see all the furniture from the 80's/90's!! Place has a flatscreen tv, with HDMI, so we could hookup our laptop to watch some movies/DVD's which was great!!

Would stay here again, since the value was good, and the place was clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda8P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Spent 2 nights at Byron Sunseeker Motel in Byron Bay. The staff/owners were very helpful and friendly. This motel is away from the centre of the town and a car is required to get around. The rooms are in need of updating. The carpet was threadbare and the motel is very "60ish". that being said, the rooms were relatively clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMATravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Graeme and Deborah were wonderful hosts. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Lovely surrounds and very close to town. Felt like I was staying with old friends. Have stayed there 3 times now a.nd will again soon I hope. Diana Sydney.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed here for a brief visit to Byron Bay with friends in a family studio for one night. Staff was very helpful upon checkin and checkout, and the rooms were alright.

This motel lies in quiet surroundings, but a few minutes drive away from the centre of Byron Bay, so you need a car for pretty much every thing you want to do.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank econtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#19 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay

Property: Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
Address: 100 Bangalow Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While Byron Bay is a well-known playground for some, it is a place of relaxation, contemplation and unparalleled beauty for others. Byron Sunseeker Motel is situated close enough to enjoy the many offerings of the township, yet it is far enough away from the party scene to ensure your relaxation. Your hosts, Deborah and Graham, take pride in the serene atmosphere that is provided at Byron Sunseeker Motel. As a guest you will appreciate their undertaking to provide a relaxing experience that allows you to unwind in the comfortable rooms and within the peaceful confines of the grounds. Come and enjoy our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Sunseeker Hotel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing