We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but cosy, comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Villa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glen Villa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Basic but cosy, comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at Glen Villa over the Splendour in the Grass weekend so although the price per night was expensive for what you got, it was the cheapest rate going for the weekend. The staff are very friendly, bubbly and happy to help.

The basic cabin is just that but there was a good little stove and grill in the kitchen so we could cook. The shower makes a loud strange sound when you turn on the hot water, which is just the pipes warming up so don't stress. The bed was on the soft side but that's to be expected from older style facilities. There was an extra warm blanket which came in handy.

The only thing that seemed to bother me was the strange acoustics. You could almost always hear your local neighbours while they were outside and also if they were inside with the windows open. Distant noise also travelled if there was something major going on in the main street (5 minute walk away), but it wasn't loud enough to disturb you from sleeping - just loud enough to notice. There were plenty of windows (you could see straight in from any angle without the curtains shut), which we shut before we went out for the night. Otherwise there was a small older style air conditioning unit we could have used.

Overall, I would stay here again and would recommend it to others, especially given its location. It's a five minute walk to the main street and a ten minute walk to the beach, so you're close enough yet far away enough from the hustle and bustle of Byron Bay. If you come understanding what you're paying for (perfectly adequate yet basic cabin / campsite etc), then you'll enjoy the stay. If you're after complete silence, absolute privacy and a few more conveniences or luxuries, you'd best look for a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin at the back of the campsite (like cabin 20, 21 or 22) - that's the end of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Morgan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    169
    76
    20
    28
See reviews for
56
235
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The area is extremely pleasant, the facilities are very good. Every thing that one would hope for in selecting a place to stay was here.
Great setting. lovely bungalow with even the smallest of objects you might need supplied. Staff were very efficient and extremely helpful and sympathetic if you could do your own thing. Mine is beach fishing and Byron Bay is wonderful for surfing.
This is not a reflection on the owner/staff =, I had selected wrong.
Great place to stay

Room Tip: I personally only saw one "room" but I feel sue that all "rooms" are equally goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rooster_España
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waratah Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

A wonderful holiday with sun streaming in every morning.Friendly helpful staff.
Good walking distance from town and beach.
Heating ok Good to sit out on verandah lovely sunshine. Good facilities. Overall a great holiday

Room Tip: Ask for north facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fran478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Glen Villa is a peaceful quiet oasis from the hustle and bustle of the town, so if you like to be able to sleep peacefully at night, this is the place to stay. The cabin accommodation is comfortable, very clean, and quality towels & linen are supplied. We enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it for couples rather than families with young kids as the resort caters for people who don't want to be bothered by noise.

Room Tip: All cabins seem to be satisfactory as they have en suites and kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

From my first point of call, the reception team were not only friendly, they were very helpful. The cabin was super clean and the facilities were well kept. I loved how quiet and safe it was. I will definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My partner and I stayed in one of the Cabins at the park. It was Good value for money only $80 a night and in a great location- walking distance to the Main Street. My only dissapointment was the queen bed. It was incredibly hard! We only stayed 3 nights, but enjoyed the facilities and would go back to Glen Villa for our next Byron holiday. For so cheap how can I complain. The cabins even had aircon which heated the room up nicely on those chilly nights.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma-louise16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed there, it was so nice and quiet and peaceful! The studio is small but cozy! The place is lovely and great! Would recommend for only a few nights though as the studio cabin is small! The cooking facility is great with a cozy homely feel! Byron is great and should be on everyone's bucket list!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brizzy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#34 of 65 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.3 mi away
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
#27 of 65 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.9 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Villa Resort

Property: Glen Villa Resort
Address: 80-86 Butler St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Villa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Villa Resort is a quiet, green oasis, a caravan park with a difference, catering for couples and mature groups. Boasting 40 deluxe cabins, 5 spa cabins, 6 holiday huts and an array of powered and unpowered camping and caravaning sites, Glen Villa Resort has you covered. Either laze by our beautiful salt water pool and spa or take a 5 minute walk to Byron Bay beach. We are situated just 400m from the lively Byron Bay CBD and 150m from the market grounds, the Glen Villa Resort is the perfect destination for your next getaway, come and relax with us you will not be disappointed. Stroll just 5minutes down the road and you will have at your finger tips all that Byron Bay has to offer. Ask the friendly staff for information on what to do and where to go. And after a long day, when you’ve had enough, it is just a short stroll to return to our quiet, peaceful oasis that is the Glen Villa Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Glen Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Villa Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing