We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very handy and pet friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bamboo Cottage B&B
Ranked #17 of 39 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very handy and pet friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Bamboo Cottage for 2 nights to attend a friend's birthday in Byron Bay.
We have a little dog, and finding a place that catered for her was a blessing, so we didn't have to book her in a pet resort.
The hotel is tidy, warm, very handy to all cafés and restaurants in Byron, and the hosts were lovely and caring.
We really enjoyed our dog friendly stay, and we would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    46
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
16
67
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at Bamboo Cottage with our dog and completely love the comfortable, simple, no fuss, welcoming, peaceful and homey atmosphere you feel from the moment you arrive. It was a great relief after a long trip to step in and be warmly welcomed by the wonderful hostess Louise who goes above and beyond to assist with any possible need or enquiry-she truely is an angel. Our room was clean and comfortable and our dog was more than welcome to stay with us which again we really appreciated, she was treated like part of the family and we love that. There was good wifi connection, relaxing lounge and outdoor area, kitchen facilities and guest breakfast, tea and coffee and even umbrella and bicycle hire. These guys have really put thought into providing not just needs but also opportunities to experience great life and magical moments in Byron. It's a five minute walk to town which was perfect leaving the car behind and not worry about driving or parking. Relaxed, homey, blissful,memorable, soothing and comfortable-we will definitely be back. Thank you Bamboo Cottage for having us as we are and thank you lovely Louise we won't forget you!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have their own bathroom as we preferred so that's something to consider if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frost T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We decided to spend the long weekend in Byron Bay and wanted to take our pups with us. We found that this small cottage that allowed dogs. We chose the 'Deluxe Bali Cottage' as the place presented itself as being spacious, although I noted that there aren't many pics of the place either on trip advisor or other booking tools (and now I understand why). We arrived quite late in the evening and it was raining so we just wanted to settle. Louise (who is a lovely host) met us. She didn't tell us that there was actually NO wifi available in the room until after we asked for the Wifi password. She also went on to say that there was no sink either. For a couple with two dogs, this was a big annoyance when wanting to do basic things like...ie fill a kettle or wash out your cup.
The cleanliness was also in question, the floors had a thin film of ...not sure what but we needed to walk with shoes on unless we wanted black feet. The wall hangings, alcove and windows were riddled with cobwebs and dust. Although we expected 3 star and to pay a premium for a long weekend, we also expected a place that was clean. The main house appeared to be clean Lucky for me, I bought a vaporiser with me to help settle the smell of dampness. The whole place just needs a really good scrub. Perhaps we are picky but for the money that we paid (in excess of $800+ for the 3 nights), we expected the place to be cleaned. We won't be back. If we felt that we would have gotten our money back, we probably would have found alternate accommodation. The sheets and bedding were clean and soft. It is not suitable for any more than 2 adults.(The two single beds are actually in the middle of the living room if they are pulled out which doesn't leave a lot of space for anything else). It is also quite dark. I am sure that the Bamboo in the summer would provide welcome shade, but in winter creates a darkness that only compounds the impact of damp.
The location is good, if you're traveling on your own, the smaller rooms might be perfect for you but I would look to see what other accommodation options exist before settling there.

Room Tip: Bali Deluxe too small for a family (especially without a sink). Choose the room with own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Macca_Wiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goolwa, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We - and that includes our little dog - had a lovely time staying at Bamboo Cottage for a weekend getaway. The room was clean, warm and upliftingly colorful, and the bed provided a couple of blissful night's sleeps. We didn't mind that we could hear other people moving about on the other side of the walls - this is cottage after all. The kitchen and living area are open and inviting to just potter around or have a chat with other guests. The outdoor sitting area on the deck is a relaxing spot to soak up the refreshed air thanks to the lushes gardens. It's also a great meeting point to connect and laugh with others staying there. The cottage might not be the most modern or fancy accommodation in town but it sure has its charm and warmth.The closeness to all the happenings in Byron Bay was a bonus (think "leave car behind and walk") but the secludedness of the place is a real treat! Thank you Louise for making us feel so welcomed, and yes, we will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WegFluge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at Bamboo cottage! Would definitely go back! Louise was very friendly and suggested a lot of things to do. Bamboo cottage is a great place to relax and chill out. My mom and were totally zen when we left Byron .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannevda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here as a couple in a double room and very much enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely and the landlady even more so, recommending us restaurants to visit, which we did so and had an amazing meal, and also chatting re our upcoming journey and offering trips and advice. Would stay here again for a home away from home, the room was spacious and clean and breakfast for an additional $6 pp was more than reasonable to have as much cereal and toast as we desired.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a great time at the B&B Thanks mainly to The house manager there who was so lovely and helpful. She made us feel at home (and our Dog too). It is cosy and close to all the amenities. Very quaint place. Our bed was comfy and warm.

Room Tip: One with an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 910Kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#19 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#6 of 39 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Villa Resort
Glen Villa Resort
#14 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Cottage B&B

Property: Bamboo Cottage B&B
Address: 76 Butler St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Cottage B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo Cottage has for many years provided a haven of charm and character for global travelers and locals alike. Lush bamboo gardens complement the Balinese style of the interiors. Crisp white bed linens, 'good-back' beds and selected “retro” pieces feature in rooms themed after Australian wildflowers.Located in a quiet street just 3 minutes walk from the Buzz of Byron. Bamboo Cottage is is your 'home away from home' in Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Cottage Hotel Byron Bay
Bamboo Cottage Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing