We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavvanbah Beach House
Ranked #1 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oneida, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Top Rate”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed only one night, but wish it could have been longer. We were working our way from Sydney to Brisbane and wanted to see Byron Bay. Very glad we booked out stay here. Located in a very quiet setting a short walk from a gorgeous beach, this is an ideal place to stay. Our room was clean, nicely furnished and very comfortable. The owners provide a breakfast and it was surprisingly good (my experience is that a "free breakfast" normally isn't all that great). Owners were very affable and helpful in recommending restaurants, things to do, etc. Being from the US (the Syracuse, NY area to be exact), it's probably not very likely we'll be back in Australia anytime soon, but if we do and if we return to Byron Bay, we will definitely book here again.

Room Tip: We were in a ground-level room just inside the front gate. Privacy was not a problem at all. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis_SBU72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thanks for reviewing us and your kind words.
We are so thrilled that we were able to make your short stay with us a memorable one.
I know you are long way on the other side of the world but hopefully the charm and lure of Byron Bay will see you returning sometime and we hope that you will come back and stay again.
Best wishes,
Geoff and Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
262
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We are planning our next visit to beautiful Cavvanbah Beach House! We were so relieved to discover stylish, immaculate accommodation within walking distance to town and a short stroll to the beach. The rooms are appointed with comfy beds and quality bedlinen and towels.
( Sanctum bath products were a lovely local touch) Our room was well screened from the pool area and we were able to adjust our shutters to take full advantage of the view and sunlight. Ceiling fans give the place a tropical feel. The breakfast is a foodies delight...absolutely delicious! Stephens past life as a chef is apparent! The property is quiet and the private carpark at rear is very convenient.Unfortunately on checkout we noticed that we had a flat tyre. Stephen to the rescue! (with cold bottles of water, freshly baked muffins and lots of support. He even gave my husband fresh towels to reshower after his dirty work!) We were most impressed and would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone who appreciates a relaxed style with a dash of decadence. XO

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thanks so much for reviewing us, i'm so sorry its taken so long to respond. It has been an extremely busy Summer.
Up to date info is great for guests looking to book with us.
I hope you got home safely after your flat tyre incident.
Glad the water and muffins were able to keep you refreshed.
We hope you are still thinking of coming back to stay!
Hope to see you soon,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This review is about a month overdue, but I would be remiss if I didn't submit a review. This quaint B&B is perfection! Amazing location, spotless rooms and baths, comfortable beds and the most amazing fresh breakfast daily. I'm still dreaming of the warm muffins and the museli that was delivered daily. The owners/hosts are friendly and are happy to help with your needs.
The short walk into town, rather on the street or my preferred method along the beach makes this a perfect choice. Don't hesitate....book the Cavvanbah you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: any of the rooms will make you happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goaskali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review for us.
It has been a very busy Summer here in Byron Bay.
WE are thrilled to have been able to make your stay with us a special one.
If you are ever in Byron again please be sure to look us up.
Kind Regards,
Geoff and Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful ,relaxing stay at the beachhouse.
The room was clean,spacious and well appointed
Pool was lovely for a refreshing dip
Just far enough from beach and shops to be quiet but an easy walk to both
Our wonderful fresh breakfasts supplied every morning certainly kept us going all day and the extra freshly baked treats were always much appreciated and tasty!
Steven and Geoff were attentive and available when required
very easy to talk to and full of useful tips on things to do in the area
Highly recommend to anyone looking for an oasis in the busy place that is Byron Bay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kismet62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you Paula for your very kind words.
We are really happy that you enjoyed yourself so much in Byron and our hospitality.
Hope you can come visit again someday soon.
Best Wishes,
Steven and Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Geoff and Steven have the perfect property and are the perfect hosts. The rooms are beautifully appointed, extremely generous in size and meticulously clean. They are very private but not isolated. Geoff and Steven are extremely friendly and welcoming - they leave you be but are on hand to help in any way they can. And the breakfast delivered to your room in the evening is AMAZING - home made muesli and jams to enjoy in your garden when you want. Will be coming back boys - as soon as we can.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us , we have recently freshened up all the rooms so next time you are able to make it up to Byron Bay you will be able to enjoy our comfort and hospitality even more.
Please don't leave it too long before you come back.
Thanks again for staying and writing such a great review for us. It was our pleasure hosting you.
Best wishes,
Steven and Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A perfect place to spend a night, weekend or longer away from the bustle of central Byron, yet still an easy walk into town and the beach. Geoff and Steven are wonderful hosts, we were presented with freshly baked muffins on departure. The room was well appointed, fresh and clean and very quiet. The breakfast was very satisfying; fresh fruit, muesli,organic yogurt and raisin toast. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
We think Cavvanbah Beach House is definitely in a great spot, just tucked away nicely, a little hideaway as you describe it .We Look forward to you both coming back and having another break. As we chatted about before you left , we have a strong interest in 'local food' and we try and use as much local produce as we can for breakfasts.
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us.
Steven and Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Its been a number of years since we last visited Byron Bay and had heard its now always very busy. So being a bit older this time we decide to stay a little bit further out of town so it would be quieter and more relaxing. But we still wanted to be very close to the beach as we still love a roll in the sand and a swim in the ocean.. Well the Cavvanbah Beach House was the perfect spot.. Very quiet and peaceful and with the lush tropical surrounding gardens it was very easy to feel lost and that you could have been any where. The beach was just over the sand dunes so it was perfect for a morning dip in the ocean before breakfast plus with its being a little bit down from the main beach of Byron it was no where near as crowded. The Beach House and the rooms were extremely well maintained and presented, very clean and stylish with very good quality and appointments ..Looking at and reading the marketing material on the property before our stay we both thought the room would be a lot bigger plus with the name but they were only the size of a standard motel room.. The room had a huge king size bed which was very comfortable but the room lacked storage space with no built in robe and had very little bench space or table area which made it hard to relax after a long hard day on the beach with drinks and food reading a book or the newspaper...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thanks Rowan for your kind words and we are pleased you enjoyed your 2 day stay with us.
Undoubtedly the position of Cavvanbah Beach House is second to none, a pleasant 10 minute walk into town and just across the sand dunes to beautiful Belongil Beach.
All our rooms are fitted with hanging space, 4 drawer tall boys and brand new comfortable sofas.
Each room has its own outdoor area or terrace with a table and chair setting for 2. Our room sizes vary between 20 and 30 square metres.
Best Wishes,
Steven and Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.1 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Aaman & Cinta Luxury Guesthouse & Villas
1.2 mi away
The Cape Beach House
The Cape Beach House
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavvanbah Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavvanbah Beach House

Property: Cavvanbah Beach House
Address: 28 Cavvanbah St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavvanbah Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone’s throw from Byron Bay’s spectacular surf beach and just minutes walk from the town centre, Cavvanbah Beach House is set amongst lush sub-tropical gardens on a quiet, secluded street – the perfect location for your holiday accommodation so you can relax, unwind and enjoy a peaceful beachside getaway.Our boutique property offers privacy that many hotels and guest houses cannot match. Each of our rooms has its own private entrance with direct access to the salt-water pool and gardens.Our location is second to none, and our proximity to the beach has to be seen to be believed. A short sandy track is all that separates your accommodation from Byron Bay's spectacular Belongil Beach. The property is nestled in beautiful tree-lined Cavvanbah Street which is set back from the main road into Byron – far enough to enjoy peace and quiet, but close enough to give you direct access to the very best of Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavvanbah Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing