We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable, well appointed B&B close to the beach and town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavvanbah Beach House
Ranked #1 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A comfortable, well appointed B&B close to the beach and town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Cavvanbah Beach House has four well designed units around a small swimming pool and garden. It is about a 5 minute walk through the dunes to the beach and about a ten minute stroll into the center of town. Each unit is spacious with a large bathroom (super large tub plus separate shower) plus a refrigerator and facilities for making coffee (French press or instant) and tea. Breakfast magically appears in the room on a handsome tray - all organic fruits, yoghurt, breads, cheeses, sometimes smoked salmon, muesli, etc. It is not a cooked breakfast which may disappoint those who want eggs in the morning, but it is a feast nonetheless. And one which you can enjoy on your own time schedule in the room or in your own little private garden. The hosts are warm and welcoming and will help with local arrangements or provide advice on places to visit or restaurants. This could be a place for a romantic getaway or for a family holiday. The couch in our room could fold out into a double bed to accommodate a child or two. A couple of the rooms are a bit larger and are more clearly designed for families. The architectural design provides for privacy even if the B&B is full, and our room was exceptionally quiet until the birds announced that the sun was rising over the Pacific.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine, but there is no need to choose a larger unit unless travelling with a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
261
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I just needed a week away to rest and recharge the batteries. What an excellent choice to go to Cavvanbah Beach House. The room was so stylish and had everything you could want. Stephen and Geoff make sure you feel at home and there is plenty of advise for sightseeing, food and entertainment if you want it. Being just across the road from the beach is a perfect location if you feel like a swim or a walk before or after the delicious breakfast they provide. Cant recommend it highly enough.

Juliet

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jul552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so much Juliet for your kind words.
We are so happy that we were able to help you recharge your batteries.
We hope you will not forget your weeks break with us in a hurry. Please come back anytime you need to be cared for again.
Trust you travelled home safely.
Thanks again for your kind words.
Best Wishes
Geoff and Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was lucky enough to get a weekend away and we selected the Cavvanbah Beach house.
On arrival it was a joy to see the room and spa bath, that we took full advantage of. The sea is just across the road over the sand hill and through the trees, what a sight is was.

The rooms are very well set up and you want for nothing. Its quite at night comfortable bed and, well just a nice place to stay and relax

Room Tip: If your looking at staying, then take the room with the Spa its worth that little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks David for taking some of your precious time to write a review for us.
We have two room types available and like you. many of our guests really do enjoy being able to use the corner spa in our premium spa rooms. It must be such a lovely way to relax after taking in all the sights of Byron and surrounds.
We are thrilled you booked your weekend getaway at Cavvanbah Beach House and hope you will be able to return soon to enjoy some more of our hospitality.

Regards,
Steven and Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here recently. Absolutely loved it. We can't fault anything. Certainly enjoyed Byron more than our previous visits.

The owners Steven and Geoff certainly know what they do. They are friendly, accommodating and very helpful. Their advice on activities and restaurants were spot on.

The location is great, being practically across the road from the good end of the beach and a short walk to the town centre. Yet it's far enough from any noise and bustle.

The room we had was nicely appointed; not too ostentatious yet tastefully decked out. We are our breakfasts each morning on our own private deck, overlooking a lush corner of the garden as believe It or not, being watched by 3 kookaburras the first coupla days.

Breakfasts were prepared and left for us the night before: homemade muesli was incredible. Good quality yoghurt, bread, fruit and homemade jam or cold meats. In the evenings we return to find freshly bakes muffins that we look forward to daily!!

Wifi was for free in the room and was unlimited which helps.

We didn't use the pool so can't really comment. Nor did we get a chance to check out the other room. Somehow I trust they would be equally fantastic.

Highly recommended.


  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We are really happy you found our accommodation to your satisfaction and enjoyed our hospitality.
We agree with you our position is one of the best in Byron. The beautiful Belongil Beach over the road is quiet and peaceful, even in the peak season.

Hope you can come back to visit Byron Bay again soon.

Take care,
Steven and Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed with Cavvanbah for 4 nights, and this is one of the first times that the accommodation added to our enjoyment of the holiday. It is so close to the beach (a quiet area to enjoy), 15 minutes' walk from town, and the owners were very friendly, helpful and relaxed. It is like staying in the house owned by your friends, with the extra benefit that they make a homestyle breakfast and beautiful muffins with local ingredients for you. Every time we opened the fridge, there is a surprise waiting for you! We loved the muesli and bought a jar home, so we can have a taste of Byron here. Much recommended and we will visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
THANK YOU TOM for your wonderful and kind words.
We really try and make everyone's stay with us a memorable one, offering a 'real' Byron Bay experience.
We like our guest to feel like they are being looked after and their accommodation more an experience , rather than just someone to sleep at night.

We hope you have enjoyed a few more bowls of our homemade Muesli at home and remembering what a highlight your trip to Byron Bay really was.

Thanks again,
Steven and Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is one of the best boutique properties I have stayed at anywhere in the world. It has a perfect location just across the nature strip from beautiful Belongil Beach which makes it quiet and peaceful. However, it is only a ten minute walk either along the beach or the road to get into the centre of town. The rooms are immaculately clean, quiet, private, comfortable and beautifully furnished with quality furnishings, linens and bathroom amenities. There are all the little extras that make a place special like local ground coffee and plunger, real fresh milk, DVDs to borrow, music centre, unlimited free WiFi (to make everyone at home envious), a pleasant, private outdoor setting where you can eat or relax and a huge bathroom.
What really makes this place, however is the wonderful owners Geoff and Steve. They are so thoughtful, friendly and helpful without ever being intrusive - in short - the perfect hosts. They went out of their way to look after me, firstly by doing some booking magic so I could spend an extra night, and then by going out of their way to cater for my gluten free diet.
And speaking of food - then there is the breakfast! Breakfast is delivered in the afternoon for the next morning and if you are out when they drop it off, your curtains are drawn and lights left on to welcome you as well. You may even return to your room and find a tasty sweet treat left for you! But back to the breakfast. It is delicious, very generous quantities and fresh, organic and locally sourced wherever possible. There are the staples of fruit salad, home-made muesli, organic yoghurt, artisan bread with butter and home made jam and honey, fresh juice and fruit which is more than enough in itself. However, if you stay longer, you may find other little extras for variation included on your tray. There is crockery, cutlery, glassware and napkins provided in the room which is lightly serviced each day. This means that you can have your breakfast in privacy whenever and however you want. What a great idea!
I cannot recommend this property highly enough. Thanks for a wonderful relaxing stay guys and I hope to be back!

Room Tip: From what I could see, they are all fantastic. Back rooms have direct pool access which would be nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Judi,
What can we say , nothing but a HUGE THANK YOU for your kind words.
We are so , so happy you enjoyed your time with us here in Byron and that we were able to make your time with us so special.

We were just so happy to receive your review on Trip Advisor.
Please , please come back and spend a few more days with us when you can.

Take care,
Steven and Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our wedding anniversary getaway. Geoff and Steven were very welcoming and all of their small touches made it a perfect stay. Breakfast delivered to your room each afternoon (for the next morning) was delicious as well as the baked goods that you find in your room after you return from a day out was fantastic, my husband is still talking about it! It is an easy 10min walk into town and the beach is just across the road. It is so quiet and relaxed that we didn't really notice anyone else staying except for the full car park. The rooms are clean and modern. Free Wifi. We would definitely come back and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HANNAH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello Hannah,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us as part of your anniversary.
We are so happy that we were able to make this special occasion so good for you.
We hope you both remember it for a long time to come, and that you can come back to celebrate more anniversaries with us.
We are always booked out, the car park was full, but the nature of the property allows each room's guests to enjoy their own space and privacy.

Thanks again, please come back soon.
Kind Wishes,
Geoff and Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.1 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Aaman & Cinta Luxury Guesthouse & Villas
1.2 mi away
The Cape Beach House
The Cape Beach House
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavvanbah Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavvanbah Beach House

Property: Cavvanbah Beach House
Address: 28 Cavvanbah St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavvanbah Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone’s throw from Byron Bay’s spectacular surf beach and just minutes walk from the town centre, Cavvanbah Beach House is set amongst lush sub-tropical gardens on a quiet, secluded street – the perfect location for your holiday accommodation so you can relax, unwind and enjoy a peaceful beachside getaway.Our boutique property offers privacy that many hotels and guest houses cannot match. Each of our rooms has its own private entrance with direct access to the salt-water pool and gardens.Our location is second to none, and our proximity to the beach has to be seen to be believed. A short sandy track is all that separates your accommodation from Byron Bay's spectacular Belongil Beach. The property is nestled in beautiful tree-lined Cavvanbah Street which is set back from the main road into Byron – far enough to enjoy peace and quiet, but close enough to give you direct access to the very best of Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavvanbah Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing