We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria's at Wategos
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
northamptonshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful garden”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Superb accommodation in wonderful grounds a with views of byron bay from the lawn.
Liked the look of this place from the Australian bed&breakfast book but thought it to be a bit expensive so reviewed it again through what if .com when we were in Australia got a better price with a stand by deal . Had a excellent garden room with veranda.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jjpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Wategos, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it is much appreciated.
By the description of the room this reviewer stayed in, the gardens & the outlook, it sounds like this guest may have stayed at our sister property, "Victoria's At Ewingsdale", our exclusive country retreat on the outskirts of town.
We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our properties again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    18
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
86
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
noosa
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2011

On arrival at Victorias we were greeted by a member staff who could not do enough for us. She was just lovely. I loved everything about staying at Victorias. The room was just beautiful - we had a room which opened near pool. There were tables and chairs just outside our room. We would sit out there every day to have breakfast.

The beach was not far at all from hotel Location just perfect.

We have stayed at many 5*hotels over the years and Victorias would be in my top four hotels.

I had always wanted to visit victorias over the last couple of years but haven't had the time to do so.

I am so glad we did.

We ended up staying 5 nights.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meljanemurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Wategos, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
We too are pleased that you finally made the trip to Victoria's At Wategos. Thank you for your positive comments on Trip Advisor, your review is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We booked to stay at Victorias for 3/4 nights from 9 Jan. People should be aware that this hotel takes 100% payment in advance of arrival and in the event of cancellation will keep the entire amount including GST which we believe is not correct. We had to cancel as the weather in the area was going to be so bad for our stay we did not want to make the 4 hour drive from Brisbane to the hotel in driving rain with dangerous roads. Byron bay is also a beach location and the weather forecast was heavy rain for all four days of our stay.

We did wholeheartedly believe that we were due to incur a significant cancellation penalty but my thinking was that this would be 1 nights stay or worst case 50% of the fee.

I tried to reason with Victoria (the owner) to give us some of the $2800 we had paid back to us as a gesture of goodwill. She has point blank refused and the tone and attitude is extremely harsh.

The hotel as of today (8 Jan) one day before we were due to arrive is not full and had plenty of availability left when we cancelled but despite this they have decided to keep a huge amount of money.

We only made the booking four weeks beforehand on 10 dec so its not as if the hotel has lost other revenue opportunity from our booking.

Queens land and northern NSW are experiencing 100 year floodsk and the thought of driving on motorways in that kind of weather was not our idea of a holiday.

** BEWARE OF THE STRICT 100% NON REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT THIS HOTEL OPERATES**

Despite Victorias advice our travel insurance will not cover this loss so it has really soured our holiday in Australia. No hotel in Europe, Asia or the US that i have stayed in operates this type of harsh deposit policy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
18 Thank Moriati1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Wategos, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Thank you to Trip Advisor for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this review. As we take our business very seriously, it is important to us, that people hear our side of the story.
I will refer to the reviewer as ‘MR M’ so that his identity remains anonymous, even though my identity has been exposed and published.
Please note, that we did not have any conversations or discussions with ‘Mr M’ at any time. All correspondence relating to this reservation, including enquiries, confirmation and the cancellation were dealt with in a polite and professional manner, all via email.
In regards to our cancellation policy (below), we are up front and make no secret or attempt to hide it in any way. Our cancellation policy is clearly stated on all correspondence including our rate sheet, enquiring letters and it is highlighted on all reservation confirmation letters. ‘Mr M’ received all of these via email, and it was brought to his attention again during correspondence regarding the weather, so I don’t know why he would believe our cancellation policy to be otherwise.

CANCELLATION POLICY
Victoria’s is a small and exclusive guest house, and cancellations affect us greatly
To secure your reservation we require a 50% deposit. The full balance is due one month prior to arrival date. Please note that a cancellation fee of $50.00 applies to ALL cancellations. A refund will be given if bookings are cancelled a month or more prior to arrival date. The 50%deposit is non- refundable, if cancelled within a month of arrival date. NO refund can be issued, regardless of the reason, if cancellation occurs within 14 days of the arrival date, in which case the full amount will be deducted. We recommend travel insurance to cover cancellation fees.
I addressed ‘Mr M’s’ concerns regarding the weather situation before he cancelled, explaining that the weather had been beautiful here for the last few days and even if it isn't good when he stays, there is always something to see and do in the area and region. I explained if he was to cancel that the full amount of the stay would not be refunded, as per the cancellation policy, so if he did wish to reconsider, and travel, to confirm this with us.
The 2 hour drive (not 4 hours as stated) between Brisbane and Byron Bay is all dual carriage way and as of today, 10th January, has not been affected at anytime by floods or any road closures.
Victoria’s At Wategos is a small establishment with only a few room types. ‘Mr M’ booked a particular room type, and bookings for this room were turned away over the 4 week period, that we were holding his reservation.
‘Mr M’ claims that no other hotel that he has stayed in has this type of policy, but states in his email to us on the 6th January, that the cancellation policy seems to be normal by Australian standards.
All our correspondence advises guests to have travel insurance to cover cancellation fees. If there is a genuine or legitimate reason for cancelling and not someone simply changing their minds because it is raining, they are usually covered by their insurance.
I’m saddened that ‘Mr M’ chose not to stay at Victoria’s, as I’m sure he would have enjoyed the positive experience that so many other guests enjoy whilst visiting beautiful Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2010

This is one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed in. Beautiful house with only a few rooms. Everything was clean, and the lovely staff bend over backwards for you. There was only 1 other couple staying there, so we were upgraded to a larger room. The manager is also a phenomenal chef and cooks the most amazing breakfast that you enjoy by the pool with a glass of champagne. It is expensive, but worth every penny. I would definitely go back and stay at Victoria's.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hedland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2009

An extremely pleasant experience. The staff were wonderful to deal with, the room was just awesome, with nice touches like complimentary fruit, port and chocolate. The location speaks for itself- Wategos is one of my favourite places.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dapescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByronBayHospitality, Owner/Manager at Victoria's at Wategos, responded to this review, 3 January 2010
It is always rewarding for our establishment and our staff, to receive positive feedback. Most people only make the effort to write a review if they have had a negative experience. Good reviews are affirmation that "Victoria's-Byron Bay" is doing it's best to provide a happy and memorable experience, to each and every person, that we have the pleasure of welcoming to our properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

Pros
- good location, a short walk to the beautiful Wategos beach
- room was comfortable and clean
- pool was nice and would be a good if you wanted an alternative to the beach, but while we were there the weather was warm and fantastic so we didnt want to be anywhere else but the beach
- quiet and relaxing
- overall service was helpful and good
- a small dvd collection for when the weather isn't great
- good recommendations on local restaurants and things to do

Cons
- we felt it was way overpriced. During our trip we stayed in a harbour view room at the Four Seasons in Sydney which was amazing and a quarter of the price and a direct beachfront property further down the coast with 180 degree ocean views which was half the price, plus others. We just could not understand what we were paying so much for.
- The rooms do not have an ocean view.
- Although the hotel is of very high standard, I agree with a previous reviewer that there's a bit too much ornate decoration (eg. columns around the spa bath, gold taps, curtain swags etc) which feels a little out of place in a laid back beach town. But this purely aesthetic.
- Bathroom area was quite small and toiletries were nothing special (home-branded)
- Although the service was good overall, there were a couple of instances that made us feel uncomfortable e.g. I wanted to have some laundry done (which was listed as a service) and I was told a bit grumpily that the commercial laundry would take priority (which was fine by me...). On another occasion, we wanted to borrow bowls from the kitchen for our breakfast cereal (as we don't eat much for breakfast and didn't fancy paying an extra $70/day for a big breakfast that we wouldnt eat) and again had a bit of a grumpy response. The 'rules' of the kitchen could have been made a bit clearer on our check-in.
- We had a huge balcony but only one sun lounger, so the other person had to sit in the room on the bed.
- Our tv only had 3 channels.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GabriellaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByronBayHospitality, Owner/Manager at Victoria's at Wategos, responded to this review, 12 December 2009
We are disappointed to find that these guests were not totally satisfied with their stay, as we do strive to offer a positive and memorable experience to each and every person that stays at our guest house.

These guests booked through a third party (an agent) and not directly with us, so may have assumed that because we are located only 100 metres from Wategos Beach, that we must have ocean views. Our rooms do however; have a lush green outlook with views up to the famous Cape Byron light house or overlooking one of our two swimming pools. We do not promote or advertise in any way that we have ocean views.

One of the unique attributes of Victoria’s At Wategos is our European architecture and classical style décor, which are features not often found in more contemporary accommodation.

Our branded organic toiletries are made exclusively for “Victoria’s-Byron Bay” by a local producer, hardly just ordinary home branded products.

We offer a beautiful, gourmet champagne breakfast daily, for only $35.00 per person, served on the terrace by the pool, which this guest chose not to indulge in. Guests are welcome to borrow items from our kitchen during their stay, the issue at hand was related to the guest entering the kitchen during our busy breakfast service and helping himself (barefoot). Due to health and safety codes, the guest was politely asked to request what he needed from the staff and they would happily provide it.

Victoria’s is a small boutique guest house, and to maintain our high quality linen and standards, we choose to do our laundry in-house. We are happy to provide a personal laundry service, and we advise guests that the guest house laundry will take priority, but guest’s personal laundry will be clean, dry, folded and returned to their room by the end of the day’ to avoid any expectations of an immediate service.

The guests were given a complimentary upgrade to an executive spa room with a large balcony, which features a sun lounge, marble table with two hand forged chairs, and large timber bi-fold doors which open from the room, which has an arm chair and chaise lounge, so there are numerous options for relaxing in and out of the bedroom.

We have installed brand new digital flat screen TV’s which access ABC 1, 2 and 3, SBS 1 and 2, Prime, Ten and Ten sport in addition to a selection of digital radio stations. We are unable to access only 1 standard Australian broadcaster; NBN and its subsidiary GO, due to a delay in the upgrading of a tower west of Byron Bay. Perhaps the guests were not aware of what button to press, and did not ask for assistance.

Our rates are structured to incorporate travel agent commissions (up to 30%), onerous council and government taxes which are amongst the highest in New South Wales, and this is reflective partially in our tariff. We offer a high quality standard of service and facilities, in a relaxed and friendly environment, which happens to be in an exclusive, beautiful and expensive region. Our rates are reasonable when compared with other 5 star lodges throughout the world, and are very comparable to accommodation of a similar or equal standard in Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byron bay
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Our stay at Victoria's was just what we needed plus so much more,from the moment we arrived we were treated to so many little extras that we just were'nt expecting.
It was the perfect place for us to relax,unwind and be pampered,thankyou for the warm hospitality,and for making my birthday so special,we will definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minkie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
371 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#24 of 32 in Byron Bay
24 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
274 reviews
4.4 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria's at Wategos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria's at Wategos

Property: Victoria's at Wategos
Address: 1 Marine Pde | Wategos Beach, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria's at Wategos 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria's at Wategos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing