We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria's at Wategos
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beach house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hosted house is in a really good location in that is just by the next bay after Byron Bay so you avoid all the crowds
however you really need a car to get about and for finding somewhere to eat every day.
The pool is small but there is one and the rooms are good and everything works!
The curtains are due an upgrade to be heavier or maybe blinds as you get woken at crack of dawn by the daylight streaming in. This is good if you are a morning person but not otherwise.
The hostess/manager was very helpful and the breakfast was excellent and beautifully presented.Its always better when somebody else puts it all together!
All in all we had a good 2 days and enjoyed this.

Room Tip: They all look pretty good to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Wategos, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Victoria’s At Wategos. Our guesthouse is situated in a great location, close enough to town, restaurants, cafes, boutiques & galleries, but still far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the busy town centre. We have two lovely lap pools (one is even heated) and we are only a stone’s throw from the Pacific ocean.
We feel that guests that join us for breakfast, really get to enjoy the true hospitality that “Victoria’s” offers. We hope that we have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    18
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
82
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalow, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Victoria's at Wategos for our 21st wedding anniversary, and we couldn't have asked for a more romantic, magic place to stay. We were lucky enough to stay in the deluxe spa room, which was just beautiful. We also ordered the picnic hamper and although the day was overcast and raining at times, we had a very lovely picnic on our gorgeous verandah with beautiful food - especially the quiche - as well as a lovely couples massage in-room. Kimberly looked after us when we needed assistance, and for the rest of the time was so discreet you thought you were the only ones there. To be able to walk 100 metres to Wategos beach was a luxury for us as although we are locals, we live 15 minutes from the beach, so it was a great treat. We can honestly say there was not one negative to the whole weekend. Thanks Victoria and Kimberly for an unforgettable anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatherineL1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Wategos, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review, We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary at Victoria’s At Wategos, as much as you did. Sometimes you don’t have to travel very far from home to experience a romantic & magical getaway for a special occasion. We would love to welcome you back for another unforgettable treat again soon, maybe next time you could stay at Victoria’s At Ewingsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

After spending 2 disappointing nights in another hotel, I booked one night at Victoria's. We were so impressed with the facilities, staff and location we decided to stay an additional night. Can't recommend this lovely little guest house highly enough, the staff are absolutely lovely and the rooms are fantastic and luxurious.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 49Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Wategos, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We’re so pleased that you chose to stay at Victoria’s At Wategos, and enjoyed it so much that you decided to extend your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria’s to experience another “slice of paradise” again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Absolutely loved our experience at Victoria's at Wategos. We instantly felt welcomed from the first greeting until our last goodbye. It is blissfully quiet and set in such a stunning background under the light house I don't think you can do better in Byron Bay! Byron town was pretty busy, as it is most weekends, so being just that little bit out of the town centre was perfect! A beautiful 30min walk along the beach to town in the morning was lovely. Cannot praise the staff enough, they were fantastic. I would happily recommend this guesthouse as a perfect getaway spot to anyone, and cannot wait to come back! Thank you Victoria's.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellers_got_a_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We are currently enjoying our stay in this most comfortable and outstanding guest house. I can't believe the ridiculous and ill informed comments I recently read. We choose Victoria's at Wategos for the discreet, low key approach of the attentive staff. If you are looking for resort style big hotel accommodation, don't come here. People, people, choose the correct style of accommodation, and don't blame the hotel if you choose incorrectly. This is a guest house. Beautifully decorated , with such lovely special and individual touches at every turn. We have been visiting Byron Bay regularly for the past 25 years, stayed in all sorts and styles of accommodation, and this is the best. Yep, you pay more, but this provides the best experience in an exclusive area of Beautiful Byron Bay. 50 metres from the beach , wonderful nature walks at your doorstep, and away from the bustle of the main drag. This is our third visit to one of Victoria's guest houses (twice here and once at Ewingsdale) and we are happy to highly recommend them.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Allana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronte, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My partner and I stayed at Victoria's last weekend and it was AMAZING, i have stayed at properties all over the world 5 star, and this was easily one of the best, The service was impeccable, the Champagne breakfast the next morning was delicious and the Room was stunning, we stayed in a superior spa room overlooking the pool with our amazing balcony.

The decor took us back to Italy and it mirrored a bygone age of antiquity.

For our first experience of Byron this was absolutely devine, our flight had been cancelled the night of our departure and we were placed in the Byron at Byron, by no stretch of the imagination could it have compared to Victoria's.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Wategos, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review, and for sharing your experience of your stay at Victoria's at Wategos.
We really appreciate all feedback, especially wonderful comments such as yours.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another AMAZING stay some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Victoria's for one night. We only booked this place as everything else was booked out due to the school holidays. And considering we paid $500 for the night I expected it to be rather nice. We stayed the first two nights of our short trip in an amazingly nice place in town called Atlantic which was less than half the price, contemporary, tasteful and just gorgeous (we've booked it again already for another break in January).
The Victoria needs a make-over badly if they want to charge what they do. We have just spend the month of July in Europe staying in the most amazing boutique hotels (all 5 star) across various countries for the same $$ or less. This place is old shabby, smells, looks really tired and worn with old stained rugs. The furniture is pseudo 'Tuscan' or 'antique' (not sure what's it supposed to be? Chateau?) it's certainly nothing like the real thing. Maybe if you're in your seventies, have lost your eyesight and sense of smell then you could mistake the place for 'classy' but really only then. When we walked into our room, I felt nearly nauseous as it smelled like someone had died in there...given the seemingly older clientele, I feared for the worst. The very helpful lady at reception helped us and gave us an oil burner and apparently it turned out the reason was a problem in the nearby sewage works. Still not a great welcome. The positive things are the location of course and the helpfulness of the lady at reception (when she was there - during our stay I didn't really see any staff - bit strange too). However as a whole package this was one of the worst places I've stayed in a long time, had this been $100 a night I probably would have expected just this but not for $500. I think when I pay $500 for one night I should be able to expect more than this. I really hate feeling ripped off and this was the case here. Sorry but I really would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Wategos, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We are disappointed to receive such an insulting and offensive review, that not only criticises our establishment, but our clientele as well.
“Victoria’s Byron Bay” are the ONLY accredited 5 star properties in the whole of Byron Shire and we work very hard to maintain this rating and protect our reputation and brand.
We offer classic European style architecture and decor, which is shown in all our photos and advertising, so to expect any other style or something different, is simply unreasonable.
We too offer mid-week specials for multiple night stays, however this reviewer chose to book a one stay on a Saturday night, which incurs a higher rate.
The intermittent odour at the time, was not isolated to Victoria’s, but an issue at the lighthouse pumping station, that was resolved a short time later, and complimentary mini bar was offered for the inconvenience.
We strive to offer a memorable experience to all guests that stay at our properties, (you only have to read our positive reviews) but sometimes, we just can't please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.4 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#26 of 32 in Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria's at Wategos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria's at Wategos

Property: Victoria's at Wategos
Address: 1 Marine Pde | Wategos Beach, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria's at Wategos 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria's at Wategos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing