We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”
Review of Byron Bay YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Byron Bay YHA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights here and loved it. Great location, the whole hostel is clean and modern and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend to stay here as it is great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charloulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    85
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
2
25
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed one night and it was perfect for what we needed. The room was clean, sheets were suppiled, we were able to hire towels, lockers available. Showers were hot and not busy. A good pool. Only slight downside is that it's quite pricey for a standard hostel - $40 each for a bunk in a shared dorm. But Byron's a popular place so it wasn't massively surprising.

Great location, close to all shops and a short walk to the beach. Good atmosphere, friendly staff.

Needs bedside lamps to reduce disruption to sleeping roommates when coming back late at night :)

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed there with my partner and had a great time. Mainly due to the pool, heat and bean bags. It creates an environment where travellers can meet and socialise. Room was clean and only mess was in the kitchen but that was due to other mess of guests. For location and friendly staff would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I have stayed here before (march 2012 I think?) the toilet / shower blocks appear to have been updated, they'll better most budget hotels. Usual friendly and accommodating staff on reception - room standard doorm type so not too much to say... Free parking and excellent location.

My score for value probably says more about the weakness of the pound and the exchange rate rather than the cost charged...

A lot of accommodation now offers free wifi, I do think yha in general need to adopt this as a world wide policy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morphius187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Where do I begin. I had booked 2 rooms. 1 x Twin and 1 x 4 Berth. I had 5 International Students with me. 4 girls whom knew each other, and a male who had just arrived and outside of commumicating with me didn't know anyone. Hence the 2 rooms. He and I shared a room. After no less than 3 phone calls, I believed I had booked a room with a private bathroom. That way he and I had somewhere to change without 1 of us having to leave the room or compromised in anyway. NOT the case. We arrived on time for chk in. Rooms not ready. When we returned 1 hour later. Only 1 room had been made up and we had to return to get bedlinen for the other room later. The twin room had no bathroom it in. I went to reception to ask waht was going on, and as they where full she was unable to move us. A pathetic apology and nothing else was offered for the error. So all the effort I had gone to so that neither the male student or myself where put in an embrassing position was a complete waste of time, money and effort. We paid more for the room so that we would not have to share the bathroom facilities. What a disgrace. Upon leaving, they only seemed more interest to make sure we had stripped the beds and brought the bedlinen down to the front office. We had to put them in a laundry trolley for them as weel. Seriously, I asked. "Do you want me to vacuum the room for you as well " !!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank givemeabreakasap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Byron Bay YHA, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Hi
Thanks for your review of Byron Bay YHA. YHA takes all reviews seriously and this has been discussed with the hostel staff.
As this hostel does not have any twin ensuite rooms at all, we think there must have been some misunderstanding with your booking as you could not have been promised this room type. Unfortunately this hostel has very few rooms with ensuites and they are usually booked out well in advance. Hostels do run differently to hotels with more communal living that helps keep costs down to suit budget travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Yep this is great place to stay its clean, quiet when late at night and awesome location, and all very clean. Hammock or bean bags to chill in and Pool is awesome, good security friendly staff and you get cheap entry to the clubs. Would stay here again for sure

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I Stayed here for a few nights in October. Every time you go to use the kitchen right use wash and dry everything you use. That is you have to have clean tea towels. One night I went to make a meal. and was looking for tea towels but they were all thrown on the ground in a heap. I took a photo of them and while I was doing this one of the cleaners quickly took them away and put up new ones. Ok. Went to do laundry that night and they were thown on the floor in a heap. I just after doing the laundry. They were still there the following morning and still there at 1:30 the following day. The tea towels that were there in the kitchen were dirty. I informed reception of this and requested new tea towels oh we'll send the cleaner in with new ones and I also informed them about the tea towels been thrown on the ground and they didn't seem to care. Would you see this in any other hostel? Would you do this with your own washing? No I Dont think so.

The rooms have no air con

Room Tip: Go to another hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.2 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 65 in Byron Bay
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#19 of 65 in Byron Bay
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Bay YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay YHA

Property: Byron Bay YHA
Address: 7 Carlyle St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay YHA backpackers hostel is in the centre of town, only 400m to the beach. The large comfy common areas and kitchen overlook a heated pool and BBQ. The hostel has both multi-share backpacker rooms, and twin/double rooms with fans. Large decks to relax on. Free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), TV room, locker room, surfboards, free tea/coffee. Hostel bikes and bodyboards available. YHA member discounts on backpacker tours and activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Byron Bay YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Bay Yha Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing