We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Byron Bay YHA
Nearby Hotels
Waves Byron Bay(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hibiscus Motel(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$388
US$343
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay(Skinners Shoot)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa(Suffolk Park)(Great Value!)
US$423
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Suites(Byron Bay)
US$346
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Byron Retreat(Skinners Shoot)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cavvanbah(Byron Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
48
94
31
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
94
31
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree pancakesquality hostelthe kitchennice poolgreyhound bus stationdouble ensuiteenjoyed my staylarge lounge areafree wifibed female dormsurf boardscommon areas arelighthouse walkrooms are cleangood sizecommon roomoutside area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Good little hostel. Pretty clean and comfortable. Has lots to offer. Can book trips etc. Close to beach. I rented a bike and took a trip up to the lighthouse. Also booked skydive and surfing here. They have their own surf boards for rent so you can just head down to the beach. Good vibe and quiet late at night

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravalMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

i admire the concept of yha in Australia. very clean & affordable accomodation but this one was a bit a struggle as rooms are spread on 2 floors & facilities are on the 2nd floor & gets worse if it's raining.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

I came late at night, after they closed reception and they left my key and room number under the mat for me. Everything is really clean, the kitchen is huge, they organize a lot of activities for people to do. Good, open and lively atmosphere. Easy to feel 'at home' away from home. Really good location in the centre of town. They have a pool which is great given the heat and humidity. However it could have been a little cleaner.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathertas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We really loved our stay here and ended up extending. The open plan layout had a really relaxed feel. The pool was big enough to actually swim in! The kitchen had free herbs. Great bathrooms. The staff quickly and efficiently arranged our sea kayaking and trip to Nimbin and were always friendly. First lockers we had seen for a while on our way down the coast and a locked main door at night for added security. Really loved this hostel would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights @35/night
A bit steep but apparently that's the going rate in Byron. Spent 2 nights in 4/ppl dorms. Very cramped living in the 4x rooms. Not a lot of space in the room. And on my last night I was moved to another 4x room that had 5ppl crammed in. Spent 3 nights in a 6x. That was nice, enough space that you didn't have to step over ppl or their stuff.

The kitchen and common area were realatively clean considering how many ppl were going through there. Lots of plates and cookware to go around so never a shortage.

The pool was disgusting. I've worked around pools for many years. I unfortunately know what a pool that hasn't been properly maintained tastes like. That pool was gross. One dip under the water and I was off to the showers.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Very nice common area. With an open inviting atmosphere. Everyone seemed to want to chat all the time

I would stay there again with a bit of hesitation. I would definitely weigh my options before booking.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonnydixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews