We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hostel, all day cleaning, nice staff”
Review of Byron Bay YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Byron Bay YHA
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The hostel is near the bus station and it is possible and easy to walk with heavy backpacks. It is 400 mts from the beach and two blocks from the library (where they have free wi-fi), 2 blocks from the supermarket and the city center. They have this wonderful people cleaning the place all day and the kitchen, bathrooms and common areas are always ready to use. The kitchen is complete and big. We never had to wait to cook and always found everything we needed there. There is a swimming pool. The rooms are spacious. They hire bikes for US$ 5,30/ 5 AUD and surfboards for US$ 21/ 20 AUD a day. They helped us with everything we needed: information, booking, shopping. We stayed in a 6 share bedroom for US$ 24 / 22,50 AUD low season. The bedroom has a place to store your luggage and valuables that you can close with padlocks. They also provide lockers outside the room to store your luggage after you check out for US$ 5,30 / 5 AUD. Of all the four YHA hostels we stayed until now this was the second best (Brisbane is the first one). It is a party place but after 11 pm there was no noise and it was nice to sleep. All the access is done by magnetic cards. The ambiance was very nice and we recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

I spend 2 nights there, and it was nice. the kitchen is quite big and clean. the rooms are clean as well. close to the supermarket, and the greyhound bus stop.
The staff is friendly, would stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louane29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with friends at the end of our east coast trip. I was happy with our choice, it had all the binifits that YHA's usually have (lockers, clean beds, lockable doors, nice kitchen and sitting area, computers and TV room). Had a nice little pool, tho rained most the time we were there so didn't get to try it out. Reception were friendly enough, though weren't all that helpful when our door broke and wouldnt lock.

It's in a good location, right opposite Woolworths and just up the road from the beach.

Wild definitely stay there again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Luisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

went to byron around NYE so it was really booked out, stay in 3 different hostels but the team at YHA were super nice and did what the could to help me out! Had a real good party with other people at the hostel and it had mad vibes, good times

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
Thank Pj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

we were lucky to have a 4 bed dorm for just the two of us but the room was big enough for 4 people. comfy beds and great opportunities and deals to go out at night. bathrooms always clean! kitchen and outside area big enough so there's nothing bad to say. would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florencemarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

The night I stayed, it rained. You can't blame the hostel for the wet weather. But there was a group of 39 Danes that stayed the night too. They played drinking games into the late night. Staff left early and didn't keep them quiet. Luckily I had ear plugs. Nothing special about this place. Other location in town is better.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Pros:
Decent sized, (if you have considerate room mates) clean rooms with a locker for each bed.
A large well fitted kitchen with massive refridgerator capacity.
Ample supply of clean bathrooms.
Friendly common area.
Cons:
If you like to sleep past 6am, avoid north facing rooms (27+ i think) - all early morning truck deliveries, garbage pickup etc.
Booked a $50 Nimbin Grasshopper daytrip which should have included a stop for a swim at a waterfall through YHA and was not informed the waterfall section was cancelled. Staff did not inform me that the waterfall section was cancelled. Essentially,I could have the same trip for $25 elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep past 6am, avoid north facing rooms (27+ i think) - all early morning truck deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#15 of 65 in Byron Bay
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
#22 of 65 in Byron Bay
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Bay YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay YHA

Address: 7 Carlyle St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £18 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay YHA backpackers hostel is in the centre of town, only 400m to the beach. The large comfy common areas and kitchen overlook a heated pool and BBQ. The hostel has both multi-share backpacker rooms, and twin/double rooms with fans. Large decks to relax on. Free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), TV room, locker room, surfboards, free tea/coffee. Hostel bikes and bodyboards available. YHA member discounts on backpacker tours and activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Byron Bay YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Bay Yha Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing