We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Byron Bay YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Byron Bay YHA
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights in a 4 bed all female dorm then switched to a 5 bed dorm. Rooms are clean but DO NOT have air conditioning, they only have a ceiling fan. There was however plenty of places for chilling out and having some space if required. Pool is always handy however the beach is only about a 10 min walk

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Lightning88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Byron Bay YHA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Good

Free car parking, good location, decent common areas, friendly staff

The Not So Good

You will feel old if you are over 25, everyone speaks German so hard to socialise (this is true of most hostels in AU and NZ), small rooms, kitchen could be cleaner.

Room Tip: Privates are way over-priced
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nice-n-cozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay for 10 nights. The staff and other backpackers are friendly.

The hostel is clean and the facilities are as advertised. For the price of the hostel free wifi would have been nice.

The 400m to the beach is nothing but there are closer hostels you may want to consider if your carrying a surf board.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank V1C020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is a pretty nice hostel. It's about a 15 min walk to the whole shopping area along with the beach. You can rent surfboards for a day for $20 from them. I stayed in a nine person all female dorm and even though there were so many people in the room I really enjoyed it. The rooms are set up very nice so that you don't feel squished. You have plenty of room. They have a nice pool and nice big kitchen. Bathrooms are nice and clean as well. Staff was very nice. The only thing I didn't like is they didn't provide a free luggage room. You had to pay to use a locker if you arrived early or had to check out in the morning but weren't leaving till the evening ( I had to do both). There was also no free wifi :( But a travel place down the street offered it so you could just go stand by there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieCrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Awsome place to saty, wounderful city... very close to the beach, amazing surf with good lefts and righties. if you like young people, good music and parties you should stay there. I recomend for youg spirits.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GustavoFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Apart from other hostels in Byron Bay this one was really clean. The staff was really nice and helpful when we had lost something. Really liked the pool/hangout area since it was great to meet people. The location was also really nice and the room huge and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Well located hostel in the center of Byron Bay near the greyhound bus station and 10 minutes from the beach.
The hostel itself is very nice : great and clean pool, big common area with hammocks, clean kitchen.
Toilets and showers are clean too and you access them only with your room pass.
We had a clean double room
So a quality hostel that we would recommend in Byron Bay.
Only point that perturbates our stay is that we were woke up around 5am by a drunk person who was knocking on all the room doors, and when we complained to the reception, she didn’t seem to care… By talking with others guests, they were really shocked especially as this person entered in a room that wasnt her… Serious and security is important in this kind of backpackers hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Byron Bay YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hi Iemouss
Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed Byron Bay. We were concerned to see the information about the drunk woman waking people up. Unfortunately, as a party town, we do get guests coming back late to the hostel and we therefore have a staff member on duty until 4am to ensure they don't disturb other guests. The manager is discussing your review with staff as all complaints should be dealt with immediately and taken seriously.

We don't understand though how this guest could access any room except her own as all doors have card security that only work for their own room. Security is very important to YHA which is why the front door is also locked at night with only card access for guests. The bathrooms are also secured all the time with the same system.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#16 of 65 in Byron Bay
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
#27 of 65 in Byron Bay
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Bay YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay YHA

Address: 7 Carlyle St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £30 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay YHA backpackers hostel is in the centre of town, only 400m to the beach. The large comfy common areas and kitchen overlook a heated pool and BBQ. The hostel has both multi-share backpacker rooms, and twin/double rooms with fans. Large decks to relax on. Free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), TV room, locker room, surfboards, free tea/coffee. Hostel bikes and bodyboards available. YHA member discounts on backpacker tours and activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Byron Bay YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Bay Yha Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing