We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit rich”
Review of East on Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East on Byron
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit rich”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We booked the Belongil Penthouse for a girls weekend away. The unit had a double lockup garage, a double room with ensuite, a twin room and a fold out sofa bed in the media room.

Nicely presented, however a number of things ensured that this room was not value for money.

At $700 per night, expectations were high. Entering the unit, by walking under the stairs of the unit above, the entry way had not been cleaned with insects and spiderwebs near the door. As you enter the unit, the wall paint has clearly over time been worn away and when the light hits the wall you can see old water trails down the paint.

The master bedroom was nice, but upon our arrival we noticed that one of the bars on the window shutters was broken, and obviously so - a cleaner should have noticed this. Also the master bedroom had a queen, I would have thought at this level, kings were standard. The media room contained the the sofa bed, however had no blinds, both a problem as a media room and an additional bedroom. It also had a smaller tv then the lving room not quite sure what qualified it as a media room except being able to call it such to sound more lush. The whole room orientation was not layed out for this use either, for if sitting on the couch to watch the television, one
would struggle..
The main lounge, dining and kitchen were open and very presentable. The couch was comfortable. The dining table was spacious The kitchen was ok and moderatley equipped.

The air con in the unit was moderatly ineffective and made a noise - I suspect it needs a service.
The pool and out door area was unuseable sadly as we attended on a wet weekend and whilt a lot of it is undercover there were more mosquitos then we could deal with and the pool had some local residents - a number of frogs and toads. This pool is really on a small lap pool nothing more - only one person at a time could swim here.

This unit could have been great. The rain is out of their control but a number of other things could have been done to lift this from average and over priced to great.
Things that could have been better, clean and with out breakages, the provision of a coffee machine\fruit bowl\welcome bottle of champagne. A carton of milk. Not just a couple of small 15ml long life containers but actual milk, curtains in the media room/extra bedroom, Citronella candles or bug zappers outside. FULL FOXTEL.
There is a cafe outside that does nice food, and a cab to Byron costs $12-15
So in all, this apartment was nice and my gripes may seem petty, but at $700 a night, I believe I have earned that right.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veronim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your review of East on Byron. The Belongil Penthouse is one of our best units and is very popular. It is unfortunate that you happened to be here during one of the worst storms we have had in many years. I do remember that you arrived very late as your flight could not land due to the bad weather.
Our maintenance is of a very high standard and we are often complimented on it however, this particular weekend, you may have found insects and even the odd spiderweb outside your door as we had almost cyclonic conditions.

The media room has a sofabed. We wrongly assumed you were 3 couples so thought that a double sofabed would be adequate. We apologised for this at the time and did not charge you for the 6th person. We also gave you a free 4pm check out (usually $49) and two bottles of Champagne to make up for the inconvenience PLUS a $100 refund.

The lap pool is advertised as such and 2 swimmers can easily use it - and frequently do without problem. I wouldn't imagine that a lot of swimming took place during the weekend you were here though as it was just too rainy.

We really did our best to ensure that your stay was made more enjoyable and we are sorry if the weather and flight delays spoiled it a little for you. We guarantee that if you come back when the sun is shining you will love East on Byron!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    92
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
118
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at East on Byron once before and had a great time. The location itself is great - just across the road from the beach, away from the foot traffic in Byron (hire a bike to get around town). We were therefore excited to stay there again over New Year's Eve but unfortunately a couple of small issues disappointed our trip. First of all, our room was not ready by the check-in time (2pm) and while I am usually a patient person, it was pretty annoying given that we were exhausted from having risen at 3am that morning to fly internationally into the Gold Coast.

The villas themselves are beautiful and well appointed. However, the blinds in the bedroom don't adequately block out the sunlight in the morning (making it difficult to sleep in!) and our bathroom overflowed every time one of us had a shower. Also, the Foxtel selection was very limited, which was frustrating when we wanted to take a rest inside from the sun (only E!, three movie channels and a couple of sport channels worked).

Lastly, the wifi network was terrible. Firstly, we were informed that because our villa is located away from the main office, the network would be weak and we would need to sit in a certain area to get reception. Next, the wifi network did not work altogether. While I understand it is difficult to get a technician out over the Christmas / New Years period, it was incredibly frustrating as I was not able to work on documents I had due the day after I returned from my holiday (and not in the least relaxing!). When I spoke to reception about it, they suggested I obtain a password from the cafe next door and work in the pool area. Unfortunately that yielded little progress as it took more than a few minutes just to Google something on their network.

The point I would like to make is that although the villas are great, we expected a little more when we paid over $600 a night for 7 nights. The could have handled the wifi situation better (e.g. provided a small gift voucher to the cafe next door so that guests could work closer to the network and enjoy a beverage). Although I have highlighted the negative aspects of our stay, I would say that overall it is a beautiful place and we would consider staying at East on Byron again if they improved their service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kapow23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for your review of East on Byron.
We are sorry that your apartment was not ready for 2pm but I believe that you were settled in before 3pm. We have been so busy over Christmas and New Year and do rely on guests checking out on time so that we can get everything ready for our new arrivals! We do insist on everything being perfect too.

We are delighted that you found your accommodation beautiful and well appointed.
Our Foxtel package is usually quite popular and we have a selection of DVD's at reception if required.
We do apologise for the limited reception on the WiFi network over Christmas. Our aerial was damaged due to heavy winds and we were unable to get it fixed over the holiday period. It has now been rectified and I am sorry that you were inconvenienced.

We are delighted that you would consider staying with us again at East on Byron and truly believe that great customer service is our priority.

We look forward to greeting you again at East on Byron.

The Team at East on Byron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We (2 couples) stayed here over Christmas. We chose the terrace villa (2 bed, 2 bath plus rooftop terrace). It was enormous. The living area was huge for an apartment villa - big kitchen, plus an 'outdoor kitchen', big living room, big balcony plus rooftop terrace.

The villa was well maintained and looked near near as per the rest of the resort. It was pricey, but it was Christmas week.

It is located at Belongil beach - just before you get into byron itself (15 minute walk along beach, or 2 min drive) which is perfect because you can get away from all the droves of tourists and still be in the beauty of byron. East on Byron is great for families or couples.

Only downside was the BBQ in the outdoor kitchen - it is electric which means it doesnt get hot enough to properly BBQ - hopefully they will change this to gas.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieT8175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you so much for your review of East on Byron. We are delighted that you loved your Terrace Villa. They are rather wonderful and the rooftop terraces are the perfect place to view the surrounding National Parks, ocean and varied wildlife.

We think that Belongil is perfect for those who want to be close to Byron Bay to walk there, but far enough away to enjoy the peace and tranquility of a very small community.

Our BBQ's do take a while to heat up - we usually recommend switching them on at least 40 minutes before you intend using them. We hope that you still enjoyed your outdoor cooking experience!

Thank you again. We are very proud of East on Byron and appreciate positive feedback like this.

We look forward to greeting you again!

The Team at East on Byron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stayed here in the week before Christmas. It was very quiet, which meant we had the pool to ourselves. Pool was excellent for families and very close to the rooms. Beach across the road (great for young kids, not so good for swimming and catching waves) and a great cafe at the front of the hotel.

Stayed for a week and could have stayed longer. Was initially concerned at staying in Belongil area rather than in town, but it was a really great location and only a few mins to drive into town.

Room Tip: Terrace villas are great for young families
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Thank you so much for your review!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your week at East on Byron on wonderful Belongil Beach.

Our pool is excellent for families, you are right. Belongil Beach is a great family beach and great for catching waves, but this always depends on the currents and winds. Luckily, it is just a short walk to one of the best surfing spots in the area!

Both our Poolside and Terrace Villas are great for families. People with very small children prefer the Poolside Villas as there are no steps for the little ones to negotiate!

We hope to see you again at East on Byron - mention you are a return guest for an even better rate!

Regards
The Team at East on Byron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

It is always confusing trying to work out where to stay in Byron, there are a lot of choices but you don't really know until you get there (and have booked and paid before!). We were really happy at East on Byron. That part of the beach is much nicer than main beach byron, cleaner and prettier. The walk into town is really no big deal- about 15 mins down the beach and it is a nice walk. The apartments are literally across the road (unlike a lot of Byron accomodation) so you can go for swims all day. Everything in the apartments is really clean, comfortable and modern, we really liked the outside area for having barbies and sitting at night. There was a few people staying there but we had no problems with noise, stress or anything. The staff, Vai in particular, were all really helpful and friendly. So the whole stay was perfect, the best time I have ever had in Byron for sure - I would reccomend East on Byron to anyone going there, who wants a quiet and relaxed time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jand T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of East on Byron!

We are truly delighted that you were really happy here and found lovely Belongil Beach to your liking.
We like to think that we are unique - gorgeous pool, private and quiet accommodation with private outdoor areas along with wonderful staff.

Thank you again. We look forward to greeting you again!

The Team at East on Byron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I spent 3 nights at East on Byron and was very happy with the accommodation and the service provided. Be it a 6am or 4am wake up call to the manager off-site, they were more than happy to snap right to it and offer their assistance.

The environment is very peaceful, only a few minutes drive from the main town which for my needs was ideal. The rooms were large with a fantastic entertaining indoor/outdoor area and was great to host several evenings with friends.

To my fellow discerning and eccentric travelers, I would certainly recommend East on Byron and I look forward to my next stay.

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYC00260763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you so much for your review of East on Byron. We very much appreciate your comments with reference to the standard of customer service provided.
We are proud of our team at East on Byron who do their best to ensure that everyone who stays with us enjoys their stay and feels welcome.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We booked our accommodation at East on Byron and paid $3,010.00 for 7 nights. On checking in we were asked to sign an Agreement form acknowledging the accommodation rate and replacement costs for lost keys and breakages etc. Attached to this form was an email with the Expedia booking details and quoting a rate for 7 nights at $2,257.50 a difference of $752.50 to what we actually paid. The friendly staff member explained to us that there are 3 different rates, one for 2 nights one for 4 nights and one for 7 nights and the rates reduce the longer you stay. This is logical because the room was only serviced once during the stay.The staff member felt that it was grossly unfair that we were paying a rate that was 30% above the going rate and offered to take the matter up with his Manager.We immediately verified the lower rate on the East on Byron website. We also immediately took the matter up with Expedia who assured me that they would look into the matter of the difference. As you can imagine it is a sickening feeling knowing that someone was making a windfall profit at your expence. The request for a refund was rejected by the Manager at East on Byron. In a telphone conversation she stated we had been given the incorrect rate by her staff (by now 3 staff members had quoted the lower rate). She went onto say that Expedia charge commissions from between 10 and 25% and that it was Expedia who had overcharged us, not withstanding the fact that the difference was in fact 30%. The Manager was very aggressive and took the fact that I was going to tell our story on Trip Advisor as a threat not a right. We continued to deal with Expedia on the matter and our case was finally rejected. Expedia promise a lot and deliver very little. Promised return calls never happen and you keep getting passed around having to retell your story many times. I have a copy of the transaction of the booking between Expedia and East on Byron that clearly shows the rate charged being the lower rate. Between East on Byron and Expedia I don't know who ripped us off but the whole episode is a blight on the tourism industry.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Whiskers03_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
You booked your accommodation at East on Byron through an online booking agent, Expedia.
They are a well known, respected accommodation booking agent. There are many different booking agents on the internet, all of whom offer different products and services. Businesses such as ourselves, rely on these agents. Commissions paid, are confidential and are treated as such by our staff. It is your responsibility to ensure that you have researched thoroughly, and found yourself a deal you are happy with.

When you checked in, you were asked to sign a registration form as all of our guests do. This is common throughout Australia, and probably the world.

You entered into an agreement with Expedia. You paid them the full amount for your accommodation. Expedia pay us.
I do remember our conversation, and I can promise you, I would NEVER discuss commission rates, even if there were any applicable on this booking. This is confidential information.

It is indeed unfortunate that you feel that this is our fault and we are to blame for the way you feel. It is also unfortunate that you deemed it necessary to use boorish behaviour towards myself and my staff on duty that day.
We tried so hard to make you feel better, despite you threatening us, and even offered you an extra free night (which you declined). We were not duty bound to do this, we just believe in great customer service.

As far as I can see, Expedia also offer great customer service. No one has 'ripped you off' and this whole episode, far from being a blight on the tourism industry, illustrates that we all have freedom of choice when booking our holiday components!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
2.3 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
2.1 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#13 of 32 in Byron Bay
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East on Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East on Byron

Property: East on Byron
Address: 35 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East on Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the peaceful settings of Belongil Beach, East on Byron is the new style of holidaying in Byron Bay. It is positioned directly opposite the beach and is just a short 15-minute stroll to the town centre. Two acres of naturally landscaped gardens frame a billabong pool. Stunningly appointed and generous in size, these 2 and 3 bedroom villas are set in the most secluded of settings. Perfect for families, groups and couples looking for a relaxed beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your East on Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East On Byron Hotel Byron Bay
East On Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing