We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely buildings although noisy exterior”
Review of East on Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East on Byron
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

east on byron has relaxing buildings and amenities although when out side at the pool or the lovely large doors are open in the unit, there is some fan or engine noise that really takes away from the relaxing environment. this noise cuts on and off all day. very annoying and disappointing as we would prefer to hear the ocean not an engine??

Room Tip: choose room around the pool as there is much less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LapinBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights while working our way down the coast from Brisbane to Sydney. Modern architecture resulted in a very large light & airy main room with well equipped kitchen with Miele appliances. 2 bedrooms excellent design with lots of hanging space, huge luxury towels and quality linen. Stainless outdoor kitchen looked great and would be utilized if we stayed longer. Reception staff co-operative with our late arrival. Gorgeous little Belongil beach across the road.
Will book for longer period next time so that lovely central pool could be enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at east on Byron from 9-14 may this year. We were in unit 1 which was absolutely gorgeous. The outdoor kitchen and gate through to the pool area was brilliant for us, especially with our 4 year old. Although we stayed while the weather was a little cooler we still used the pool and spa daily.
The location was great as it was quiet and relaxing without actually being to far away from town.
With the kids foxtel channels as well it was easy to keep them entertained during a few heavy downpours.
I found the staff at reception to be very friendly and were only too happy to help.
It is probably one if the more expensive places to stay in Byron but worth every cent. We would have no hesitation in staying here again.
I think they should consider having free wi-fi to be included in the rate for quests. Although we were on holidays my husband runs his own business so we would have liked access to that without having to pay extra.
All in all a beautiful, tranquil and family friendly place to stay. We are already looking forward to our next visit.
Mandy

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Tranquil, peaceful,very clean, aestheticlly appealing in a clean modern european design. We were so delighted in walking in the door and feeling like, "we're home!" At least for a few days. The attendant at the front desk was incredibly helpful, answered texts and calls immediately. Plenty of storage, comfortable clean sofas. PLENTY of towels, hand towels and washcloths (unlike the last place we just came from in Port Maquarie!) We were here in winter, so didn't get to enjoy the beaches, but the town was enjoyable and easy to get to from the apartment. I highly recommend this place. The fact that we lucked into a "yoga" deal, which included the apt plus champagne and chocolate, and yoga for a reduced rate made our stay all the better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed 7 nights at East on Byron last week. We stayed in Villa number 6 which was recommended to us when I called to book. With a 5 year old and 2.5 year old it was great, lots of space and access to the pool. Really nicely appointed and modern. With the temp dropping, the main swimming pool, although meant to be heated was pretty cold but the big spa was ideal. The beach is lovely but be warned that you have to pick your times to walk to the main beach as at high tide it isn't possible. With small children, not easy just to stroll into town so we often had to drive.
The adjoining Belongil Bistro serves great coffee and food as does the Tree tops restaurant next door. Nice not to have to drive anywhere. Relaxing, local feel.
As for value, it was expensive and two other families mentioned they go better value going through a real estate agent, so directly with the Owners. Good tip I thought and I would definitely consider rebooking if we can get it a better value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NtravelQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for your review of East on Byron. We are delighted that you liked your villa and especially glad that you liked our property.
It is actually possible to walk into Byron during all tides simply by using the path just a little further down than opposite our property. It is a shame that you didn't ask one of our helpful reception staff as they would have been able to tell you that.

We are very pleased to have both the Belongil Bistro and the Treehouse Restaurant close by - they are by far the most relaxing places to eat and drink in Byron and great if you have children.
I have checked the rates for last week and they were competitive. We are in low season so there are some great deals available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We booked the Belongil Penthouse for a girls weekend away. The unit had a double lockup garage, a double room with ensuite, a twin room and a fold out sofa bed in the media room.

Nicely presented, however a number of things ensured that this room was not value for money.

At $700 per night, expectations were high. Entering the unit, by walking under the stairs of the unit above, the entry way had not been cleaned with insects and spiderwebs near the door. As you enter the unit, the wall paint has clearly over time been worn away and when the light hits the wall you can see old water trails down the paint.

The master bedroom was nice, but upon our arrival we noticed that one of the bars on the window shutters was broken, and obviously so - a cleaner should have noticed this. Also the master bedroom had a queen, I would have thought at this level, kings were standard. The media room contained the the sofa bed, however had no blinds, both a problem as a media room and an additional bedroom. It also had a smaller tv then the lving room not quite sure what qualified it as a media room except being able to call it such to sound more lush. The whole room orientation was not layed out for this use either, for if sitting on the couch to watch the television, one
would struggle..
The main lounge, dining and kitchen were open and very presentable. The couch was comfortable. The dining table was spacious The kitchen was ok and moderatley equipped.

The air con in the unit was moderatly ineffective and made a noise - I suspect it needs a service.
The pool and out door area was unuseable sadly as we attended on a wet weekend and whilt a lot of it is undercover there were more mosquitos then we could deal with and the pool had some local residents - a number of frogs and toads. This pool is really on a small lap pool nothing more - only one person at a time could swim here.

This unit could have been great. The rain is out of their control but a number of other things could have been done to lift this from average and over priced to great.
Things that could have been better, clean and with out breakages, the provision of a coffee machine\fruit bowl\welcome bottle of champagne. A carton of milk. Not just a couple of small 15ml long life containers but actual milk, curtains in the media room/extra bedroom, Citronella candles or bug zappers outside. FULL FOXTEL.
There is a cafe outside that does nice food, and a cab to Byron costs $12-15
So in all, this apartment was nice and my gripes may seem petty, but at $700 a night, I believe I have earned that right.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veronim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for your review of East on Byron. The Belongil Penthouse is one of our best units and is very popular. It is unfortunate that you happened to be here during one of the worst storms we have had in many years. I do remember that you arrived very late as your flight could not land due to the bad weather.
Our maintenance is of a very high standard and we are often complimented on it however, this particular weekend, you may have found insects and even the odd spiderweb outside your door as we had almost cyclonic conditions.

The media room has a sofabed. We wrongly assumed you were 3 couples so thought that a double sofabed would be adequate. We apologised for this at the time and did not charge you for the 6th person. We also gave you a free 4pm check out (usually $49) and two bottles of Champagne to make up for the inconvenience PLUS a $100 refund.

The lap pool is advertised as such and 2 swimmers can easily use it - and frequently do without problem. I wouldn't imagine that a lot of swimming took place during the weekend you were here though as it was just too rainy.

We really did our best to ensure that your stay was made more enjoyable and we are sorry if the weather and flight delays spoiled it a little for you. We guarantee that if you come back when the sun is shining you will love East on Byron!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at East on Byron once before and had a great time. The location itself is great - just across the road from the beach, away from the foot traffic in Byron (hire a bike to get around town). We were therefore excited to stay there again over New Year's Eve but unfortunately a couple of small issues disappointed our trip. First of all, our room was not ready by the check-in time (2pm) and while I am usually a patient person, it was pretty annoying given that we were exhausted from having risen at 3am that morning to fly internationally into the Gold Coast.

The villas themselves are beautiful and well appointed. However, the blinds in the bedroom don't adequately block out the sunlight in the morning (making it difficult to sleep in!) and our bathroom overflowed every time one of us had a shower. Also, the Foxtel selection was very limited, which was frustrating when we wanted to take a rest inside from the sun (only E!, three movie channels and a couple of sport channels worked).

Lastly, the wifi network was terrible. Firstly, we were informed that because our villa is located away from the main office, the network would be weak and we would need to sit in a certain area to get reception. Next, the wifi network did not work altogether. While I understand it is difficult to get a technician out over the Christmas / New Years period, it was incredibly frustrating as I was not able to work on documents I had due the day after I returned from my holiday (and not in the least relaxing!). When I spoke to reception about it, they suggested I obtain a password from the cafe next door and work in the pool area. Unfortunately that yielded little progress as it took more than a few minutes just to Google something on their network.

The point I would like to make is that although the villas are great, we expected a little more when we paid over $600 a night for 7 nights. The could have handled the wifi situation better (e.g. provided a small gift voucher to the cafe next door so that guests could work closer to the network and enjoy a beverage). Although I have highlighted the negative aspects of our stay, I would say that overall it is a beautiful place and we would consider staying at East on Byron again if they improved their service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kapow23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you for your review of East on Byron.
We are sorry that your apartment was not ready for 2pm but I believe that you were settled in before 3pm. We have been so busy over Christmas and New Year and do rely on guests checking out on time so that we can get everything ready for our new arrivals! We do insist on everything being perfect too.

We are delighted that you found your accommodation beautiful and well appointed.
Our Foxtel package is usually quite popular and we have a selection of DVD's at reception if required.
We do apologise for the limited reception on the WiFi network over Christmas. Our aerial was damaged due to heavy winds and we were unable to get it fixed over the holiday period. It has now been rectified and I am sorry that you were inconvenienced.

We are delighted that you would consider staying with us again at East on Byron and truly believe that great customer service is our priority.

We look forward to greeting you again at East on Byron.

The Team at East on Byron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
2.1 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#14 of 34 in Byron Bay
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
A Beach House At Byron
A Beach House At Byron
#30 of 34 in Byron Bay
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East on Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East on Byron

Address: 35 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range: £186 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East on Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the peaceful settings of Belongil Beach, East on Byron is the new style of holidaying in Byron Bay. It is positioned directly opposite the beach and is just a short 15-minute stroll to the town centre. Two acres of naturally landscaped gardens frame a billabong pool. Stunningly appointed and generous in size, these 2 and 3 bedroom villas are set in the most secluded of settings. Perfect for families, groups and couples looking for a relaxed beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your East on Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East On Byron Hotel Byron Bay
East On Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing