We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location - Great Space to Relax”
Review of East on Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East on Byron
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location - Great Space to Relax”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed in the 2 bed Terrace Villa, with daughter and infant granddaughter. The villa was fantastic for us. The living space was enormous and the outside terrace was a good size. The roof terrace gave us another separate area when we needed a break from each other. The location directly across the road from a stunning beach was great. It was so easy to pack up and walk across the road. It is more than walking distance away from the hustle and bustle, which we picked on purpose. The Belongi Beach is so beautiful for walking and swimming it was all we needed. Coupled with the Treetops cafe next door and East on Bryon could not be better. Helen and Andrew on reception could not have been more helpful and friendly. I recommend the Terrace Villa for its two bathrooms, two bed-rooms, large living space indoors and outdoors, and separate rooftop terrace.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NickPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResorts1, Public Relations Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review after your stay with us in February. We are delighted that you enjoyed our spacious villas and location. We are very proud of our service and staff and appreciate your very positive comments.

We look forward to you being able to book another trip to Byron Bay, and be sure to book direct with us to receive 'Our Best Price Guarantee'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    91
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
118
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Service: Staff quite friendly and helpful.
Location: Too far from town (20 minutes walk) and nothing else around.. other than a couple of cafe's
The apartment: clean and spacy, but considering the amount we paid, I was expecting abit more.. for example, I was expecting the apartment to be serviced daily, but that was an extra $100!
Swimming pool: people were smoking there which was annoying and we could smell the cigarette smoke fro our apartment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shahsade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at East on Byron Resort. All guest feedback is valued and always taken under advisement.
We were very happy to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, we do aim to please and all take a lot of pride in the work we do here, helping our guests in any way possible.
Regarding location, yes we are slightly tucked away about from town – (about 2kms or 20 minutes’ walk along the beach) however based on the feedback I’ve received from many repeat guests that’s one of the most appealing features of East on Byron – the peace and tranquillity of being far enough from town to avoid the noise yet close enough to easily duck in to town when you need to.
Guests who stay at East also enjoy easy access to the Belongil Bistro and the Treehouse café - two of Byron Bay’s finest eating establishments.
We are sorry you felt let down by not having your room serviced daily. We do offer midweek room services for stays of 7 nights or longer and yes additional services can be arranged daily for an extra fee. We do our best to manage our guest expectations in this regard by making this information easy to find on our website.
The pool is a strict no smoking area and this is something we make this clear to all guests who stay at East for the benefit of everybody. We do our best to police this by doing regular checks the pool area I’m sorry if we may have missed these other guests. We do apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused you and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
East on Byron Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent a week in a poolside villa over Christmas and it was brilliant. The kitchen was well equipped and the outdoor BBQ was useful. Having an outside sitting area in shade was good in the hot weather. I liked the privacy of the apartment, yet it was so close to the pool and beach. The pool is small for dedicated swimmers but there is a 50m outdoor heated pool in town.
Having a decent washing machine and tumble dryer was much appreciated. They also provided an airer so you could dry things outside too. Having a garage meant the car remained cool.
My only real gripe was checking in out of office hours. We'd been told to look for a safe in the car port. Unfortunately they didn't tell us which car port - there is one on the road and one beside reception which you can't see from the road. We spent too much time when tired and hungry looking in the wrong place. However, once we'd found our key it was all fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy3Guildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Lucy,

Thank you so much for your review, we do always appreciate our guests feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay over the Christmas period, we had some lovely families enjoying the pool and the beach in the warm weather.

I'm sorry to hear about the confusion with the afterhours check in. I can see how that would have happened with the other carport. We will make sure our directions are clear to ensure this does not happen to any other guests.

I hope to welcome you back to East on Byron one day!

Kind regards,
East on Byron Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A friend and I shared a 2 bedroom townhouse at East in late October 2013 - we were in #24.
The townhouse was well appointed, clean and comfy - there was a small ant problem in the upstairs bathroom - I think they liked the smell of my hair gel or something :D.
The air-conditioning worked well and cooled the place down quickly.
The kitchen and appliances were all in good working order, and were reasonably new.
The beach (Belongil) is just across the road and it was great to go swimming - it also wasn't too busy.
East on Byron is 15 minutes (fast) walk into Byron via the road, and about 20 minutes along the beach - I thought it was great to be out of the main drag and it was easy to drive into town for supplies.
The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful.
I had a pleasurable stay and will be coming back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear LGB,

Thanks for taking the time to review our property and thank you for your kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our little section of Byron Bay.

I'm sorry to hear about the ants in your room, we do have regular pest control carried out on the property but ants are almost impossible to stop returning. We have had the room you stayed in checked to ensure the enjoyment of other guests.

We would love to welcome you back to East on Byron one day.!

Kind regards,

East on Byron Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at East on Byron in Unit 20, a terrace villa. The unit was exceptionally spacious with high ceilings, although the main living could have had more thought in design and finish to dampen the echo. All the web site photos were accurate. Kitchen was well fitted out, comfortable bed, and fantastic double shower. Limited foxtel channels and you have to pay for wireless.There are limited ocean virews but only a 5 minute walk to Belongil Beach. Great bistro attached to the complex. There is a roof top observation deck, but most of the time it was too windy to fully enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiMi6254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property on Trip advisor, we always appreciate feedback from our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed the room and the Belongil Bistro, (a fantastic café located at the front of the resort.)

The roof top observation decks on the Terrace villas are great to catch a sea breeze but on occasion there is too much!

I hope you have the chance to stay with us again one day.

Kind regards,
East on Byron Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Location was good. Apartment clean and quiet. Opposite beach but better beaches elsewhere e.g. Wategos, near National Park and Lighthouse. We were cold and there was only a couple of thin blankets provided. Not enough cutlery provided. We kept on having to use the dishwasher.
Pillows were past their use by date. So thin. Beds were good. We paid an extra $50 per night for a mattress on the floor ! Not even a bed. At least you get a proper commercial rollaway at a 5 star hotel for that rate. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thingamybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Staff at East on Byron, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
We thank you very much for your feedback

Some of our owner’s choose to let their units out privately, it’s unfortunate that you did not make your booking book direct with us as we always ensure our apartments are fully stocked with cutlery, warm blankets and comfortable pillows which based on your comments would of made your stay far more enjoyable. Our friendly staff are ready to assist you in any way we can.
We appreciate your feedback and do hope we are able to welcome you back to East on Byron Resort in the future.

Kind regards
Ryan & The Team At East on Byron Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in the townhouse on the edge (23) which allowed for a lovely outdoor area. The unit was quiet and relaxing.

The only problem was the washer/dryer combo. We struggled to use this as it took a long time to wash and then didn't dry properly.

Thank you for having us and we enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
1.1 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
1.0 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#27 of 32 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East on Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East on Byron

Property: East on Byron
Address: 35 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East on Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the peaceful settings of Belongil Beach, East on Byron is the new style of holidaying in Byron Bay. It is positioned directly opposite the beach, and is just a short 15 minute stroll to the town centre. Stunningly appointed 2 bedroom villas and beach houses exuding luxury are set in the most secluded of settings. Two acres of naturally landscaped gardens frame a billabong pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your East on Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East On Byron Hotel Byron Bay
East On Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing