We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and lovely apartment”
Review of East on Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East on Byron
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good location and lovely apartment”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just a 2 minute stroll from the beach, this was in a great location.
Only a 15 minute walk along the beach to the centre of Byron.
The apartment was very spacious and well kept. We had a garage for our hire car, and two balconies, one with a BBQ and an upper one for catching some sun.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Upper floor terrace villas have the extra balcony to catch some sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purple C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResorts1, Public Relations Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review after your stay with us in April 2014. We are delighted that you also enjoyed our fabulous Resort and proximity to all that Byron Bay has to offer. Your comments on our great staff was especially appreciated as they do their utmost to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible.

We look forward to you being able to book another trip to Byron Bay, and be sure to book direct with us to receive 'Our Best Price Guarantee'. Also don't forget to mention that you are a valued returning Guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    91
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
118
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom Terrace Villa and it was the biggest apartment I've ever been in. Lovely, open plan apartment with fully equipped kitchen and BBQ on balcony. Nice bedrooms and beds provided a good sleep and our master double room had an excellent en-suite bathroom with a double rain style shower. Great location for the beach just over the road (and what a beach!) and 15-20 minute walk along the beach into Byron town. You also get your own garage!! We never walked into Byron at night as it was pitch black along the beach but there is a great bar \ restaurant with live music next door called The Tree House which became our regular haunt on an evening. My only gripe was with the pool, the terrace area, where the sun beds are, was on just one side of the pool and was mostly in the shade and small. Consequently we never used the pool, however, our roof top terrace was a good, private alternative to catch some sun.

Room Tip: Terrace Villas have a roof top terrace for catching the sun when the pool's busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveLightGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResorts1, Public Relations Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us in April 2014. Indeed our Villas are very spacious with a Byron Bay relaxing feel. Our proximity to all that Byron Bay is very much appreciated by all our guests.

I am sorry you were disappointed with the pool area. Our staff would have been only too happy to re-lcoate our sun lounges to a more appropriate area.

We hope you will book another trip to East on Byron soon, and be sure to book direct with us to ensure 'Our Best Price Guarantee'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
256 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Any closer to the beach would be in the sea! This beautifully set out place is clean and has a perfectly equipped kitchen, is right on the beach. There is a really great swimming pool, kiddies pool and jacuzzi with lots of chairs and shade from the sun! No better venue for a family with kids of any age at all!
A beautiful find I must say!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResorts1, Public Relations Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review after your stay with us in April 2014. We are delighted that you also enjoyed our fabulous Resort and proximity to all that Byron Bay has to offer. With the beach being so close it is the ideal location.

We look forward to you being able to book another trip to Byron Bay, and be sure to book direct with us to receive 'Our Best Price Guarantee'. Also don't forget to mention that you are a valued returning Guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My family and I (two adults, two children 9 and 5) just returned from a great long weekend in Byron Bay. Staying at East on Byron was fantastic with it being a great, family friendly hotel just across the street from the quiet Belongil Beach. Being next to r restaurant 'the Tree House' was also great. We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResorts1, Public Relations Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your great review after your stay with us in April 2014. . We are delighted that you also enjoyed our fabulous location for proximity to all that Byron Bay has to offer. Belongil Beach is close enough to town for walking, but far enough away to have the ultimate relaxing break. The Tree House and Belongil Cafe are always favourites with our guests.

We look forward to you being able to book another trip to Byron Bay, and be sure to book direct with us receive 'Our Best Price Guarantee'. Don't forget to mention that you are a valued returning Guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed in the 2 bed Terrace Villa, with daughter and infant granddaughter. The villa was fantastic for us. The living space was enormous and the outside terrace was a good size. The roof terrace gave us another separate area when we needed a break from each other. The location directly across the road from a stunning beach was great. It was so easy to pack up and walk across the road. It is more than walking distance away from the hustle and bustle, which we picked on purpose. The Belongi Beach is so beautiful for walking and swimming it was all we needed. Coupled with the Treetops cafe next door and East on Bryon could not be better. Helen and Andrew on reception could not have been more helpful and friendly. I recommend the Terrace Villa for its two bathrooms, two bed-rooms, large living space indoors and outdoors, and separate rooftop terrace.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NickPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResorts1, Public Relations Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review after your stay with us in February. We are delighted that you enjoyed our spacious villas and location. We are very proud of our service and staff and appreciate your very positive comments.

We look forward to you being able to book another trip to Byron Bay, and be sure to book direct with us to receive 'Our Best Price Guarantee'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Service: Staff quite friendly and helpful.
Location: Too far from town (20 minutes walk) and nothing else around.. other than a couple of cafe's
The apartment: clean and spacy, but considering the amount we paid, I was expecting abit more.. for example, I was expecting the apartment to be serviced daily, but that was an extra $100!
Swimming pool: people were smoking there which was annoying and we could smell the cigarette smoke fro our apartment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shahsade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at East on Byron Resort. All guest feedback is valued and always taken under advisement.
We were very happy to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, we do aim to please and all take a lot of pride in the work we do here, helping our guests in any way possible.
Regarding location, yes we are slightly tucked away about from town – (about 2kms or 20 minutes’ walk along the beach) however based on the feedback I’ve received from many repeat guests that’s one of the most appealing features of East on Byron – the peace and tranquillity of being far enough from town to avoid the noise yet close enough to easily duck in to town when you need to.
Guests who stay at East also enjoy easy access to the Belongil Bistro and the Treehouse café - two of Byron Bay’s finest eating establishments.
We are sorry you felt let down by not having your room serviced daily. We do offer midweek room services for stays of 7 nights or longer and yes additional services can be arranged daily for an extra fee. We do our best to manage our guest expectations in this regard by making this information easy to find on our website.
The pool is a strict no smoking area and this is something we make this clear to all guests who stay at East for the benefit of everybody. We do our best to police this by doing regular checks the pool area I’m sorry if we may have missed these other guests. We do apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused you and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
East on Byron Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent a week in a poolside villa over Christmas and it was brilliant. The kitchen was well equipped and the outdoor BBQ was useful. Having an outside sitting area in shade was good in the hot weather. I liked the privacy of the apartment, yet it was so close to the pool and beach. The pool is small for dedicated swimmers but there is a 50m outdoor heated pool in town.
Having a decent washing machine and tumble dryer was much appreciated. They also provided an airer so you could dry things outside too. Having a garage meant the car remained cool.
My only real gripe was checking in out of office hours. We'd been told to look for a safe in the car port. Unfortunately they didn't tell us which car port - there is one on the road and one beside reception which you can't see from the road. We spent too much time when tired and hungry looking in the wrong place. However, once we'd found our key it was all fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy3Guildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Lucy,

Thank you so much for your review, we do always appreciate our guests feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay over the Christmas period, we had some lovely families enjoying the pool and the beach in the warm weather.

I'm sorry to hear about the confusion with the afterhours check in. I can see how that would have happened with the other carport. We will make sure our directions are clear to ensure this does not happen to any other guests.

I hope to welcome you back to East on Byron one day!

Kind regards,
East on Byron Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
1.1 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
1.0 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#27 of 32 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East on Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East on Byron

Property: East on Byron
Address: 35 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East on Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the peaceful settings of Belongil Beach, East on Byron is the new style of holidaying in Byron Bay. It is positioned directly opposite the beach, and is just a short 15 minute stroll to the town centre. Stunningly appointed 2 bedroom villas and beach houses exuding luxury are set in the most secluded of settings. Two acres of naturally landscaped gardens frame a billabong pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your East on Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East On Byron Hotel Byron Bay
East On Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing