We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Ruskin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruskin House
Ranked #12 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Townsville, Australia
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed at Ruskin House with a group of four others last weekend. We were all so pleased with the accommodation and the lovely people who managed the B&B. Couldn't have been happier. The breakfast was fabulous and very generous. Beautiful personal touch at this place, but you still feel like you have your privacy. I will certainly stay again next time I'm in Byron.

Room Tip: We took up three rooms and they were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    33
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
96
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This B&B was in a lovely setting, quiet, clean, nice rooms (quite homely feel), nice people, great value for money, would definitely go back to this one if I go back to Byron Bay. I found it a nice walk to the shops, not to far. Far enough to be away from any hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: I was on an inside room (opening to patio) so not sure if other side (street side) was noisy but min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobkate12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The rooms are adequate although my visit in winter was a bit uncomfortable as there wasn't sufficient blankets on the bed and no spares in the closet. There was an air conditioner however I prefer not to have those running all night.

Ruskin House is located about 15 minutes walk from Byron and there are multiple shops, cafes and restaurants along the way.

Breakfast the next day was outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Excellant accommodation very friendly. Clean spacious all you need at a reasonable price. Close to beach and town. Very good breakfast with great coffee. Spa jets strong. Relaxed stay can highly recommend.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here as part of our Great Tour of Australia and New Zealand. Byron Bay had been recommended to us by our daughter and we found this place on the internet. It had good reviews so we thought we would try it. Wow, it certainly lived up to its reputation! Amazing modern, comfortable rooms and very welcoming hosts without being intrusive. Very close to the town centre and easy to find. We rate Ruskin House as one of the best places we have ever stayed in and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This family run B&B is excellent value for a very comfortable and relaxing stay. It's not a beach-bum type place. It has all the creature comforts of a gorgeous home without being over-the-top luxury. No pretentious people here. The couple are amazingly friendly and not intrusive. Each room has it's own independent door leading off from the communal garden / pation. Which is very charming both in the morning and in the evening. It's walking distance from everything but not in the middle of the loud bustle and music that can go on in the main bars area or the green where there can often be a mini-festival. The beach is 10 minutes walk. And the shops are on the way to the beach. Perfect place for a couple, family or friends who son't want to slum it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValinaTravels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Highly recommended. A b&b with all the amenities, great hosts, and great value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amir z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cape Beach House
The Cape Beach House
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hibiscus Motel
Hibiscus Motel
#7 of 32 in Byron Bay
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.9 mi away
Cavvanbah Beach House
Cavvanbah Beach House
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin House

Property: Ruskin House
Address: 131 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruskin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruskin House is a quaint 4 star Bed & Breakfast which has many features designed to ensure guests' comfort and privacy. Each of the guest bedrooms has private ensuite, some with spa baths, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote LCD TV, DVD players, direct dial phones, fridge, tea and coffee facilities and rooms are serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ruskin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin House Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing