We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a little gem!!!!”
Review of Ruskin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ruskin House
Ranked #12 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2013

on an 8 week holiday round the world this was one of our favourites.Spotlessly clean rooms and spacious modern bathrooms. The owners couldn't do enough for us, if we returned to Byron bay one day we would definitely stay here again.The location was nice and quiet with the facilities of the town only a short walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had such a comfortable night here in a lovely spa room. It is ideal for just walking into town or the to the lovely beach. Lots of good restaurants near by. The owners were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenJ008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I was recently in town for a friend's wedding, so I stayed here for three nights. I really enjoyed it!

It's on the main drag through Byron, however it's pretty quiet and about 5-10 minutes walk to get to the heart of town. It was a pretty soggy walk each time because of the rain, but it was completely fine. The airport bus will drop off and pick up from there, so that's convenient.

I had the queen room with spa bath, and it was really nice (and a pretty good price, too). I had everything I needed, including access to hundreds of DVDs (and they were all pretty solid picks, too - not some dodgy B-grade flicks), a big TV, air con, ceiling fan, ipod dock, and of course the spa bath. The bed was comfy. There's a bar fridge, cups/plates/glasses, and a few chocolates to enjoy.

I had breakfast here one morning because they had a proper vegan choice (although not so for milk in my coffee - I handed over my soy milk for them to use). It was really enjoyable.

The hosts are very friendly and pretty chilled out.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The queen room with spa is at the end/back of the building, so no-one walks past your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We loved our one night stay here and only wish it had been longer!
We had the king room with shower,which was in the corner and therefore very quiet and private (no window onto courtyard).
The owners couldn't be more helpful and accommodating, and the breakfast was delicious and great value.
Overall a great stay, we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: King room with shower very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldT297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We wanted to try B&B in Oz even though they are a little pricey. We picked the right one to try, Gavin and Lucie make you feel very welcome, the rooms are just lovely, very clean and spacious. The extra little things make all the difference like the docking station, beach towels if you need them, sweets in the fridge. Gavin cooks a mean breakfast too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowhedgeRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My wife and I stayed just one night at Ruskin House and we cannot speak too highly of the place, or of its owners, Gavin and Lucie.
Our room was clean, comfortable and cozy and tastefully furnished. Everything worked (including the iPod/iPhone docking station by the bed)
We had an early start the next morning and Gavin woke up especially early to serve us an excellent hot cooked breakfast to get us going on the next leg of our journey.
We have already booked our next stay in December 2012!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed our second stay at Ruskin House and I'm happy to say it was just as enjoyable as the first. We stayed in the 'blue room' (Queen spa en suite) which was clean, light and airy. The bed was comfortable, the spa bath large enough for two and Gavin and Lucie remain the most accommodating of hosts. Our biggest surprise was the breakfast. Not only was it one of the best we've ever tasted, it was also one of the largest! Save plenty of room and skip the brunch plans because this is easily one of the best breakfasts in Byron.

Our first stay in January 2012 was in the Deluxe Spa Room and proved so enjoyable we knew we had to come back. We couldn't recommend Ruskin House highly enough. In an age of mediocre service, this place is an absolute gem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
236 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tallow Beach Motel
Tallow Beach Motel
#2 of 3 in Suffolk Park
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
2.1 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin House

Address: 131 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: £83 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruskin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruskin House is a quaint 4 star Bed & Breakfast which has many features designed to ensure guests' comfort and privacy. Each of the guest bedrooms has private ensuite, some with spa baths, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote LCD TV, DVD players, direct dial phones, fridge, tea and coffee facilities and rooms are serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ruskin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin House Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing