We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Ruskin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruskin House
Ranked #11 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Ruskin house is in the perfect location - close enough to the action that you can walk everywhere, but far enough away that it's quiet. The rooms are clean, comfortable and homey. Be sure to check out miss margarita's while you're in byron, best mexican food I've ever eaten.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mel_2222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed at Ruskin House for 4 nights in Sept. Just "far" enough from all the noise during busy school holidays. 600m to the beach through back lane, high street just there. What else do you want??? Just perfect, didn't eat there as so many cool cafes just around the corner. I love Byron!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmclehto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Lovely B&B and breakfast in the heart of Byron bay.
We had a lovely room which opened out to a pretty courtyard where you have breakfast.The breakfasts a very nice and home cooked to order. It is run with a lovely family who are very helpful with places to eat and visit. We only stayed one night in Byron bay on our trip up the east cost and it is a beautiful place, go and see the sunsets at Wategoes beach.. Simply stunning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Manager, Gavin, on arrival greeted us by our first names at the door on arrival. Nothing was too much trouble for Gavin or wife, Lucy, who had her hands full with two young children.
Room was very well appointed - tastefully decorated with pleasant outlook on to nicely landscaped courtyard.
Rooms serviced daily by managers - great idea in that it gives the rooms that personal touch a contract cleaner couldn't give. Hard work for them but worth it.
Loved the spa and the random cappuccinos offered to us by Gavin and his wife Lucy.
Walking distance to just about everything in Byron Bay including beach.
Complimentary breakfast on leaving a nice touch.
Definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Didn't rate pool as place did not have one. Who needs a pool as place is an easy walk to beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ogrpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Ruskin House guesthouse was a great place to stay. The room was very quiet and the bed was comfortable, ensuring a good night's sleep. Close enough to the centre of town that we could walk most places. And run efficiently by a crew of friendly and helpful backpackers (apparently the resident owners were holidaying overseas). We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for one night and we thought Ruskin House was a home away from home. The room was large, spacious and clean and so was the ajoining en suite. Our room had air con and satellite tv and a fridge with two complimentary picnic bars! The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much to ask for. One of the staff even dropped us to our bus the next day. We would highly recommend Ruskin house for your stay in Byron Bay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The location is great, close enough to CBD, but distant enough to keep quiet. Very friendly staffs, daily room service, got towels, shampoo and stuff.. and very clean!!! Also advise you to try the full breakfast!!!! It was 15 dollars, but I feel it was so much more.. one whole bowl of muesli/cereal with yogurt or milk + juice + tea/coffee+ cooked meal.. (different menu).. we skipped lunch after having this breakfast.. Not a cent is gone wasted.. The house got the board games and lots of free DVDs to borrow.. overall, splendid stay (:

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinmelb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Planula B&B Retreat
Planula B&B Retreat
#17 of 34 in Byron Bay
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Byron Palms Guest House
Byron Palms Guest House
#13 of 34 in Byron Bay
99 reviews
2 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin House

Address: 131 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: £82 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruskin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruskin House is a quaint 4 star Bed & Breakfast which has many features designed to ensure guests' comfort and privacy. Each of the guest bedrooms has private ensuite, some with spa baths, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote LCD TV, DVD players, direct dial phones, fridge, tea and coffee facilities and rooms are serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruskin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin House Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing