We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Ruskin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ruskin House
Ranked #13 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Ruskin house is a nice B&B, with friendly owners. The best things about it is its location though- easy walk to town, but nice and quiet. We enjoyed a couple of nights here and liked how easy it was to come back after an afternoon on the beach, to then go out again for dinner!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mizyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    32
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
94
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Ruskin House is a great base if you want to be in the heart of Byron. We stayed here for a weekend and loved that fact that we could walk everywhere easily, but it was far enough away that it was quiet for sleeping. Our room was spacious and comfortable with nice touches such as complimentary (cold!) water, chocolates and toiletries. There are a lot of great places close-by for breakfast, but we ate here on our last morning and it was excellent!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Cute little cottage on the main street, but walking distance out of the hustle and noise. The misleading thing is that the price only includes the bed, and the breakfast is extra. But other than that, it's a great place to stay in Byron Bay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My stay at the Ruskin house was amazing! Lukas was a wonderful host who went above and beyond to make my stay very comfortable. He was always available to answer my questions and offer a freshly made cappuccino or coffee (even to a visitor that came to see me during my stay)
The room was great! Air conditioning, refrigerator, flat screen TV, DVD player and spa bathtub definitely made this a home away from home. There were so many DVDs to choose from so there was no need to go out and pay to rent a movie!
Breakfast was so tasty and was served just outside my room in the garden/terrace with a very nice atmosphere.
I am a 28 year old girl traveling alone and I felt very safe here. There are motion detector lights out front and the door is locked to the garden/terrace (the way I got to my room) and can only be unlocked by guests.
The location is great. There are lots of restaurants/shops nearby and it's walking distance to the beach!
Like I said, I am traveling alone but I would definitely stay here with my husband! It's a perfect place for couples - very quiet and relaxing! I really have nothing negative to say about the Ruskin House!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenjoyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for six nights in July 2013. We originally booked four nights but decided to stay an additional two, since we enjoyed Byron Bay so much. Ruskin House was a short walk into town and to the Brewery where we ended up hanging out on more than one evening. The room was in the back and was well equipped with a mini fridge and a spa-jet bathtub and a shower with good pressure and hot water. I had just a few small complaints; the air con unit was loud and kicked on and off all night. The toilet was right next to the bed. Also, the bed was somewhat small with an older mattress. Overall, the positives outweighed the negatives and we enjoyed our stay here. The owners were out of town and their relatives were managing the place and couldn't have been more accommodating. They even made delicious cappuccinos for us to enjoy on the front porch!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbrew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Ruskin house is in the perfect location - close enough to the action that you can walk everywhere, but far enough away that it's quiet. The rooms are clean, comfortable and homey. Be sure to check out miss margarita's while you're in byron, best mexican food I've ever eaten.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mel_2222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed at Ruskin House for 4 nights in Sept. Just "far" enough from all the noise during busy school holidays. 600m to the beach through back lane, high street just there. What else do you want??? Just perfect, didn't eat there as so many cool cafes just around the corner. I love Byron!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmclehto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cape Beach House
The Cape Beach House
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin House

Property: Ruskin House
Address: 131 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruskin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruskin House is a quaint 4 star Bed & Breakfast which has many features designed to ensure guests' comfort and privacy. Each of the guest bedrooms has private ensuite, some with spa baths, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote LCD TV, DVD players, direct dial phones, fridge, tea and coffee facilities and rooms are serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruskin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin House Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing