We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Byron Bay Hotel & Apartments(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wake Up! Byron Bay(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cape Byron Retreat(Skinners Shoot)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia House(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hibiscus Motel(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Villa Resort(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa(Suffolk Park)(Great Value!)
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayhaven Lodge(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Burees(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$153
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Suites(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
114
34
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
34
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsservices clubuseful adviceseparate accessour room was spaciousfantastic hostsrelaxed stayshort walkstayed two nightsdefinitely stay here againtown centreaway from the hustle and bustleplace to stayacross the roadperfect locationnight stayrslbyron
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Like the previous reviewer, we want to say that the new management/ownership has clearly made a difference at Ruskin House. When we arrived we were greeted with a friendly welcome and advice on what to do and see in Byron Bay.

Our room was clean, spacious, and everything, including the air conditioning, worked well. They are in the process of updating the rooms, and all currently have flat screen tvs. The outdoor area is pleasant, and the food that Gavin cooks is absolutely delicious.

Only a short walk to the beach, Ruskin House is a great and affordable place to stay. Great value.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and the place is great! A lovely young couple just took over running it, and they are really helpful and accommodating.
The rooms are fantastic and teh location is awesome. If you had a few people that didn't want to share rooms but have a common area, it would be really handy. I'll stay there next time I'm in Byron for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katehayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Gavin & Lucy have just taken over at Ruskin House and we found them to be the perfect hosts.
Flat screen tv and dvd player, superb breakfasts, good local knowledge and location.
Fresh towels daily unless you wish to do your bit for the enviroment. A great Bed & Breakfast that i would recomend to friends, we will certainly use it again on visiting Byron.
Jonathan & Bridget
Hallett Cove, S.A.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

When we arrived at Ruskin House we were shown into the reception area, only to be told that the plumbing had gone in our room and that they couldn't accommodate us. They placated us with the fact that they had taken the liberty of booking us into a guesthouse up the road. They hadn't rung to give us any forwarning, but the owner of the house assured us that the replacement accommdation was 4.5 star so we thought what was the point of arguing. The owner then went on to say how nice we were being about it all, and that some of their other guests aren't so nice (do they have the plumbing go regularly??).

We were very disappointed with their service, as we had booked this guest house for a number of reasons, including wi-fi in the rooms and having our own personal entry way etc, none of which the replacement accommodation had (although they were very friendly). I have a funny feeling we were palmed off as we had only booked for one night, and they possibly had taken a booking for a longer stay or another booking who was paying a higher rate (we booked off WOTIF). If they don't want to book one night stays - why do they sell them?

Would we go back - No. Their service was lacking - a simple phone call would have solved a lot of problems.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventureville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Tv remote didn't work, airconditioning didn't work, the bathroom had dead insects on the floor and the traffic noise made it difficult to sleep. Rooms look nothing like the pictures either, smaller than your standard hotel room. No fresh towels supplied either.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank destinoDestino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinLucie, New Owners at Ruskin House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2009

A general response covering our new ownership of Ruskin House. This B&B was built by my parents in 1996 and it was leased out for the last 5 years. A new leaf has been turned in terms of attention to detail, facilities, service and customer satisfaction with my lovely wife Lucie, and I, Gavin returning to Australia to run the premises. All A/C units work efficiently and quietly, there's new 32" LCD TV's in all the rooms and you now have a wonderful chef (ahem, me) preparing beautiful breakfasts for you upon request.
Prices are always sold as a bed only rate unless specified. We've had nothing but satisified customers since taking over here Dec 4, 2009, so we encourage you to look forward with us to an enjoyable stay in Byron Bay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews