We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming place to stay”
Review of Ruskin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruskin House
Ranked #13 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Sydney
1 review
“Comfortable and welcoming place to stay”
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We stayed at Ruskin House at end of December for 10 days and had a lovely time. The host and hostess Lucy and Gavin were lovely and provided us great home cooked breakfasts at very reasonable rates (the blueberry pancakes were a hit!) the linen was changed daily and you always came back to a spotless room - we stayed in the spa room and it was lovely. Lucy and Gavin went out of their way during NYE and invited alll their guests for complementary canapes and drinks and it felt like we were leaving friends at the end of our stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyAnastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    32
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
94
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2010

As soon as we arrived we were greted with friendly smiles by an enthusiastic Gavin and Lucie(the couple that runs Ruskin house). They explained to us all the local attractions, where to get the best cheap feed/live music etc...
The rooms themselves were lovely, very well kept, the perfect sized spa for a couple and a great flatscreen TV. Every day the rooms were cleaned beautifully and the owners were always floating around to give advice/check that there weren't any problems.
I was extremely happy with my time at Ruskin house and would recomend it to others!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldtes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Gavin and Lucy were great hosts and are looking to make your stay in Bryon great. Its a great location because its just outside the main strip so its quiet but easily accessible to the bars and restaurants etc in about a 2-5min walk. The rooms are nice, you have your own entrance and a little secured court yard which increases your living space. Its not one of those fancy top end resorts which gives it its appeal and I imagine it will get better and better as Gavin and Lucy continue their commitment to restoring their family business. . Very comfortable and clean, free wi fi which was awesome to plan our days and the rest of our trip on the fly. Price is reasonable and probably varies on the season. We enjoyed our stay, thanks Gavin and Lucy

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Clean, quality, welcoming and private stay. Highly recommended for a base to explore Byron Bay. Great location, walked everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevf11969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austrlalia
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2010

As part of a longer holiday that my brother from the USA is having, we stayed at Ruskin House. My brother and I were both thoroughly impressed from the moment we arrived. Lucy was there to greet us with the warmest smile and upon meeting Gavin... I can only say they were the best host/ess of any B&B I have ever stayed out. The were so very accommodating with everything from arrival time, to making our booking work for us. The rooms are very clean and have all the mod cons. The location is excellent. Gavin and Lucy provided us with tons of local knowledge to make our Byron trip even more enjoyable. I highly recommend Ruskin House and shall be returning there on my next trip to Byron.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank givemesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

From the moment we arrived Gavin and Lucy tended to our every need. What ever time you arrive they welcome you with a smile and always have a friendly word to say. They have recently taken over this guesthouse and from previous reviews, have improved this quaint guest house a lot.

Clean towels every day and always had hot water.
Room was cleaned every day and always spotless when we came home.
Gavin and Lucy were always on hand with great local knowledge and really helpful.

I would recommend this guest house to anyone as our friends stayed down the road, for the same price but didn't have an en suite, and their room was so much smaller. It was definately Value for money.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Like the previous reviewer, we want to say that the new management/ownership has clearly made a difference at Ruskin House. When we arrived we were greeted with a friendly welcome and advice on what to do and see in Byron Bay.

Our room was clean, spacious, and everything, including the air conditioning, worked well. They are in the process of updating the rooms, and all currently have flat screen tvs. The outdoor area is pleasant, and the food that Gavin cooks is absolutely delicious.

Only a short walk to the beach, Ruskin House is a great and affordable place to stay. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtatenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
238 reviews
2.3 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Cape Beach House
The Cape Beach House
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin House

Property: Ruskin House
Address: 131 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruskin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruskin House is a quaint 4 star Bed & Breakfast which has many features designed to ensure guests' comfort and privacy. Each of the guest bedrooms has private ensuite, some with spa baths, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote LCD TV, DVD players, direct dial phones, fridge, tea and coffee facilities and rooms are serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ruskin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin House Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing