We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest hotel in Byron Bay”
Review of Ruskin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruskin House
Ranked #11 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Stayed here whilst in Byron Bay on business.

Hosts Gavin & Lucie could not have made my colleagues and I feel more welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian_Storey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2010

Superb hotel close to the wonderful Byron Bay. Gavin the owner made us feel very welcome and steered us in the right direction of information needed to enjoy our break.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Arrived in Byron Bay on a Friday night and were originally supposed to stay at Holiday Village but they had messed up our booking so had to spend about 4 hours looking for somewhere else to stay! We came across Ruskin House by chance and luckily there was one room available as they'd had a cancellation. We were so relieved! It was $145 for a luxury spa suite and it was absolutely gorgeous. Well worth the price! We had a huge comfy and clean bed, big TV with dvd player and a good choice of dvd's to choose from, beautiful bathroom with shower and spa bath and the location was excellent. 2 min walk to centre which is full of lovely bars, restaurants and shops but it was still quite secluded and peaceful! Beach was abit of a walk but only 15mins or so! Lady who owned it couldnt have been more accomodating and helpful, did our washing and drying for us and left our laundry folded up and clean on our bed. On our second night in Byron Bay we checked out of Ruskin and went back to Holiday Village which was awful so the following day we were back again, after telling her about our horrible night at Holiday Village she gave us one of the best rooms for a reduced price and made us feel right at home again! Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank K4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

On arrival, greeted by owners, Gavin and Lucie, couldn't be more helpfull, room excellent complete with Sofa, Jaccuzi Bath, overlooking enclosed private rear yard with ample outside seating. 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of town but in a quiet convenient location, ample off road parking, Gavin is fully qualified Chef, therefore the cooked breakfast [optional and well worth it] was first class. We will certainly recommend this accomodation and will use it when we return to Byron Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinandkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We stayed at Ruskin House at end of December for 10 days and had a lovely time. The host and hostess Lucy and Gavin were lovely and provided us great home cooked breakfasts at very reasonable rates (the blueberry pancakes were a hit!) the linen was changed daily and you always came back to a spotless room - we stayed in the spa room and it was lovely. Lucy and Gavin went out of their way during NYE and invited alll their guests for complementary canapes and drinks and it felt like we were leaving friends at the end of our stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyAnastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

As soon as we arrived we were greted with friendly smiles by an enthusiastic Gavin and Lucie(the couple that runs Ruskin house). They explained to us all the local attractions, where to get the best cheap feed/live music etc...
The rooms themselves were lovely, very well kept, the perfect sized spa for a couple and a great flatscreen TV. Every day the rooms were cleaned beautifully and the owners were always floating around to give advice/check that there weren't any problems.
I was extremely happy with my time at Ruskin house and would recomend it to others!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldtes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Gavin and Lucy were great hosts and are looking to make your stay in Bryon great. Its a great location because its just outside the main strip so its quiet but easily accessible to the bars and restaurants etc in about a 2-5min walk. The rooms are nice, you have your own entrance and a little secured court yard which increases your living space. Its not one of those fancy top end resorts which gives it its appeal and I imagine it will get better and better as Gavin and Lucy continue their commitment to restoring their family business. . Very comfortable and clean, free wi fi which was awesome to plan our days and the rest of our trip on the fly. Price is reasonable and probably varies on the season. We enjoyed our stay, thanks Gavin and Lucy

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Palms Guest House
Byron Palms Guest House
#14 of 34 in Byron Bay
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
2.6 mi away
Byron Bay Farmstay
Byron Bay Farmstay
#1 of 1 in Hayters Hill
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin House

Address: 131 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: £90 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruskin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruskin House is a quaint 4 star Bed & Breakfast which has many features designed to ensure guests' comfort and privacy. Each of the guest bedrooms has private ensuite, some with spa baths, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote LCD TV, DVD players, direct dial phones, fridge, tea and coffee facilities and rooms are serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruskin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin House Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing