We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hosts and a great place to stay in Byron”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruskin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruskin House
Ranked #13 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“lovely hosts and a great place to stay in Byron”
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Gavin and Lucy made our stay a relaxing and homely one. Ruskin is well run, clean and has a cute little courtyard for morning coffee. i've booked into into a fair few places over the years and this one was up there with the best. i haven't a bad word to say regarding our stay there... if you're looking for a good place as a couple in Byron, then do give Ruskin a call.

Mark.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfermark36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    32
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
94
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basel
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We would definitely recommend Ruskin house for anyone seeking a relaxed holiday. Gavin and Lucy (the managers of Ruskin House) were very welcoming and helpful with travel advice and suggestions for where to go in and around the Byron area. It is located within short walking distance from shops and the beach, very convenient. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edfunction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Stayed here whilst in Byron Bay on business.

Hosts Gavin & Lucie could not have made my colleagues and I feel more welcome.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian_Storey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Superb hotel close to the wonderful Byron Bay. Gavin the owner made us feel very welcome and steered us in the right direction of information needed to enjoy our break.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Arrived in Byron Bay on a Friday night and were originally supposed to stay at Holiday Village but they had messed up our booking so had to spend about 4 hours looking for somewhere else to stay! We came across Ruskin House by chance and luckily there was one room available as they'd had a cancellation. We were so relieved! It was $145 for a luxury spa suite and it was absolutely gorgeous. Well worth the price! We had a huge comfy and clean bed, big TV with dvd player and a good choice of dvd's to choose from, beautiful bathroom with shower and spa bath and the location was excellent. 2 min walk to centre which is full of lovely bars, restaurants and shops but it was still quite secluded and peaceful! Beach was abit of a walk but only 15mins or so! Lady who owned it couldnt have been more accomodating and helpful, did our washing and drying for us and left our laundry folded up and clean on our bed. On our second night in Byron Bay we checked out of Ruskin and went back to Holiday Village which was awful so the following day we were back again, after telling her about our horrible night at Holiday Village she gave us one of the best rooms for a reduced price and made us feel right at home again! Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank K4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, North Yorks
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

On arrival, greeted by owners, Gavin and Lucie, couldn't be more helpfull, room excellent complete with Sofa, Jaccuzi Bath, overlooking enclosed private rear yard with ample outside seating. 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of town but in a quiet convenient location, ample off road parking, Gavin is fully qualified Chef, therefore the cooked breakfast [optional and well worth it] was first class. We will certainly recommend this accomodation and will use it when we return to Byron Bay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinandkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We stayed at Ruskin House at end of December for 10 days and had a lovely time. The host and hostess Lucy and Gavin were lovely and provided us great home cooked breakfasts at very reasonable rates (the blueberry pancakes were a hit!) the linen was changed daily and you always came back to a spotless room - we stayed in the spa room and it was lovely. Lucy and Gavin went out of their way during NYE and invited alll their guests for complementary canapes and drinks and it felt like we were leaving friends at the end of our stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyAnastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Byron Springs Guesthouse
Byron Springs Guesthouse
#5 of 34 in Byron Bay
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin House

Property: Ruskin House
Address: 131 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruskin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruskin House is a quaint 4 star Bed & Breakfast which has many features designed to ensure guests' comfort and privacy. Each of the guest bedrooms has private ensuite, some with spa baths, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote LCD TV, DVD players, direct dial phones, fridge, tea and coffee facilities and rooms are serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruskin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin House Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing