We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outrigger Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Friends had recommended this resort...
but nothing could truly prepare us for how much of a hidden gem it is!
We felt warmly welcome from the moment of arrival.
The apartments were spacious, clean & generously self-contained.
We were amazed & grateful for how close we were to the beach,
whilst the hub of Byron was only a casual stroll down the road.
We have been coming to Byron for 20 years &
have found this resort to be the best value for money.
Look no further!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2010

I have just spent 3 nights at Outrigger with my boyfriend and another couple and I would highly recommend it. The accommodation is really spacious and spotlessly clean. Mary and Ozzie were very helpful hosts. The location could not be better - minutes from the town and beach. I would definitely stay here again. Also the photos on the website really don't do this place justice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pondy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I loved the Outrigger Byron Bay. It was less than 5 minute walk to town, it was really clean, very well appointed and about a 3 minute walk to the beach.
It is really THE best place to stay in Byron Bay. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelleBBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

My original accommodation did not work out and I changed to Outrigger Bay - so so glad
they had room, made all the difference to making my mini holiday a great one.
Loved easy walking distance to town, car hire right on the corner, direct access to the beach.
Rooms are lovely, spacious and comfortable, the hosts made me feel welcome and happy
to assist with my requests ........ highly recommended - Gail - Tasmania.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tassietraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

The accommodation itself is fine, in fact the rooms were nice, it is only a short walk to the beach and town center. However, don't stay here if you are looking to entertain in the rooms. Management are unreasonable and threatened to evict on the first night at 9pm (early) for having a BBQ. I don't claim to be a saint, but to threaten eviction at 9pm is extreme especially when 10pm was the stated 'quiet down' time.

If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is your place. But if you want to have a bit of fun, steer clear of this place.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheHunterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

This is a modern resort type complex. We had a very clean comfortable and spacious apartment with every home comfort and a very well equipped kitchen. Security of the complex is very good with locked doors into the complex & garage area, and also a locked gate, at it's own path / short walkway across the old railway lines leading down to the beach, Close to the shops restaurants and centre of Byron it is in an ideal position however you intend spending your time in Byron Bay. The swimming pool was well used by children and it could get a bit noisy during the day. I would reccommend asking for a beach facing apartment if you don't want to have to sit on your balcony either looking and hearing children at play or seeing the constant queue & stream of cars driving past the complex on the outer side.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HazydaysCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

I have stayed at The Outrigger Bay twice with friends and are booked to stay again next March. We have stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment both times , giving us a room each ! When visiting in low season ( out of school holidays ) and dividing by three friends , the hotel is good value.
The 3 bedrooms are a great size , 2 rooms , bathroom , kitchen , living area , dining area and two balconies are downstairs and then a 3rd bedroom is up a small flight of stairs and has an ensuite.
The location makes this hotel , backing onto the beach and been able to stroll into town in 5-10 minutes is great ! Parking is a nightmare in Byron , so being able to leave the car in the underground garage and walk everywhere is a bonus.
The apartments would suit families and well as groups of friends !
The pool is small but lovely in the centre of the resort. Our apartments have been on the beach side , so no noise issues at all.
Great base for Byron and the area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy7215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#18 of 34 in Byron Bay
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crest Byron Bay
The Crest Byron Bay
#2 of 65 in Byron Bay
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaches Apartments - Byron Bay
0.3 mi away
Byron Bay Hotel & Apartments
Byron Bay Hotel & Apartments
#13 of 65 in Byron Bay
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Bay Apartments

Address: 9 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £135 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Bay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short stroll from town and with direct beach access, this complex has one, two and three bedroom apartments which are bright and spacious with a comfortable relaxed feel. Outrigger Bay Apartments are fully self contained and equipped with all modern conveniences, including air conditioning throughout the living area. There is also a heated outdoor pool, Hot Tub, BBQ Facilities, free wireless internet, Foxtel and secure underground parking. The landscaped gardens with BBQ area provide a relaxing escape and a safe area for children to play. There is direct beach access, and a two minute walk into town. These apartments offer a relaxing holiday experience, close to all the attractions of Byron. Outrigger Bay Apartments is also a proud winner of Gold Listing awards 2016 & 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Outrigger Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Bay Apartments Hotel Byron Bay
Outrigger Byron Bay
Byron Bay Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing