We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”

Balcony Bar & Oyster Co
Ranked #28 of 190 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Price range: US$9 - US$28
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Meters back from legendary main beach, Balcony Bar & Oyster Co sits perched high above the hustle and bustle of Byron Bays busy streets. This heritage listed building is reminiscent of a seaside beach house. The signature wrap around deck captures the setting sun and is the perfect place to tuck into some freshly shucked oysters with an icy cold beer or a glass or rose. Executive Chef Sean Connolly has prepared a menu reflecting his signature style of cooking; simple, approachable and where possible on the bone or in the shell, allowing the produce to speak for itself. Balcony Bar & Oyster Co. exudes a neighbourhood spot where you can drop by anytime for a drink with friends and a few oysters or small plates.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great restaurant ! Simple good food,well prepared. Best location in the centre of the village, good and friendly service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ralph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    314
    185
    123
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
“amazing how do they do it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would like to start by wondering why people like to complain?I have had the most amazing experiences in this restaurant.I have been coming here for more than 12 years.Its ecclectic amazing mix of arty vibing service people always makes me smile ,be happy and in awe of the hard work these people do just to please us.I have had so many incredible meals mixed with out of this world service and would highly recommend anyone who goes to Byron to have this experience from the team thats makes the Balcony special.Its not just just sunset and veiws,its a team of people who work very hard to bring me exceptional food a smile and a laugh and good vibes always.Go There Dont Miss It

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best place in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Took my wife here for her birthday on our first night of our holiday in Byron - we went back every night. Great service, seriously amazing food and a great vibe overlooking the top end of the main street.....a must visit!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Happy hour at the balcony.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for happy hour, food was beautiful and that was happy hour prices too. The lychee cocktails were gorgeous. Service a bit on the slow side because they were busy, but fantastic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This place was recommended to us by Veronica from Aaman and Cinta Villas. My partner and I went for there for my 30th birthday dinner and I'd have to say it was one of the best meals I've had in all my 30 years! Delicious tapas (the haloumi was TO DIE FOR), nice wine, great vibe, excellent service. Loved it all. Thanks for a great dining experience. Kate and Shaun

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank katehaddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balcony Bar & Oyster Co also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Balcony Bar & Oyster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing