We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellow Flower

Yellow Flower
Ranked #108 of 186 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Price range: US$9 - US$13
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Newcastle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We ate lunch and enjoyed it so much we returned the next day. Between 6 of us we sampled most of the range of curries on offer, and liked them all. The vegetable korma and coconut fish were outstanding. The staff were friendly, the atmosphere relaxed. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amz_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    10
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Didn't expect much and that's what we got”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Pretty poor, nothing like a "curry". Wouldn't take much to make a bit of an effort. Even our 6yr old could do better than this.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BauhiniaByronBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolani, Owner at Yellow Flower, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We were very sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one but we do value your feedback. Being a budget food outlet we do not offer full restaurant services such as table service and it's definitely a more "do it yourself" approach to dining. We have a great local reputation and we sincerely hope that if you do choose to visit us again your experience is more positive.
Best regards yellow flower management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheapskate Tuesday”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have been going here for 10 years. Lately I have noticed the customer service has deteriorated to the point where it is non existent. Not only are they slow; they are extremely aloof and it seems like taking your order is a major inconvenience to them. The owner is extremely rude, and I have seen her berate customers on more than one occasion, and in her case the customer is never right. Apart from the bad customer service skills the amount of curry you get is meagre compared to the amount of rice (dry) you receive. It is overpriced for the quality, it is a buffet after all...I guess a lot of people eat here because there is no other competition. Very disappointing, I will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not much chicken”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Small dish $10 for rice and Butter Chicken. 3 small pieces of chicken, small amount of liquid, small amount of rice, very disappointed. We had been looking forward to our meal, as we eat there every year at Xmas. Never again! I am sad. :(

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Australian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As far from India as you can get”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Expensive food that is as far from Indian as I have tasted. I don't even know what the naan bread was before it came here but it is not naan! Grumpy servers add to the atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sizemologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yellow Flower also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Yellow Flower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing