We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Beach House At Byron
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I spent a week here and mostly enjoyed the Beach House at Byron. It´s a quiet location, outside of Byron Bay town but it´s only a lovely 20 min beach walk away. There a good restaurant just round the corner. The different facilities had a lot of charm and comfort. The only negative was the dead ant invasion: because of the visit of an exterminator, I ended with dead ants everywhere (in bed, bathtub, shower), I finally had to ask for help to clean up but it needed cleaning several times a day. But the beautiful surroundings and quirky buildings still left me with good memories of this place and I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2011

We stayed in the Cottage - the two storie, two bedroom unit. Before arriving I expected A Beach House At Byron to be 'just another B&B' and their street at Belongil did not look too promising, so I was very pleasantly surprised when we got there. It's a cozy and quirky place that immediately felt like home. It's spacious and has a very down-to-earth nature-friendly feel to it with all the quality timber furnishing.
We'd go for a quick dip in the ocean every morning - the beach is merely a stone throw away from the place. And in the evening we'd sit on the balcony or on the jetty, watching the sunset with a glass of wine - perfect!
I was even happy with the rainy days cause then we could stay in, sleep in, watch tv and eat home cooked food. Yes, the kitchen was another positive part of the Cottage - fully equipped with certain little extra utensils that we don't even have at home. You do have to come prepared and bring your own food, but then again there's a cool café right across the street for the lazy ones where they make great pizza & salads (and good coffee in the morning).
Their garden is green and lush as advertised, so that it felt like we're in a quiet bush cottage and yet the Byron Bay shopping-dining and live music scene is just a stroll away (make sure you walk along the beach when going into town and that you visit the local farmer's market!)
This place was definitely the gem that made our stay in Byron feel special and uplifting. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it warmly. I loved the Cottage for its homy feel (it felt almost like having a house all to ourselves) but I wouldn't mind staying at the Gazebo the next time for a more exotic experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princess-Annu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This three night break was a special treat for us from our son and his wife at the end of our 5 week holiday in Brisbane, He could not have chosen better, so perfect for us, quiet, close to the beach, comfy bed, great bathroom. We stayed in the "Wing" as you walk up the tropical pathway it appears--like a log cabin set in a jungle, brush turkeys wandering around, even on the roof, and bird song, We arrived an hour before check-in time but Tracy allowed us in as all was ready. Self catering will not be an option as facilities in that area were limited, being picky now--- why only 4 dessert spoons, a pair of scissors and a bottle opener as far as cutlery supplies, but a brand new hair dryer. The Tree House at the end of the road had loads of atmosphere and friendly people and staff. We think Belongil beach the best and this is the real Byron Bay

Room Tip: get bread, milk, fruit , cereal etc before arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bojangles381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed in the gazebo for 3 nights. It was clean and comfortably furnished and well equipped. We were able to prepare a basic meal when we didn't want to leave the wonderful deck with its uninterrupted views of the river. The gazebo is perfect for a romantic getaway or for anyone wanting some tranquility and a simpler way of life.
The Treehouse cafe around the corner is also an absolute winner offering delicious food at reasonable prices, and it had some very good live music performances during our stay.
The beach is no more than 2 minutes walk, although after a few days here you may find yourself moving considerably slower as you slip into the laid back lifestyle. We much preferred this quiet location to Byron Bay's traffic congested streets, and it is only a very pleasant 15-20 minute stroll along the beach if you can't stay away from the shops.
We will definitely return - other guests staying in the studio and the wing seemed very happy with their rooms also.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Gonefishingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed in a little chalet that was ideal, clean and comfortable. This was very welcome considering the weather was disappointing so we spent a lot of time in the in it. Not to underestimate the value of free wifi which is not that common in Australia and NZ. We liked the quiet location out of the village which was very convenient for the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed 3 nights here in the Gazebo accommodation overlooking an estuary. It was a wonderful spot with only bird song to disturb you in the morning. The accommodation is a two storey gazebo with the main room having a bed, small fridge, tv and microwave. Downstairs and you have to go outside is the shower and toilet which was fine as it is well lighted at night with automatic lights. The room is not serviced but towels and linen are provided which was fine with us. I liked just sitting on the deck and enjoying the view. I was concerned there was limited curtains as there was a lot of glass but this was never a problem and we slept well. The wireless connection was also excellent. There is also a few minutes walk away a lovely restaurant called the Treehouse Cafe.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

we stayed at the Gazebo which is a very beautiful large room with 180 degree views of the river through glass walls. The views are spectacular and you feel like you are on a boat. The room was clean and spacious with a rustic feel. There is a lovely balcony that overlooks the river too. I recommend this to anyone who wants a peaceful place to stay away from the main street craziness.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank angie_viner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
2.3 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
2.3 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
2.3 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#25 of 34 in Byron Bay
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Beach House At Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beach House At Byron

Address: 12 Giaour St | Belongil, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range: £107 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Beach House At Byron 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beach House At Byron offers quiet, unique and self-contained accommodation in a great location: Belongil beach and cafes are a 2-minute walk from the property. All units are set among lush tropical gardens, featuring cozy décor with high ceilings, hardwood floors, quality furnishings and artwork by local artists. Each unit is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, tea & coffee making facilities. A Beach House At Byron is a 20-minute walk from the heart of Byron Bay. Arakwal National Park is an 8-minute drive from the property and Ballina Byron Airport a 35-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Beach House At Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing