We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GAZEBO at Beach House at Byron”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Beach House At Byron
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Warning, there is no one on site to assist, should the need arise. It did for us and we just had to deal with it. The Gazebo is up a flight of stairs (bedroom/frig/deck are upstairs) Downstairs is the small toilet/shower. Once the sun goes down it is dangerous to try and navigate the stairs and while we were there the outside lighting on the stairs was not working. Very slippery when wet so go slowly. Several attempts to contact the number left for us on a card inside the room were unsuccessful. Since everything is done only by email, we tried emailing to no avail. In all fairness to this place, I must read the details more carefully next time. The place is a good distance from the town of Byron and the beach close by is not really swimable according to the locals. Much safer to walk 30 minutes to the roped off flagged area in Byron town. The Gazebo itself is "quaint" with the bare necessities. It would have been great to have had a BBQ even if it was one that all the people staying there could share. The make shift tea kettle sat hap-hazzardly upon the top of the microwave and that constituted the kitchen. It is about 2 feet from the bed. If you are fearful of BATS, look elsewhere. While we found them interesting as there were thousands of them that flew buy at dusk each night. The grounds are lovely, I felt like I was in Bali but all in all we were disappointed paying $200 a night and expected more. Byron itself is a fun place and we took a bus to the monthly market on Sunday that just happened to land on the day we were leaving. We attempted to contact the caretakers to see if we could leave our luggage but again, no response.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonybones, Manager at A Beach House At Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay in the Gazebo. Unfortunatly the manager was on holidays that week but there are two contact numbers listed in the room one of which is always attended. The lights inside and outside the room have all just been replaced during an extensive upgrade of all rooms and gardens during May. The advertized facilities for this room do not include a 'kitchen', we do however provide a full suite of appliances and crockery for guests convenience.
We do love our wildlife as we are situated on a nature reserve and a bird sanctuary; so the birds can be numerous but only during short breeding periods. The beach is a very popular swimming beach and is well protected from the large southern waves for most of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband & I had a 2 night getaway and stayed in the Studio. We would highly recommend the experience. We could only get into the Studio but found it was all we needed (very cute).
Take the essentials with you. Enjoy the walk into town at low tide along the beach. If you like Greek food, try The Cypress............... We went back on both nights.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and i stayed for 4 nights in the gazebo which is right on the waters edge. On arrival it was raining steadily which made us immediately worry knowing what a " beach getaway" can be like when its raining.

It is not the sort of place (gazebo) you would like to stay in bad weather being one single room for eating /sleeping and only 1 chair to sit on, but in fairness we booked this room knowing that and no one can control the weather.

The location is quiet, the premises clean and convieniantly located with the beautiful beach only a few minutes walk away and the main town centre only a 5min drive.

A few improvements could be made such as fly screens on the"gazebo" windows.You cannot have the windows open at night due to insects so it becomes quiet stuffy.

We had 1 hot afternoon and as previously stated the " gazebo" has big glass windows. In the late afternoon it was like a glass house and the heat was unbearable. There are thin blinds on a few side windows but the 2 big glass sliding doors that face west have no blinds and the heat is just magnified through them.

We really didn't have 1 good nights sleep. The pillows kept falling down the back of bed, and the bed was hard as a rock. We have travelled a lot and normally don't have any trouble sleeping so I'm assuming these things caused that.

The beach house cafe at the end of the street had a bad fire the 2nd night of our stay and was closed so we never got the chance to sample the food there. We are quiet happy to pay good money for good food but sadly we felt Byron Bay left a little to desire. It is a touristy town and caters for that.

We enjoyed our weekend but would probably never return to Byron Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balmainboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonybones, Manager at A Beach House At Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Its sad the Tree House Cafe had a kitchen fire but they assure us it will be back in action with in a month or so, mean time there is now a temporary Cafe. Good news is the Old Belongil Cafe is re opening as the Belongil Bistro May 1st.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in the gazebo for three nights and loved every minute. The photos don't do it justice. It is in an extremely chilled out location, much nicer than the main town. The beach is so close and is gorgeous. The nearby tree house cafe is reasonably priced and if you do want to go to town it is just a 15min stroll along beach. Accomodation itself is lovely. They have thought of everything you could need. Would definitely recommend to those looking for a chilled out short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed at A Beach House at Byron a while ago and loved my accommodation. I stayed in the gazebo which was the most amazing space, right on the water's edge. I relished waking up in the morning with views on to the water and all the river life.

I was there in May, and the room isn't insulated - mostly glass-walled, so you wouldn't want to stay in this room any later than May. The bathroom is downstairs and classes as outdoors, as is a lounge area for the room, so it is somewhat basic and rustic, but fine for warm weather accommodation.

I enjoyed the walk along the beach (or the street) into Byron itself. I also ate breakfast and sometimes dinner at the cafes in Belongil Beach, which were all good.

I will definitely stay there again if/when I'm in Byron.

Generally it was private enough, but if there were a lot of visitors in the other rooms, who would be using the garden next to the gazebo, then it may lose that privacy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Beach House is a cluster of self contained accommodation on a plot off a quiet residential cul-de-sac; a two minute walk from Belongil Beach.  We stayed in the Cottage for four nights; a 2-storey unit with kitchen, living space, bathroom, 2- bedrooms, and a verandah overlooking the creek at the end of the property.  The Cottage has a connecting (lockable) door on to the Wing, so if you're a larger family you could potentially rent both.

We found everything clean and comfortable.  Arranging to collect the keys at the property went without a hitch. The property was safe and secure (though an actual safe might be a good idea in the future), in a quiet neighbourhood, with parking if you need it.

Afternoons on the beach, great cafe at the end of the street, bike hire next door to that, all a 10 minute cycle from the hub bub of Byrons' Bay Street, this was a perfect spot.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GilbertoAndJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here over my birthday weekend and really loved the place. We stayed in the "wing" room. It's attached to the cottage and you can hear some noise from time to time, but it's nothing too intrusive. It had a mini fridge, microwave and toaster which was nice. The place is very quiet, very private and quite clean. You're about a 2 minute walk from the beach and a 15 minute walk up the beach to downtown Byron Bay. Super convenient. The large bath was absolutely awesome! Definitely will stay here again when we're in Byron again. Free wifi worked great and was an added bonus. The Treehouse Cafe down the road is really convenient as well and do great pizzas!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hookshot55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
1.2 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
2.3 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#26 of 34 in Byron Bay
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Beach House At Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beach House At Byron

Address: 12 Giaour St | Belongil, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range: £103 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Beach House At Byron 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beach House At Byron offers quiet, unique and self-contained accommodation in a great location: Belongil beach and cafes are a 2-minute walk from the property. All units are set among lush tropical gardens, featuring cozy décor with high ceilings, hardwood floors, quality furnishings and artwork by local artists. Each unit is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, tea & coffee making facilities. A Beach House At Byron is a 20-minute walk from the heart of Byron Bay. Arakwal National Park is an 8-minute drive from the property and Ballina Byron Airport a 35-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your A Beach House At Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing