We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet friendly guesthouse with lovely view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape View Guesthouse Byron Bay
Ranked #30 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pet friendly guesthouse with lovely view”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Cape View Guesthouse is a lovely family run B&B. John and Deb were very welcoming and offered advice on pet friendly beaches and restaurants in Byron Bay. The accommodation is about a 15 min walk into town, which did not bother us, but is something to keep in mind when booking.

A highlight was the super comfortable bed and the lovely view of the lighthouse from the back.

Room Tip: Both rooms are very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saritatravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The locations is good but rooms are average for the rates they want to charge. At $150/night, you can get a nice hotel room with good furnishings and other facilities. The couple who runs it are nice and warm couple who stays out of the way. We were lucky to not have anyone else stay in the other bedroom, but not sure how it'd be when any stranger is sharing the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Techbuspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Positives:
- HIGHLY accommodating couple who live upstairs, they did not bother us at all. But when we needed something, John & Deb would go out of their way to get it for us. They answered any questions we had, and they went out of their way with everything during our stay. +++ to them!!
- Very clean comfortable rooms, both with en suites/TV/Air conditioning.
- Great location, around a 10 minute walk into the city or to the beach

Neutrals:
- A stove top of some sort would be nice. As the BBQ outside we found difficult to boil water as it didn't reach a high enough tempature.

Negatives:
- None.

Other Information:
We stayed here for Schoolies (for the non-Australians, this is when you finish secondary school/high school and everyone goes into 'party mode') in 2011 and got a great price (would be really steep for other times though) for $300 a night for 4 people utilizing both rooms (therefore not sharing the kitchen/middle area where the dining table is). For the same price you are looking at 4 beds in a 10 bed hostel room. We visited these hostels (as friends of ours were stayed there), and they had no air con + were really run down.

If I was to stay in Byron Bay again, I would not hesitate to stay here once again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoast_Girl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here 2 nights in June during our road trip along the Sunshine Coast. I see there hasn't been a review here for the Cape View Guesthouse in a year so I wanted to ensure I shared our great experience. We got a really great rate as it was the low season - in fact, it was the best rate for our entire weeklong trip from Brisbane to Byron to Noosa to Kingscliff. It's definitely nice to have a car for your stay here as it's not right on the main drag but a few minutes past (closer to the lighthouse than the town centre). It's only a very short walk to the beach. We enjoyed being a bit out of the main town, although it didn't matter much in low season as Byron Bay was pretty sleepy overall. However, in a busier time it would be nice to have some distance from the crowds!

The couple running it are very warm and inviting - they left us a welcome note on our door (the doors to each room face outwards onto a lovely open deck/courtyard with lots of sun and a few lounge chairs to sit on). I liked having an external entrance to our room which were floor to ceiling sliding doors with nice wooden shutters on them that close for privacy. The rooms are basic and simple but very clean and fresh, with lots of windows, wood floors and everything is white in the room - bedding, furniture, etc. It makes it feel very open and spacious and tidy. We had white painted wooden beams along the ceiling which I really liked architecturally in our room, and free wireless internet which was nice.

The common kitchen space is also very beachy and white and clean. The morning breakfast is homemade granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, toast/jam etc, juice, tea or coffee. Katie is very open and friendly, and we felt very comfortable in her home (they live downstairs and really stay out of your way). There is also a small lap pool at the front of the home but it was a bit too cool for us to swim when we were there. She also let us store any purchased groceries in the fridge so they wouldn't spoil (you can't cook there but it's helpful to use the fridge).

The girls that clean the place are travelers and super nice and friendly as well. Overall I would absolutely, thoroughly recommend this B&B. It's not a party place, but rather a nice retreat suited to couples or people looking for a casual/friendly vibe. I don't believe they take bookings with children, which I can understand and totally appreciate. It's not stuffy at all, but elegant and a great beach feel. If I ever return to Byron Bay I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VanBC_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo , Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2010

family owned granny flat at the basement of the house, with nicely decorated and spotless comfortable rooms, with nice garden overlooking lighthouse.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thyal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

lovely little room with nice shower and towels. A shared kitchen and living area with the other room. About a 15 minute walk from town. Breakfast provided (cereal, bread etc). Nice couple running it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icedaddyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2008

A lovely experience staying here. It has just two double bedrooms below the owners quarters with a communal lounge/kitchen area between the two bedrooms. It is within walking distance of the beaches and a good walk to the most Easterly point of Australia. Thoroughly reccommended.

  • Liked — The location and the friendliness of the hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaCinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Longbourn on Massinger Hotel
#24 of 34 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wollongbar Motel
Wollongbar Motel
#21 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Baystay Bed & Breakfast
Baystay Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 34 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Cape Apartments
#43 of 65 in Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape View Guesthouse Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape View Guesthouse Byron Bay

Property: Cape View Guesthouse Byron Bay
Address: 45 Paterson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing