We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campbelltown Colonial Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Campbelltown B&B and Inns
Scone, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location but a bit noisy”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The location of the motel was easy to find. Our room was situated on the second floor and we had another busy road situated behind us. I found the noise from this road loud and rooms at the other end of the complex would be quieter. The cleanliness was fine and the room size good. The lady on check in was also very pleasant. Unfortunately they had a large group of people staying at the motel that night who decided to 'party' until 3am the next morning. Overall I felt the accommodation experience was in between average and very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road behind the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussietribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    17
    17
    6
    10
See reviews for
15
25
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We were travelling by train from Newcastle to Melbourne and required accommodation for the night before a morning departure from Campbelltown Station. The Motel is about 1 klm from the station and getting there by taxi or bus was not a problem. We arrived around 1245 and were able to check-in immediately thanks to the friendly staff. We were initially allocated a room on the first floor but noting my wife's walking problem we were given a ground floor room at the back of the property. This room was away from the main road, which ensured we had a quite nights sleep. The room was large with a queen and single bed and all the usual mode-con's. The shower is over the bath and the toilet is also located in the bathroom. The mornings light breakfast was delivered the night before, by arrangement, and we were able to cook our toast with the toaster provided. They also provide a complementary newspaper with your breakfast. For dinner that night, we dined at the Gold Wheel Chinese Restaurant which is about 100 metre's from the Colonial inside the grounds of the Maclin Motel. The motel was booked on Last Minute.com.

Room Tip: No lift to 1st floor , request ground floor if mobility is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We booked one night en route north and found the motel without difficulty as directions from the Hume Highway were included in the booking sheet. Clean and comfortable, and management recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner just a few minutes walk away. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brightievictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallacoota, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We booked via phone and were given good advice about room access and restaurants in the area as we were arriving after 9 pm. By the time we got our take away food and arrived at the motel it was 9.30 pm. We were still eating our meal when there was a blackout in the motel complex (there were lights in other buildings around the motel).
We could not finish our meal or do the work we needed to do. Needless to say we could not read or watch TV either and our cold room could not be warmed by the air conditioner. We found our way into bed in the dark.
When we checked out the next morning we asked about recompense and were told that the manager would need to make that decision. The receptionist checked that she had the correct phone number for me and said she would refer our request to the manager. 48 hours later we have had no contact and I suspect deeply we will not hear from the manager.
The rooms are large and blessedly quiet and quite clean with comfortable beds. They are however very basic and $119 was expensive for the type of accommodation and location. The modern decor described on the website is an overstatement.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aqob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, Manager at Campbelltown Colonial Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Firstly I must apologise for not contacting you yet, I have been on day's off, and when I returned to work I thought it would be better to contact you on Monday morning so as not to bother you over the weekend.
I agree the power outage was an inconvenience to us all. On the night I went around and informed anyone who was outside that there had been a car accident just 200 metres from the motel, a car had hit a sub power station and caused a complete back out, the car had burst into flames and it was, I understand quite a dangerous situation. I spoke to the technicians attending the incident who informed me they would have it all up and running within the hour, which they did.
This really was a classic example of a situation that was completely out of my control, but I understand your annoyance and regret that I did not have the opportunity to advise you about the incident, because of the late hour I only spoke to people who were outside as I did not want to wake any guests who were sleeping soundly by knocking on doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We recently stopped over for two nights on business. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean and comfortable. There is also a great restaurant just up the road which is fantastic. We had an enjoyable stay and would return if ever in Campbelltown.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaineDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Spent two nights here with the kids. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the shower was terrific and the price just right!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvanKatesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My wife and i went to a 50th birthday party in Campbelltown. The motel from the outside was very presentable and being set back about 40m from the main road was an advantage re noise.
Staff were excellent and courteous. Breakfast very nice.
Our room was clean and reasonably roomy, but very outdated and in need of refurbishment.
The bathroom tiles were dangerously slippery when wet. The plastic washhand basin was an old and cracked affair. The plug was disgusting, very old and unhygienic. Surely a cheap thing to replace.
Check out other motels in the area before you settle on this one.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ross l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, Manager at Campbelltown Colonial Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Sorry you have not had a response earlier, I have only just registered and am now able to respond to your review, albeit a bit late I know, however for the sake of anyone viewing the reviews I would like to mention that most of our rooms have had an excellent upgrade with new bathrooms, beds, carpet etc and we have been enjoying showing them off and accepting all the wonderful feedback we get from our happy guests. It is unfortunate for us that you did not have a positive experience, the bathroom issues you mentioned have been addressed and If you were to come to Campbelltown again and give us another go I think we could offer you a very different experience from the one you described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbelltown
0.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Campbelltown
Ibis Budget Campbelltown
#3 of 3 in Campbelltown
225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
#1 of 3 in Campbelltown
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maclin Lodge Motel
Maclin Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Campbelltown
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Country Comfort Hunts Liverpool
0.7 mi away
Quest Campbelltown Apartment Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Hermitage Motel
The Hermitage Motel
#1 of 1 in Leumeah
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbelltown Colonial Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbelltown Colonial Motor Inn

Property: Campbelltown Colonial Motor Inn
Address: 20 Queen St, Campbelltown, New South Wales 2560, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Campbelltown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Campbelltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbelltown Colonial Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Campbelltown Colonial Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing