We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Basic, no frills, clean and inexpensive with free wifi and foxtel"”
Review of Maclin Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maclin Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Campbelltown
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“"Basic, no frills, clean and inexpensive with free wifi and foxtel"”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed as a large group for several nights. Our family of four stayed in a family room with 2 singles and a double/queen bed. Our room was big enough for the four of us and has a little table with two chairs. The tv is a new flat screen and had a variety of channels including foxtel. The free wifi is an added bonus and is quick allowing multiple devises, huge win for our family there. We ate at the Chinese restaurant which was nice and so easy not having to leave the hotel to have a meal. An added bonus for the kids was a nice little pool with plenty of sitting room for you to watch. A nice clean little court yard with plenty of seating was really nice to sit and relax in. Washing and drying facilities are good. Overall it is a nice inexpensive place to stay, our unit had a new clean bathroom which made the stay more pleasant. I really don't have anything negative to stay, the location is good, rooms are basic and clean, staff are very nice and helpful it was what we were after, somewhere to sleep and shower without having to send a fortune.

Room Tip: We stayed in a downstairs room closer to the road and didn't hear a thing, friends stayed upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bribrendy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    71
    40
    12
    9
See reviews for
68
46
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A very basic motel. A step back to the seventies. Small, cheap and uninspiring. The only thing going for it is it is close to where we want to go and cheap. We are at the back so maybe not renovated????????

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mum3tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were travelling to Albury by train and rather than catch the train in Sydney we decided to commence our journey 1 hour later from Campbelltown. The Maclin Lodge is less than a kilometre from the station and served by bus and taxi's. The taxi fare was less than $10. We requested a ground floor room (room 54) at the back of the property away from the road noise. The room was very quite and large with separate bathroom. The bed provided a comfortable nights rest. There is an on-site Chinese restaurant serving excellent meals at a reasonable price. We selected the morning breakfast that is delivered to your room. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at back should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stay locally in Campbelltown sometimes when I'm on call for the hospital, so I may not be looking for the same qualities as other customers… Mostly I commute daily to Campbelltown from the city.
Staff were polite and friendly and there were no major problems.
The wifi connection was a bit unreliable and kept dropping out.
The bed was comfortable and the room was clean but lighting was fairly dim and dismal.
I was woken at 5am by creaking boards somewhere (not sure from where as I was in a top floor room!) Unfortunately, extra potential sleep time is the main reason for staying in Campbelltown overnight, so it wasn't ideal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

If you don't need to be in Sydney CBD, this is truly value for money place to stay. As others have reviewed, some units have been renovated and others will be done at some stage. We stayed in room 33 (renovated). It was in the block closer to the road but it was very quiet at night.

The lady at the reception (Leslie) was super professional and very friendly.

Shower pressure was awesome! The room was clean. Bed was comfortable (even with a slight bow in the middle) as the bed was not rock solid like some motels use. I would say, medium firmness to soft side.

Only down side was slow wifi. At down point, it stopped loading pages.

Another bonus was having a proper Chinese restaurant in the complex next to the pool.

If we are staying in this area again, we will definitely return!

Thanks Leslie!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank SleepyKoalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have stayed here numerous times and it was getting a little dated however this time I stayed in a renovated room.. Very nice and good value for the money! It was clean, modern bathroom and update room. Close to town but far enough away from the noise! Quick taxi ride to clubs and resturaunts. Was a bit annoyed that cleaning staff knocked on my door 1/2hr before official checkout time to see if I was leaving yet. Would stay here again however I hope I'm not hurried out in the morning next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KOhenoja72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbelltown
1.2 mi away
Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
#1 of 3 in Campbelltown
425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Campbelltown
Ibis Budget Campbelltown
#3 of 3 in Campbelltown
225 reviews
8.1 mi away
Country Comfort Hunts Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
#1 of 1 in Warwick Farm
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quest Campbelltown Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Campbelltown Colonial Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maclin Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maclin Lodge Motel

Property: Maclin Lodge Motel
Address: 38 Queen St, Campbelltown, New South Wales 2560, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Campbelltown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Campbelltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maclin Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maclin Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing