We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Cobar Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cobar Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Cobar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at this motel and went to the restaurant opposite in the Cobar Town and Country Motor Inn which is owned by the same people. Basic rooms but very good value Comfortable bed, TV and bathroom facilities....what more do you need on an overnight stay? Restaurant opposite excellent. More upmarket rooms available at Town and Country if needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Cobar Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thanks for your lovely review. Our motel will soon start its refurbishment program, to lift the facilities to a higher standard and star rating.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time you are traveling through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

This motel (or at least room 12) is run down and is very poor value for money. Reception is been closed and reception facilities have to be accessed at the motel across the road. My room was very tired and dirty with broken and loose electrical outlets, phone connection, but no phone, worn/dirty carpet and sheets on the beds that looked not to have been changed. There was hair, skin, crumbs and other unidentifiable particles littering the sheets of both double and single beds..however, the double was by far the worst. I spent the night sleeping on top of the double bed using two blankets that I had with me on my trip.The bathroom, although relatively clean, had a toilet seat that was not attached to toilet and when I first entered the room, the toilet was making a 'running' noise and there was an odor in the room that hinted strongly that someone had very recently used the room to' obey the call of nature'!

Reception service was at least friendly and when I rang (from my mobile) to complain about the cleanliness of the room, I was apologised to and my account was revised down from $105.00 to $80.00....still not value for money though. If there had been any vacancies anywhere else in town that night I would have fled and not looked back...unfortunately, the God's were not smiling on me this time and I had to be content with the hand I was dealt! Oh....there was a flat screen tv in the room which was the only small comfort to be had...apart from the reverse a/c on the wall. Not happy....not returning!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Cobar Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

We appreciate your time for giving feedback. We understand your confusion regarding our reception area, as the Cobar Town & Country Motor Inn and Cobar Motor Inn are both operated by us, and use one reception and restaurant which are located across the road at the Cobar Town & Country Motor Inn.
We have addressed your feedback about the untidy room with our housekeeping staff and instigated additional review processes to ensure this problem does not occur again.
We have commenced a refurbishment program in our motel rooms, starting at the Cobar Town & Country Motor Inn and Cobar Motor Inn will follow suit, to lift the facilities to a higher standard and star rating.
We hope you will again take the opportunity to stay with us once the refurbishment is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Centrally located, it's always a nice play to stay, rooms not large however they are clean and comfortable and the staff and very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Cobar Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thanks for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Nice, clean, standard room. Spacious, with a table and 2 chairs for our in-room breakfast. Small refrigerator with a small freezer unit, electric kettle, toaster, tea, coffee, and sugar (and biscuits). Hair dryer, too. Quiet wing in back where most of the units are (behind the Shell Station). Great, comfortable queen bed.

We had stopped across the street at the Town and country Motel. It was full but the reception said there were rooms at the Cobar Motor Inn which they rented. No issues with check in.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Cobar Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Many thanks for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This is my third stay at the Cobar Motor Inn. It was once a prestige establishment favoured by business travellers. The motel is now being allowed to run down and currently represents extremely poor value for money. The motel reception has been closed and customers must use the reception facilities at the motel across the road. Reception service was surly and unwelcoming. The rooms are very tired with broken and loose electrical outlets, worn carpets and very tired decor. The bathrooms also desperately need a makeover. We were offered wireless internet but found after booking in that the internet service is available through a third party at charges that represent nothing short of price gouging. To the motel's credit the beds were very comfortable and room cleaners friendly and thorough. However we were charged city prices for what is a very tired and ordinary motel with decor straight from the 1980s. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PadreJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I was not expecting much from the place. It was only a business trip to the branch for one night. The room where I stayed in was clean. The bathroom had a good amount of shampoo, conditioner and soap - these were in dispensers unlike the little round soaps in other hotels which are never enough...
I had a great meal (lamb shanks)...absolutely lovely :-)...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_Aglaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed only one night and having driven from Sydney did not arrive until quite late in the evening. The room was excellent with swecure parking that was a must as we had a load of camping gear on the roof. We went to the restaurant and they could not have been more helpful, despite the fact they must have been closing. We had the best steaks we remeber having in recent times. The service was great, the atmosphere excellent. I will make sure we stay again

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welshmandownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cobar hotels
0.4 mi away
Cobar Copper City Motel
0.1 mi away
Cobar Town and Country Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Cobar Caravan Park
Cobar Caravan Park
#1 of 1 in Cobar
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oasis Motel
Oasis Motel
#2 of 5 in Cobar
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cobar Central Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobar Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobar Motor Inn

Address: 67 Marshall St, Cobar, New South Wales 2835, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Cobar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cobar
Price Range: £53 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cobar Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our reception and restaurant facilities are located across the road at the Cobar Town & Country Motor Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Cobar Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing