We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mini city escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crescent Head Resort & Conference Centre
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We recently had a long weekend at Crescent Head and stayed at the Crescent Head Beach Resort and Conference Centre. Wow, what a find. A true experience of great hospitality. The hosts are welcoming, warm and friendly. Nothing was a problem. They know where to go and what to do in Crescent and are very accommodating. The resort is family friendly, surrounds all you could ask for. The resort is a perfect piece of paradise and a well kept secret on the mid north coast. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairfax123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

We went to Crescent Head for a little mini family break and stayed at the Wombat Beach Resort on the recommendation of friends. I had never been to Crescent before and am in love with this little piece of heaven.

The Wombat was the perfect place to stay, lovely owners (they are new owners having taken over recently) who were very welcoming, had great recommendations and nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean, with all the little amenities you would expect. The kids spent a lot of time in the pool and spa. There is also a kiddies playground as well as bbq area which we will use next time. The property is well maintained.

The resort is in a great location, we found it quiet and peaceful. It's an easy, flat walk to the beach and shops. The local beach is spectacular, beautiful sand, great for kids, and long walks.

The little village shops have everything you need, especially a fantastic bakery! We had a tasty meal at the local club, as well as a great Thai takeaway. There is also a butcher which is said to be good.

We will definitely be back to the Womat Beach Resort for more great family holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bidandharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The Wombat has recently been taken over by new owners. I cant comment on how it was before, but we were really happy with our stay there last week - didnt want to leave!!!

Location is amazing.. very close to a BEAUTIFUL beach. Completely fell in love with the area and I can understand why people go back each year.

Breakfast is cooked by one of the owners. Eggs, bacon etc as you would expect. Very tasty.

Overall Id say the room decor could be updated, it was very clean and tidy though. Decor isnt really my thing, so didnt bother me!

Loved the Womant and will definitely visit again, hopefully this summer!

Room Tip: If you have kids ask for the rooms near the play equipment. The kids will love you for it and can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Affordable and very clean. If you pay for an upgrade you can have a room with air. Nice salt water pool and well kept gardens. Short walk to beaches and the kids loved the sauna and spa.I read the other reviews before I booked and think that the senior lady has it totally wrong. We are a family of 5 and we were all happy! Daily room cleaning and delivered breakfast....... a real holiday for a mother of 3!!!

Room Tip: Air conditioning wasn't needed when you have a sea breeze and ceiling fan.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank KittyBondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

after reading glowing reports in the seniors magazine decided to book into this resort.
absolutely terrible.mid summer.no airconditioning.shabby rooms and furnishings.restaurant closed.never again adn we have had told others not to go.

Room Tip: stay at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a pleasant setting. Room was beautifull and large, where one could spread out. Room fitted with small meal preparing area with microwave, toaster and large fridge. Only downside was the room had no aircon, just ceiling fan, which with the high ceilings did not do much. Suggest the front door be fitted with lockable flywire door, so that the afternoon cool breeze passes through the room and that retractable blinds be fitted to top ceiling windows, which face east and lighten the room far to early when one is on holidays. This would made a large difference to the temp.
Room was spotless and well stocked.

Room Tip: I think for an extra $30.00 you can get aircon?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marlie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here over the xmas break with my 2 kids. Food, Service and general ambience of the place was great. Pool and playground for the kids, short stroll to the gorgeous Crescent Head Beach and a cheap dinner and disco at the local club. We had a great family holiday at the Wombat ....excellent and accommodating staff. Highly recommend !!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent Head
17 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Motel
Mediterranean Motel
#1 of 1 in Crescent Head
42 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kempsey Powerhouse Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sun Worship Crescent Head
Sun Worship Crescent Head
#7 of 7 in Crescent Head
13 reviews
17 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,732 reviews
17 mi away
ibis Styles Port Macquarie
ibis Styles Port Macquarie
#13 of 42 in Port Macquarie
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Head Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Head Resort & Conference Centre

Address: 30 - 34 Pacific St, Crescent Head, New South Wales 2440, Australia (Formerly Wombat Beach Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Crescent Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crescent Head
Price Range: £60 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crescent Head Resort & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Crescent Head Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing