We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfaris Surf Camp Lodge
Reviewed 20 June 2013

As part of the surfaris trip or simply as accommodation- I loved every minute of staying at the camp! Healthy delicious food, lovely crew and guests, cozy atmosphere and last but not least great surf.
To me Crescent Head and the surrounding National Parks are probably the one of the most beautiful and preserved areas of Australia's eastcoast.
For those having a passion for nature, those who are chasing waves or those who just want escape the hectic city life, surfaris is the perfect spot to stay! I've come here travelling with friends and by myself and everytime I was warmly welcomed and met fabulous people. Come and check it out and I'm sure you'll love it just as much as I do :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

I did a 5 day surf camp and found the instruction and complex well run.
This is a real surf camp. Was up every morning around 6 am for breakfast, out for the whole day on the beach. Learning how to read waves and being supported in learning to surf.
Great food, really healthy. You get your moneys worth, and lots of surf time with instruction that is dedicated. In house bar, pool table, wifi, volley ball, beach across the road, the camp is very comfortable. You can stay in dorms or have a private motel room, i had a private room very nice.
If you want to learn or need some help in your surf style i would highly reccomend Surfaris.
I have been to a couple of surf camps and this is my pick!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrie S, Owner at Surfaris Surf Camp Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Hi thank you for your support and super stoked you enjoyed yourself.
Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Did a week on Surfaris surf camp, had basic skills before arriving, guides really professional and helpful. Dedicated, lots of hours of surfing and many locations we went to. Food of high standard, lots of accomdation options pending on your budget, from clean and basic dorm rooms to motel rooms really comfortable. Bar in house, lots of hammocks to hang in after a big day surfing, food buffett style all really healthy. My skills really developed, would reccomend to those who want to develop surf skills this is place to come, not a party camp, yoga in the mornings great way to start day. Give it a go you wont regret it.

Room Tip: Motel room upgrade is perfect Dorm rooms have only 4 people in room no mixed gender
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chellrose t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

It was such a great experience staying here. Accomodation is very basic (I stayed in a dorm - I think motel rooms are available though) - quite an earthy "rustic" feel. But it was nice because everything about this place is so relaxed, chilled and friendly. Great food! Great people! Great surf lessons! One of my favourite places I stayed in Australia! Definitely recommend a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahlouisedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

stayed here one night as part of a tour group! had a combined surfing lesson through them too. Basic rooms, doorsw unlocked so be wary of your belongings being locked in bags. Simple bathroom, showers. Outdoor hut for cooking and eating was nice, felt like hippy commune but nice to get back to basics and experience a more simple way of life. Hammocks, pool and lovely forest gardens make you feel relaxed. Owners were lovely and did yoga in garden with lady owner in morning. theres small bar in main lounge area and some instrucments for jam session if you want! just very basic chilled place to stay if your passing!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelakittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed in Bush 'n' Beach and didn't want to leave! The property itself is in beautiful, scenic surroundings, with clean and spacious dorms. Myself and my friend spent our time here surfing on the gorgeous beaches and at night enjoyed healthy home cooked meals over an open fire or lazing on the verandahs chilling out with friends . The staff were really friendly and welcoming and by the end of our holiday we really didn't want to go home! I highly recommend this hidden gem and will definitely be returning at some stage. Made some really good friends here and will not forget my time spent in Crescent Head. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhandfagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed in a six man room. It served its purpose but we could have done with more room for our bags and kit. We had just a desk for personal belongings. As you would only stay here if you are on the surfing camp, I was surprised that there wasn’t any towels waiting on our beds and we weren’t offered any. The dining experience is good and all diets catered for. Very relaxing area to be in with yoga offered first thing in the morning. And a pool, although salt water, to retire to or hammocks nearby if it takes your fancy.

Room Tip: All rooms are basic, no on suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tk0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crescent Head hotels
2.2 mi away
Mediterranean Motel
Mediterranean Motel
#1 of 1 in Crescent Head
43 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crescent Head Resort & Conference Centre
2.1 mi away
Sun Worship Crescent Head
Sun Worship Crescent Head
#7 of 7 in Crescent Head
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfaris Surf Camp Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfaris Surf Camp Lodge

Address: 271 Loftus Rd, Crescent Head, New South Wales 2440, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Crescent Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Crescent Head
Price Range: £17 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated across from the beach, 3kms from the township of Crescent Head.Surfaris surf camp offers weekly packages to learn and develop surf skills. Includes accommodation, transport from Sydney or Byron, all meals and surf gear and lessons. Surfaris is the first and original surf camp in Australia pioneering in remote surfing. Established now for over 20 years. If you just need accommodation this is a place to stay. Offering camping, backpacker accommodation to motel rooms (3.5 Star rating)In house meals on offer or make your own in the public kitchen, bar, internet, pool table, volley ball, swimming pool. Situated on 15 acres of bushland with roaming kangaroos and cuddly koalas popping in!!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing