We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money and excellent, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Ridge Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Ridge Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value for money and excellent, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have now stayed here a few times and am increasingly impressed. Excellent middle of the range motel with good, reasonably priced restaurant on site. Staff are friendly and efficient. Very welcoming. Thank you Moshe and staff. Toaster, crockery and cutlery supplied as well as kettle. Ongoing maintenance and upgrading means it is fresh.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in have been good, each with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennywren45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    65
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
67
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Hartley
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here many times when it was the Anchor Inn. Not only a name change but apparently a change of owners - this little gem is having a makeover and what was always a great place to stay is now near perfection. Friendly and stylish - recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Friendly staff, clean and modern room. Great restaurant on site, which was reasonably priced. Close to everything. Nice view of the hillside out balcony window.Had a great stay. Only bad thing was the parking was a bit awkward.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danimck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Called a resort,but only glimpses of water from rooms.Nice terrace if you visit in summer.Parking your car very awkward.
Our upgraded rooms were very nice and huge but no good for wifi reception.
Most food places were closed when we went out to eat.Motel restaurant did offer a tempting discount though.
I did like the little library though and the paintings on the walls were very interesting.

Room Tip: Better view from a South facing room Ask about car parking before you arrive Only wifi reception i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 557jill557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerringong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Money seems to have been spent on the foyer area and not the rooms. Run down, bathrooms terrible. had a visit from a cockroach hiding behind the aircon. Fridge in room not cold so difficult to store food. Friendly staff, unfortunate for the general feel of the place. No better than a cheap motel. Good location, near shoping district

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donotayhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosh2014, Manager at Park Ridge Retreat, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
In response to your review, we are sorry the room you selected did not meet your expectations. The room you chose when you booked online is identified as a standard disabled room with a 3.5 star rating.
We have only two rooms out of thirty with this rating and both rooms are currently undergoing total refurbishment.
As far as the visit from the flying cockroach, unfortunately with that room being located on the ground level opposite our garden this is something that is difficult to avoid as the external doors to these disabled access rooms, open out and are not possible to screen, when left open.
When you expressed your dissatisfaction, we offered you a complementary upgrade, which you declined.
Once again our apologies, and we hope to host you In the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 914 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on the way down the coast.

I can't comment much on the amenities, as I basically got there, had a drink, slept the whole night and checked out again.

Receptionist was very friendly, room was nice and quiet, the restaurant seemed very nice and was quite busy, but I can't comment on the food.

The location is very pretty and elevated on a plateau/hill.

Definitely nothing to complain about and would recommend the place !

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Isselerhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed here 3 years ago when it was the Anchor Inn, which was terrible. But now it is under new management it seems to have improved a great deal. I didn't stay on the ground floor this time so I can't compare, I had a King room on the top floor. The bed was large and fairly comfortable, the room in general was clean and comfortable and the balcony was nice. Free parking and free wi-fi is always a nice bonus. My only real complaint is the water pressure in the shower was pretty poor.
The location is very good, walking distance to everything in Gerringong. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yamharas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerringong
0.9 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
22.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
7.8 mi away
Berry Village Boutique Motel
5.3 mi away
Kiama Cove Motel
Kiama Cove Motel
#2 of 3 in Kiama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Ridge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Ridge Retreat

Property: Park Ridge Retreat
Address: 139 Belinda St, Gerringong, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2534, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Gerringong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Ridge Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Ridge Retreat is quietly elevated on a headland, nestled amid picturesque rolling hills, pristine beaches, and historic sea pools. It a place you would like to visit again and again... We offer our guests a relaxed and quiet stay in the semi-rural village of Gerringong. Amidst our own tropical gardens we greet you with, a smile, spacious rooms, and wide corridors adorned with original art. We are adjacent to the town centre, supermarket, shops, cafes and restaurants. A short stroll takes you to Cemetery Outlook, Boat Harbour and Werri Beach. Our retreat comprising of three floors, has underground car parking. We offer 30 rooms with free Wi-Fi and air conditioning, catering for a variety of sleeping arrangements and price options. While all rooms are non-smoking, ninety per cent have balconies to take in the views and enjoy room service breakfast. In the evening our licenced restaurant offers Contemporary Australian Cuisine in candlelit ambience overlooking our tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Ridge Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing