We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very nice location 2 hours south of Sydney Airport. Ideal for our 2 day work conference. Short walk to the beach. Motel style room was very nice and clean, with microwave, toaster, kettle and hair dryer.. Free In-house movies (at scheduled times).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie S, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Resort Gerringong. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team.

Warm regards

Kellie Stapleton
General Manager
Mercure Resort Gerringong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is my second visit to the hotel and all worked out well. It is in a lovely part of NSW and a short drive from the beach and the little town of Gerringong.

Many hotels don't allow children into the room and often expect families to pay for an extra room, but the one we had included a pull out sofa bed so both kids could stay with us.

The pool area is great, parking is easy but just one small thing that needs to be sorted is the coffee machine at breakfast, but apart from that we enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotdog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie S, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences, I will share your feedback with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Kellie Stapleton
General Manager
Mercure Resort Gerringong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

A big thank you to all the staff who helped make our wedding on 19 April absolutely wonderful. Everything was taken care if so professionally that we had nothing to worry about and the food was excellent. Thanks guys and see you for our 1st wedding anniversary.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie S, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you so much for allowing us to be part of your special, our team also had a wonderful day.

We look forward to welcoming you both back on your 1st Wedding anniversary.

Warm regards

Kellie Stapleton
General Manager
Mercure Resort Gerringong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is my second visit to this hotel and again it hasn't disappointed. I'm a Platinum Accor member and received an upgrade to a suite which is a very nice room with a spa bath and plenty of room. Reception staff and those in the restaurant are more than welcoming and are as good as any in the Accor group. The restaurant is also of a high standard and would rate amongst the best that I have visited at Accor hotels. if your after a relaxing break from Sydney for a few days this place is as good as any.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie S, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Resort Gerringong.

I will share your comments with our team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Kellie Stapleton
General Manager
Mercure Resort Gerringong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights based on a Timeout magazine article that strongly recommended it. Was a little disappointed how far away from the sea the hotel was given its name!

We were given a friendly greeting upon check-in, and although our room was not yet ready, we were given a complimentary drink in the restaurant while we waited which was nice.

The room was nice, clearly an old hotel that has had a modern revamp. TV has 2 free movie channels which was nice, and big rainfall shower-head.

We dined at the hotel restaurant one night which was a little pricey, but very tasty modern Australian food.

On the second night in the room, we found SEVERAL cockroaches in our bathroom. We called up reception around 11pm to notify them, but we were only able to leave a voice message - which was not followed up on the next day. The following morning we, again, called up and notified them. We were then dropped off a can of bug spray. There was no apology for our discomfort, we were just delivered the spray and had to fend for ourselves. Using the bug spray meant that there were such strong fumes that we couldn't use the bathroom for the next hour or two.

I had a massage at the gorgeous Bella day spa which was really amazing, I strongly recommend getting a treatment here.

Upon checkout, we kindly notified the hotel (a third time) about the cockroaches, The lady said "thankyou for letting us know". But at NO time did anyone apologise to us, offer to sort the situation out OR offer any compensation or money back.

Dont get me wrong. On the whole, the hotel was quite nice, and had the staff reacted differently to our cockroach situation, I would have rated them 4 or 5 out of 5, But the staff reaction we got really let us and them down, Wont stay here again....but might pop in for a massage

Room Tip: We got a room with a balcony, which we didnt use due to cool weather and average view. Don't pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie S, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

I am so sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the cockroach problems and our teams support to prevent future occurrences.

We really appreciate you sharing your concerns.

Yours sincerely,

Kellie Stapleton
General Manager
Mercure Resort Gerringong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank travellerGosford
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kellie S, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had one night at the Mercure in Gerringong which was far too short, our stay was lovely and peaceful. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant and the service was fantastic. All in all a wonderful place and a place that we will be returning to again for a longer stay next time.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sarsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie S, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Warm regards,

Kellie Stapleton
General Manager
Mercure Resort Gerringong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerringong
4.9 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
22.6 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
16.1 mi away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 8 in Nowra
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
161 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kiama Cove Motel
Kiama Cove Motel
#3 of 3 in Kiama
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gerringong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gerringong Resort

Address: 1 Fern St, Gerringong, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2534, Australia (Formerly Bellachara Boutique Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Gerringong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Price Range: £79 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gerringong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Gerringong, only 2 hours south of Sydney on the NSW south coast & 5 minutes from the beach. With 52 king rooms, an award winning restaurant, an indulgent day spa, 2 swimming pools, tennis court, a sun drenched garden courtyard & a kids play area... for holidays, events, conferences & weddings. Created to offer guests a personal experience... with views overlooking the hinterland, across protected wetlands & back to the sea. Enjoy the local charm of Gerringong, the Illawarra & the Shoalhaven where you’ll find golf, boutique wineries, scenic attractions, coastal walks, rainforests, recreation theme parks, kids attractions, fantastic shopping in many boutiques & the weekend markets…..so much to see & do ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gerringong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Gerringong By The Sea Hotel Gerringong
Bellachara Boutique Gerringong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing