We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Street Boutique Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed here for a night recently, we asked for a spare bed and paid an extra fee for the bed. The manager brought the linen & mattress to our room & told us to make the bed ourself. The bed wasn't required & she offered to refund the money for the extra fee we paid. I asked that she put it straight back onto my credit card & she told me that she would refund the following week. I have made two phone calls, to be told she was too busy to discuss & the 2nd call wasn't answered & I left a message which surprise surprise wasn't answered.
On the night we stayed there was a big group in, we were asked by the manager to be conscious of them in the common area if we came in late, which we were, but at 6am the manager was up cooking them breakfast & the noise was unbelievable, no one could sleep through that (from the manager also), regardless of the quality of the room, the service was disgusting. We will never stay there again, nor would I recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away and have a quiet weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve and Ruth P, Owner at King Street Boutique Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi Alison, Thank you for taking time to review the property. I understand that your experience was not as enjoyable as it should have been and I can only apologize but not on behalf of the previous management and owners.
My wife Ruth and I purchased the property in March 2013 and we were upset that you did not enjoy the stay. Since we have taken over we have made many positive changes to the facilities. We live on site as owner/managers have installed a saltwater pool a spa and outside covered entertainment area with BBQ. we are still upgrading the facilities with more improvements to follow. The décor has been upgraded as have the room facilities which is proving to be a great hit with our current guests. We can only hope that you may call in and say Hi and have a look at the new upgrades so you do not judge us by the previous management
Regards
Steve and Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for King Street Boutique Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

We just had a weekend in this motel/b&b. It was clean and comfortable but a massive downfall was there was a big group in as well which were up at 545 in the morning getting breakfast cooked for them. It was soooo noisy nobody in the place could ever expect to have gotten a sleep in,very disappointing had we have know this would happen we would never had stayed there and will never again for to this major issue

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizardclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Owner at King Street Boutique Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at King Street Motel, We very much appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

We were most concerned to hear of your comments in relation to the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations.

The large group in question were Rural fire service and SES personal many of which were volunteers who were fighting the many bush fires that were prevalent in the Gloucester region during that particular two week period. Due to their early starts and long hours cooked breakfasts were served at the unusual time of 6am. King Street Motel fully supports our hardworking service personal who had the arduous task of protecting our beautiful bush land and our community. King Street Motel apologizes that this may have caused an inconvenience to yourselves.

Traveler, I would like to have the opportunity to discuss with you directly your concerns in a bid to redeem ourselves to you. This is not indicative of our service and our product offering. I can be contacted on 02 65589020

Whilst I cannot turn back the clock on your experience, we certainly value your patronage and hope to hear from you soon so that we may have the opportunity to provide the service and standard in which we pride ourselves and one would expect from King Street Motel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had the family room for an overnight stay in Gloucester. It was extremely centrally located and we all walked into town for a meal and a wander around during the day. The room was very clean and tidy. The house facilities ie: the common room area are very tasteful and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melovetotrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Well kept accommodation with nicely renovated room and bathroom. Owner Chris was friendly and accommodating. Plenty of parking. Close to centre of Gloucester. The central common area might be noisy to rooms though if people using late or early but the room doors are quite solid to help keep the noise to a minimum. I booked through Bookings.com for $115 + $5 internet access although internet was free wifi anyway so didn't really need to add this as an option.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Everything is top quality at this unique motel. What a surprise - from the outside it's a tastefully renovated country homestead - inside it's the most modern quality motel with great facilities and a high standard of fittings. The owner/managers are very friendly and helpful, with lots of local knowledge, and they make super breakfasts too! Common areas are well-equipped and inviting - great for a family to get together.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies but all are extremely light and modern with beautiful bathrooms and very e...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.4 mi away
Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
0.3 mi away
Bucketts Way Motel
Bucketts Way Motel
#1 of 1 in Gloucester
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Great Escape Lofts
The Great Escape Lofts
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Barrington Hideaway
Barrington Hideaway
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
46 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gloucester on Avon Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Street Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Street Boutique Motel

Address: 52 King St, Gloucester, New South Wales 2422, Australia (Formerly King Street Accommodation)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range: £78 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Street Boutique Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Street Boutique Motel is a modern colonial style property situated a short walk from the heart of Gloucester's bustling CBD, vibrant cafe culture, shops, parks and clubs. We have Nine charming spacious air conditioned rooms, complete with their own en-suites, TV's, queen sized bed, minibar fridge, Free WiFi and tea/coffee making facilities. Three of our rooms have balcony's that overlook the beautiful mountains- The Bucketts. We provide complimentary specialty teas and a Pod coffee making machine. Our accommodation enjoys the best location for discovering Gloucester and the surrounding areas! We've taken the extra step to ensure that you can relax and unwind in modern comfort and style. BBQ facility, and guest laundry and in 40 minutes you can be at the start of the world heritage Barrington Tops National Park or horse riding in one of our beautiful rain forests. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included in the Tariff as is bottled water for all our guests. Group bookings welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your King Street Boutique Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing