We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep fried food with average service”

The Austrian Schnitzelhaus
Ranked #33 of 131 Restaurants in Gosford
Price range: US$13 - US$47
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Freshly prepared, homestyle cooked meals. We have a range of schnitzel to choose from as well as some more traditional Austrian/German style traditional dishes.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deep fried food with average service”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Majority of the menu had a deep fried component, I couldn't seem to find a healthy option on the menu. My husband accidentally knock a glass off the table and the staff were really rude about it and made us feel that we needed to pay for the glass.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fine_diner75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    38
    21
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

I really enjoy this restaurant every time I go, the service is good, I don't wait long and the staff are very friendly. It's a good family restaurant and I do recommend it if you want a casual atmosphere, if your looking for a romantic atmosphere then don't go to this place, as it is for families in a friendly environment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rabbitohs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go there.”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The meat was ok but the breadcrumbs coating was stodgy. It looked unappealing. Very, expensive too. The staff were shabbily dressed.and unkempt..
Didn't go for the ambience either

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozzie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Expense and Staff Don't give a dam”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Husband and I had lunch with his Aunt and Uncle. Although it was quiet 3 people walked past before we were seated. Ordered drinks said they would be back for meal order. No drinks so went to bar and gave them our order and asked about drinks. When food eventually arrived my husband bit into a sausage onhis sausage platter and broke his tooth. Showed the waitress that the sausage had a hard piece in it. She said we don't make the sausage. The other meals were very ordinary. Asked for our Bill 3 times in the end after 45 minutes got up and said we were leaving. Then a man ran from the back and gave us the BIll which was $160-00 for 4 people. And we also had a Denitist bill Of $300-00. Meals just too over priced. Wine very expensive and staff who just dont give a dam

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slow service & pricey food!”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We waited over an hour for our meals to be brought out & waited almost as long for our drinks. Food was nice but was overpriced for what it was. There were a few gluten free schnitzel options which was good to see but they weren't identified as being gluten free on the menu so you need to ask what gluten free options they have. Overall we thought it was ok, won't be rushing back in a hurry though!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisab89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Austrian Schnitzelhaus also viewed

Gosford, New South Wales
Gosford, New South Wales
 
Gosford, New South Wales
 

Been to The Austrian Schnitzelhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing