We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Not So Good”
Review of Monti's Ashore

Monti's Ashore
Ranked #78 of 131 Restaurants in Gosford
Restaurant details
Gosford, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good and Not So Good”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First of all the good. The quality of the food and the way it has been cooked cannot be faulted. It is essentially a takeaway shop so is a go to on beautiful sunny days with the eye catching Gosford Waterfront a short walk away.
Now the bad. When last I went it was still CASH ONLY with NO ATM within WALKING DISTANCE. The prices are a little higher than your average takeaway (but the food is better than average). Last but not least, the waiting time! Be prepared to wait and wait and wait. If it's a busy day you can wait anywhere up to 45-60 mins to place and receive your order as we did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunSandnSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    48
    38
    17
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Monti's Ashore YES YES YES!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

May 15. 2014 We had read reviews re Mont's ! Good Bad and Ugly, we gave it ago what a surprise. We ordered fish , chips potato scallops and calamari. We sat in the park near the swimming pool, our purchase was SHOEPERB,(Ha haa) DELIGHTFUL the fish was moist nice and flaky, chip golden brown and crunchy the calamari unreal NO ELASTIC bands and the potato scallops great. I would recommend Monti's if you are in the area. It was lovely sitting in the sun by the water. We will be back to vist Monti's Ashore. Make sure you give it ago you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Mouth Watering mullet”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have recently (various times during October 2013 to April 2014 eaten at Montis both solo / with mates for lunch and with my family for dinner.
On each occasion the food has been cooked to perfection, our selection has included large and small fish pieces, scallops, calamari , seafood sticks and chips.
Although it initially seems a little expensive , the overall result has been a fine selection of well cooked seafood that the whole family has enjoyed. So long as the prices remain static this is a good place to eat.
There are seats and a park nearby to the store as well as seats just outside the door, or if you cross the road you can sit in the park along the waterfront.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Terrible Terrible”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is the worst fish and chip shop I have ever been to. And I have been to a lot.
The fish and chips were clearly frozen for months and even tasted stale after being "fried". The chips were fried in old oil and so tasted awful - and they weren't cooked for long enough so many were still cold and uncooked.
The service was also awful. The people behind the counter looked like they wished they were anywhere but there.
Looks great from the outside, but would never recommend any food that comes from the inside!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BecLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An old favourite no more”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Over the years I have been to this place several times and it never disappoints. But today, coming back after 3 years' of absence, not only was I disappointed with the food but the customer service was dismal too. The fish and chips were poorly cooked and saturated in oil - I know it is deep fried but these were dripping in oil!! The service lacked lustre with no smiles, thank-yous or an EFTPOS machine! I won't be back for a very long time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monti's Ashore also viewed

Gosford, New South Wales
Gosford, New South Wales
 
Gosford, New South Wales
Gosford, New South Wales
 

Been to Monti's Ashore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing