We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review for oceonside by family of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week 11/3/12. We had a groupon voucher to stay in a 2br hotel room sleeping up to 5. We stayed with our 3 children aged from 2-13yrs.
The resort offers a family pool within metres of the hotel rooms. The pool has a family pool, baby pool and spa all within the same space which was great for us as all our chn were able to swim and enjoy the facilities without being separated like some other resorts we have stayed at. the slide was enjoyed by my older children. The spa was their highlight as their was no age restrictions like other hotels with this. The chn were able to relax in the spa with us including our toddler. The pool was very clean and the seating around the pool offered a space to relax.
The rooms were very clean and the space was sufficient for a family of 5. The beds were comfortable and the linen was clean and fresh. We were given champagne on arrival which was nice.
The staff were all lovely greeting us with smiles and offering assistance where possible.
We were disapointed when we had to cut our holiday short by one night due to a family emergency however the hotel manager was very helpful offering us a service to leave our key outside reception hours.
I do not understand all the bad reviews for this holtel as I found it to be 5/5.
Hawks nest itself is a nice town to relax. Yes it doesnt have the latest cinema or arcade games room but thats not what we went for. The beach was within 70 metres of the hotel which we walked to a few times. there is also a very clean park across the road from the hotel which offered the children a few hours of enjoyment. There is a beach 5 minutes drive away which if you sit on the sand for a while (we only wiated about 10minutes) you will see dolphins swim by.
We look forward to staying at oceonside again very soon!

Room Tip: The higher rooms offer a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights using a discount coupon. Worked out at $115 per night with breakfast. Which is about right for this hotel. Location is great just near the beach. The resturant down stairs is very good with great service and good food.
The hotel itself is quite old and could use an upgrade However it was clean considering its age.
All in all if you are expecting the Hilton you will be dissapointed, but if you are looking for a little beach side hotel that was built in the 70's you want be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tys63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

DO NOT TRUST THIS MOTEL and DO NOT BUY VOUCHER FOR THIS MOTEL!!
Bought deal from scoopon for 2 nights.
Been trying to book stay for the last 7 months. Each time told that there are no rooms available till the expiration date of voucher. (with a big sigh.. from receptionist who unwillingly took down my details at my request in case there are cancellations).

Either this motel is cheating the customers by double overbooking (which is easily done by selling twice the vouchers available, as the voucher price is only around 30-40% off) or they are just taking your voucher money and saving the rooms for the walk-ins.

I have never encountered this for other voucher deals! BEWARE!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awaylanderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights through an approach by Sunseeker Holidays. Never again.
The first night the TV volume was loud and could not be changed. We were told the next day that ours was the last to be replaced by a new TV which was done. However on the second night part of the complex had a power failure which included our room, 4:45pm to 8:45pm. Candles were given to some clients who asked and also boiling a jug but we had 4 hours where we could only sit in the dark and there was no apology and no mention the following day.
We had stayed here previously when it was managed by Manchester Unity, but it has deteriorated considerably since then.
The Unit we were in was very small and obviously set aside for these discounted packages. (Signage within the Unit indicated this)
We could not recommend Oceanside to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank goondari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

dont waste your time or money service extremely poor rooms dirty with cockroaches

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Hotel was ok clean rooms. Only real problem was hard to find a restaurant open on a Sunday night and a hour ferry ride to Nelson's bay. But the spa was great

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank step51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We recently stayed in the Providence Apartments which are in the same complex as Oceanside and you have access to the pool.The pool did get crowded at times. I assume the apartments are privately owned as we booked ours through Tea Gardens Real Estate.Unlike other agents we were able to book for 5 nights in January. We stayed in unit 405 which had a very well equipped kitchen and was nicely decorated. The property is well located and only a short walk to the man surfing beach. Hawks Nest is a very undeveloped coastal town so if you are looking for a quiet peaceful place it is perfect. We would have tried the restaurant at Oceanside but it was closed on Sunday night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Chrise98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawks Nest
1.8 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
213 reviews
3.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
280 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
110 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel

Address: Corner of Booner & Bennet Streets, Hawks Nest, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Hawks Nest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Price Range: £66 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hawks Nest Hotel Hawks Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing