We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Place In The World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Went back to Oceanside for another great family holiday over Xmas. Staff were very pleasant and remembered us from last year. We have always been made welcome at reception. For a family this is a great option if you like affordable holidays on the beach. Hawks Nest is a quiet destination two and a half hours from Sydney. The beach is amazing and it's only a 2 minute walk from motel. There is a kids park across the road from Oceanside and a water-slide in the motel pool. The rooms have new carpet since we were there last holiday and fresh white venetian blinds. When we entered the room it smelt clean and was perfect for our family, kids run to claim their bunk bed and get ready for the pool. Our room overlooked the pool and was light and sunny. We were very happy with its presentation. The cleaning staff were lovely and didn't mind the kids making their usual holiday mess. If you don't like the deodoriser open the window? My children beg us to go back each year!!

Room Tip: We like the room overlooking the pool. It has bunk beds in 2nd bedroom, combined lounge, dining area...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

I thought the tariff was very reasonable for the Christmas season, it is a short walk to the beach, and has the Bench Mark restaurant below the premises for meals. Only about 1/2 km to shops. There are numerous walks to do in the area, fishing, hire kayaks, catch the ferry to Nelson Bay and look out for dolphins (yes, I did see them on the return trip on the bow - very exciting!) or just laze on the beach. There is a pool and spa in the hotel but I didn't use either as there were always numerous children there. There is a BBQ for use and you just borrow the tongs from reception. I found the room clean (had a smell til we aired it) the staff were all very friendly,pleasant and helpful. The rooms vary, we had one with a sink, small fridge and micro wave which meant that breakfast and lunch was easy. There are rooms with one or 2 bedrooms which then have a full fridge. The rooms on the south have a small balcony which faces south and overlooks the car park. our room was 108 which overlooked the pool (so noise when in use btw 8:30am - 8:00pm) but we also got the restaurant noise which was not good as the hydrolics of the back screen door was not working and so there was the constant banging of the door - and it was constant..., but after a few days I did get use to the pool and door noise. The Bathroom was small and 2 feet from the bed, there was no hanging space for beach wear and towels. Oceanside is well worth considering for a visit; it it was it is for the star rating. For the price, location and cleaniness the rating is accurate.

Room Tip: The front rooms have useful sized balconies, the south side are more like 'Juliet' balconies...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa_Sydney1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I would totally recommend to anyone thinking of having there wedding at Oceanside hawks nest to go for it I did and all of my guests said best wedding ever, the accommodation and food was affordable and staff were great too. With beautiful surroundings a great atmosphere, the motel is really for young and old. we had a great time and photos on the beach

Room Tip: any we booked out most of the motel and all rooms were clean and accomodating.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This motel is rated 3½ stars but our room (107) was 3 stars but you get what you pay for & we got a good on-site deal for a midweek stay of 4 nights, so can’t complain too much.

Location is the drawcard, plus the great restaurant downstairs. Hawks Nest is a sleepy, quiet place & that suited us. We had no problem filling in our time.

Room 107 was small but adequate. It was mostly clean, except for the bathroom floor which obviously hadn’t been swept properly & needed a good scrub.

Some reviewers found our room noisy but we found that the pool noise & the outside air-con noise ceased in the evening. Certainly there was noise from the pool during the day but this is only to be expected. The restaurant kitchen was nearby & this did create noise but didn’t go too late (stopped about 10pm) or start too early. Although I must stress that we did not stay on a weekend which could well be noisier than mid-week.

There was a well equipped kitchenette with a microwave (no stove) & a medium-sized fridge which worked well.

The bathroom was tiny & whilst this didn’t bother us, I found the variation of the shower water temperature a bit of a trial. Hairdryer & toiletries were supplied.

Bed was comfy & pillows seemed soft (we used our own). There were bedside tables, lamps & a radio alarm clock plus a good wall mirror & luggage rack.

There was an ironing board & iron supplied & a coin-operated laundry downstairs.

TV had only the main free-to-air TV channels; plus Foxtel Sports, Discovery, cartoon & music channels but no movies. There was a DVD player. WIFI available for a fee, although it is available, free of charge, in the Benchmark Restaurant downstairs.

The room had good air-con, plus ceiling fans in both living room & bedroom.

There was no telephone.

Off-street parking was available.

There was a sign in room 107 which stated that the room would only be serviced after 3 days for certain customers (including on-line deals). We stayed for 4 nights but our room was not serviced at any time, & not because our room was occupied as we were out & about every day of our stay.

The older section of the motel is certainly looking rather tired & the ground floor courtyard badly needs a freshening up. The newer section, Providence, has two bedrooms only.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mdeg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I drove 3 hours to this area because of this "deals voucher" whereby I booked 2 room motel room for $180 - received a confirmation of booking that everything is ok- once I went to check out they want $90 surcharge for Friday and Saturday- if that was the case why didnt you put that on my confirmation receipt??? The room was poor and normally $180 so what did I save $100??? Would've stayed in sydney in a luxury place one night not in a average motel- whereby I had to do my own dishes and take out rubbish? Showers were poor facilities average - I was disappointed with arrogance if the old man- I brought along 2 families with me and gave your more business - there was no courtesy for me to come back again

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ayuosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceansideHN, Manager at Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

The $180 you paid was for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom motel room.You then needed to pay an extra $20 to upgrade to a 2 bedroom motel room.The $90 weekend surcharge was clearly printed on your voucher.Your voucher also stated that you receive; Free bottle of bubbly on arrival,Free chocolates on arrival,Unlimited Free push bike hire for your entire stay,unlimited Free surfboard hire for your entire stay,unlimited two for one ticket on the ferry to Nelson Bay,$15 worth of drinks in the restaurant,$10 off your breakfast each morning,$60 for 18 holes of golf with buggy and complimentary drink in the club house,$20 for half day canoe hire,25% discount on horse riding,20% discount on boat hire. Whether you took advantage of all of these promotions was completely up to you, but i,m sure you would have read all of this on your voucher.You only brought 1 " couple " with you as your uncle made his own booking and arrived a day after you. As for doing your own dishes, we do not supply servants, and surely it is not too hard to take out your own rubbish. I also think that you may have some trouble with the English language.You stated that i was arrogant when in fact i was being diligent in my job by simply asking you to pay the money that you owed.As for being old, you are probably right there,but i still work 90 hours per week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Four of us decided to go on a short holiday with a theme of just having Fun. We selected the Hawks Nest / Tea Gardens area and picked the Oceanside and what a good decision.It is a large Motel with 3.5 star facilities nice and roomy with good amanities and just across the road from Bennett Beach.The motel is joined to Benchmark Hotel and restaurant which both are first class ,the layout of the hotel is 4.5 star and has a great atmosphere and service.The restaurant is the locals secret has won some Hunter Valley awards and during our stay which include a Monday and Tuesday was booked out for 4 nights .The location of the Motel is perfect everything is within walking distance to the Shops,Club,Beach,Restaurants,Walking tracks,River/Bayand Ferry.The management and staff are very friendly and helpful.Our stay was very enjoyable and we are going back after Christmas to experience another FUN stay WHAT A GREAT PLACE HAWKS NEST IS

Room Tip: The motel has different types of rooms available based on size,style and price to satisfy all requir...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooki_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Came from sydney wanted a place to stay close to the ocean so we picked oceanside at Hawks Nest, We were greeted with a friendly reception, their names Paul & Maragaret. The room we stayed was clean & tidy & the kids could'nt wait to swim in the pool, so quickly grab swimmers and we down to pool. The kids 'had a great time in the pool and then we had lunch(from Benchmark) beside pool. The food excellent, The sevice with excellent & all staff where wonderful. I will be telling all my friends about this wonderful place beside the seaside.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redheadblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceansideHN, Manager at Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you so much for your comments we greatly value the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawks Nest
1.8 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
205 reviews
3.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
5.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,065 reviews
3.0 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel

Address: Corner of Booner & Bennet Streets, Hawks Nest, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Hawks Nest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Price Range: £92 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hawks Nest Hotel Hawks Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing