We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Muswellbrook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stay was an excellent stay we had wedding reception at restaurant and we had a lot of family and friends stay in motel for weekend, the staff were very friendly and easy going, rooms very clean and spacious, pool area was great for kids. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Addie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    108
    64
    44
    49
See reviews for
120
144
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dungog
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

we found this motel to be very good value.not far from anything. quiet and clean. friendly owner. nice pool area and only a quick drive to the beach but could easily be walked .
just what we were wanting. good value .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaye g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a property where you certainly get your value for money! The room was presented beautifully and clean. The staff were very attentive and helpful. We find the location perfect for our family, beach just at the end of the road, flat quiet roads for bike riding, and best of all the pool (don't forget the slide that we can't get the kids off) and spa on site. Overall this is a fantastic property that I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awilson180176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were looking for a place relatively close to Sydney but far enough away from the crowds. The room was very comfortable, and the staff very helpful for things to do around Hawks Nest. The hotel restaurant has made some huge improvements as it has a great feel and the food was fantastic. Can highly recommend this hotel for a weekend or an extended holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here last year 2013 with my 9 year old daughter and was not very impressed with the room, it was not clean, the carpet was dirty and the lounge was sticky. Then there was no privacy on the balcony at the back of the building because there was a block of units looking right at me across the road. Then to top it off, I slipped on the floor outside the bathroom in the hallway coming out of the shower. I told the staff but they didn't seem to care at all about this. Or ask if I'm alright. I will never stay there again, too noisy, not clean and you can get much better value for money by far at Hawk's Nest by renting a house instead. Big difference and alot happier doing this instead in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwiwalkabout27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceansideHN, Manager at Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Since your stay the motel has under gone a $250,000 refurbishment including new carpets new furnishings, and freshly painted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emu Plains, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I had a holiday bought for me on groupon for a 3 night stay at this motel, and considering what was paid, I expected a lot more than what we got. When we arrived and got up to our second floor room (room 207), the first thing I noticed was all the cracks running up the walls, the skirting boards which looked like they had never been cleaned, floor wasn't vacuumed properly (there was still a dead cockroach on the floor), the walls had dirty marks on them as did the roof. The back of the door had marks from sticky tape, the bathroom had loose floor tiles as well (also very small and the bottom of the door was chipped badly). But worst of all was when we pulled the sheets back and found someone elses hair IN the bed! There were also small brown/orange marks on the pillow cases/sheets. Our room had a view of the roof (such pretty roof tiles), no balcony, and the fly screen was coming out of the window frame.

Overall I/we were extremely disappointed with the quality of the room, and will not be visiting again.

Apart from that, the restaurant downstairs was brilliant and the close proximity to the beach was a big positive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vacationer281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hawks Nest hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We arrived late for check-in so our room was left open for us with the keys inside. When we got to the room the t.v. was on, it was as if someone had been in the room just before we got there. We stayed in a one-bed apartment on the 3rd floor. No balcony. The furniture was laid out in a very strange way. In the kitchen area, which had a countertop, small fridge and microwave, there was also the double bed, two bedside tables, a wardrobe, a table and two chairs and a small bookcase lying on its side. The bedside table on one side was in front of the wardrobe so the door to the wardrobe couldn't be opened. The table and chairs were crammed in beside the wardrobe so in order to sit at the table you had to move it out a several feet which meant that you were then blocking the apartment door! In the sitting-room part of the apartment there was a couch which had ripped cushions, and a t.v and t.v. stand. The rest of that section was bare! The t.v. had also been placed in front of the full length mirror so you couldn't use it. The bathroom is off this area. The door to the bathroom is a sliding one, which is mounted on the sitting-room wall with only runners on the top part. So if you have any windows open this door constantly bangs and it sounds like someone is knocking on the door. After a few days we concluded that for some reason the bedroom and sitting room had been swapped around! What other explanation would there be for most of the furniture being inaccessible and to be sleeping in the kitchen!? The bathroom also hadn't been cleaned properly, there were little hairs on top of the soap dispenser where someone had previously shaved. Both the bathroom window and bedroom window had holes in the screen.
The pool and spa area are very nice and clean and open till 8:30pm every night. We also availed of the free surfboard and bike hire which were great. The staff were friendly. The motel is in a great location if you're looking for a quiet beach holiday, but I wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a balcony. There was no-where for us to even dry our swimsuits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nell_Finn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawks Nest
1.8 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
6.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel

Property: Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Address: Corner of Booner & Bennet Streets, Hawks Nest, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Hawks Nest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hawks Nest Hotel Hawks Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing