We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true 3 star”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for our one year wedding anniversary on a scoopons deal.
We had mixed feelings for this property in the way it met our needs.
The room was large and quite clean, and had a good spa bath in the room. Very large balcony area, however due to rain all weekend we couldn't utilise it as it was not under cover. The property is very close to the beach and in a reasonable location. King bed was nice and comfortable and room was quite clean.
Our room ( 104) was directly above the pub beer garden, so very noisy in the afternoon right up until 9:30pm. If you are intending on having an afternoon sleep or are with small children this is a nightmare. Need to point out credit though as the noise did stop at the 9:30pm mark curfew and we were not bothered after that. Would be a great venue for party goers who want to 'can on' downstairs, but for a romantic retreat the noise downstairs is intrusive.

The scoopon program could be enhanced by the Ocean side by pointing out to the guest the 'extras' eg: champagne, chocolate, discount on food and drinks, bike hire, discount on ferry tickets etc. Though this was in the scoopon fine print, it is always good to receive coupons or tokens for these, or at least some information. We received zero information from the staff on check in and check out. The only interaction we had was being given the key, absolutely nothing else! The guest service could definitely be improved as it was very lacking. Due to this we were left to negotiate restaurant functionality and opening times and services. We were told by the downstairs restaurant that a pizza could not be delivered to the room and we had to come and get it.

It is a 3 star motel and that needs to be put into consideration. For a three star motel it was quite satisfactory. This was seen by the 15 pieces of toilet paper that was left on the roll on arrival ( just give us a fresh new one please!), the need to take own trash out of room and the stipulation that the rooms and towels would only be serviced every three days.

Potentially a good budget trip for people, however the noise from downstairs and the lack on service was a concern.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debera M, Manager at Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Firstly, thank you for your comments.
You rang and said you would be arriving after reception had closed.The receptionist
gave you directions to your room,unlocked the door,turned on a light and put your key
and vouchers in your room. She also advised you to call into reception the following
morning to let us know that you had arrived safely and if you needed any advise on how to
use your vouchers. No questions were asked the following morning. As the vouchers are quiet
self explanatory one would assume you understood how to use them. The complimentary
wine was in your fridge and the chocolates on your bed.
Sorry about the 15 sheets of toilet paper left on the roll but we do try to be as cost effective
as possible to allow these cheap packages to be sold.Obviously with the rain you could find
little to do but count toilet sheets on your first wedding anniversary.
Written on your confirmation letter is advise that if you are staying on an internet package
your room would not be serviced if your stay is 4 days or less,but towels ect. could be
exchanged daily. It was also written on the registration form that you signed the following
morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    109
    64
    45
    49
See reviews for
121
147
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Didnt want to leave. Room was very comfortable and clean with a View of Hawks Nest beach also without the hefty price tag. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Even rang me with directions so I wouldnt get lost. Will definately return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond Terrace, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

+Just got back from a great weekend at Oceanside, got a great deal paying only $120 per night off Oceanside website. We stayed in a deluxe spa room for 2 nights(we could have any room how's that) we also got a $15 worth of drinks voucher and $10 of breakfast plus a few other freebies we loved it. All the friendly staff, heated pool and spa, close to the beach and shops with its own restaurant and bar. already planning to go back..

Room Tip: if your travelling as a couple the deluxe spa rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacktown, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I didn't think that using a bag provided under the sink, for dirty clothes, would lead to my clothes to be washed, being thrown out by housekeeping into the commercial waste bin.

Which I, myself, had to wade through to recover them. After asking the manager what was he going to do about this, he offered a $40 voucher for breakfast. It was only on my suggestion the clothes be taken away and washed for me as well
Given this I asked him what deal would be done if I stayed another night and he said he had one room available which is usually $160 for the night and he would offer it to me for $130.

On this I checked out of this tired establishment where ceiling fans haven't been cleaned for years. Nice to have a spa at the pool but not so nice when you have to walk out of the pool complex to the BBQ area to restart it.

The whole place is tired and needs a upgrade for what you pay for here.

Shame because the place is in a great location near the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul c, Manager at Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
The bag provided under the sink was for garbage NOT dirty clothes.The bag was left near the front door.The housekeeper assumed it was rubbish when servicing your room.
We washed and dried your clothes but not on your suggestion.We endeavoured to find your clothes as well,but you found them before us.
As there was no loss or damage to your clothes I am of the opinion that my offer of the breakfast
voucher and discounted room rate was more than sufficient compensation for the temporary
misplacement of your clothes.
The ceiling fan may have had some dust on it and I apologise for that.
On the matter of the spa pool button location, it was a government policy that it be located
outside of the pool enclosure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hawks Nest hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Nice and handy location to the beach. The apartment we stayed in had a jacuzzi which was right above the restaurant. It got so noisy but after the mad rush at around 9pm. All is well, our stay as a family was pleasant, will choose this place again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank winnc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have stayed here a few times and love it.. The staff are very friendly - especially Paul and Carina. We stay in the 2 bedroom apartments and love them.. They are spotless. The kids love the pool / slide and spa... Great Location! We will be back

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdehlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I holidayed last week for 4 nights. We had the best most relaxing time for a long while. The staff made us feel like old friends so we felt very relaxed and welcomed. The beach which is 5 minute walk was so beautiful the sunrise and sunset was just stunning. We are looking forward to another stay very, very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawks Nest
1.8 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
3.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
4.0 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel

Property: Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Address: Corner of Booner & Bennet Streets, Hawks Nest, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Hawks Nest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hawks Nest Hotel Hawks Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing