We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Winda Woppa Wonder.”
The Boathouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boathouse
lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Boathouse
lounge
Downstairs rumpus.
Fire in lounge
Part of the kitchen
the beach round the corner aaah bliss.
This is a great walk along the beach from our place to the Yacabaa headland
Walkway to ocean beach
location shot
stunning...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hawks Nest, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
azzrock73
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winda Woppa Wonder.”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

From the initial email with Carolyn we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. All enquiries were replied to promptly and she was so helpful with recommendations for local activities etc. The house itself is fantastic, soooooo spacious and airy. The views of the Myall river and bridge from the front balcony are
and fantastic. Watching the world go by, fishing boats, ferries and frolicking fauna!! The sunsets are also spectacular. A well equipped kitchen and big BBQ on the rear deck make for easy feeding. Plenty of glassware, crockery, cups and assorted kitchen-y bits. My wife and I occupied the upstairs room which has a walk-thru wardrobe that leads on to an en-suite bathroom. It also has its own balcony and the bed was plenty comfy. The downstairs area has two bedrooms, one a double and the other set up with bunks, with enough to accommodate five people. The main bathroom and laundry are also on this level as well as a second lounge/family rumpus room. We made the most of being near the sheltered Jimmy's beach on the Port Stephens side and managed to spend an afternoon with a line in the water. Relaxing and a great place for spotting dolphins. We were lucky enough to spot a small pod in close, also doing a spot of fishing of their own!! It is just such a beautiful spot. It's easy to imagine it being quite busy in the holiday season, this time of year however was perfect. Highly recommend a stay at The Boathouse.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We're so pleased you all enjoyed your stay. You'd be surprised that the beach is really never busy! It's a peaceful area prob 49 wks out of 52 which is why it's so special. Please come again anytime . Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaggieT24...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Your holiday starts as soon as you open the door, and settle on the front deck with expansive water views”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Boathouse was exactly as we had seen it online, the photos and information supplied were accurate. Responses from Carolyn the owner to my questions via email were answered quickly, (even though she was away on holidays) and the information was accurate, helpful and included tips & advice on how to enjoy the area & the house. Carolyn was friendly & approachable with any questions I asked. She wants you to enjoy their holiday house and the area as they do.The house is on two levels with the covered front deck on top level facing the Myall River with views to the Singing Bridge the connection between Tea Gardens & Hawks Nest.The views are relaxing & peaceful.The house front faces North West towards the river and South East at the back, you can hear the waves from Jimmy's Beach on the covered back deck. Great cross breezes available with doors & windows opened and most windows are screened.Ceiling fans in all bedrooms and living areas making a hot day comfortable. The 4 bedrooms were good size, the 3 bathrooms were great (1 an ensuite) and the upstairs kitchen was one of the best stocked kitchens I have ever experienced, I have rented many overseas apartments. We checked with the owner what was usually found in the house re supplies. The living area flows onto the front deck is light, airy, and has river views.Importantly the front & rear decks can be used if raining or weather out of sorts. We used the washing machine whilst there, no problems.
The location was great, Jimmy's beach was a flat 6 min walk away, the river park with boat ramp was 10mins walk and many people use bicycles around Winda Woppa. We were mins away by car to Hawks Nest and Tea Gardens shops/cafes/retail and much more. It is an area that feels relaxed but would be vibrant in peak holiday times. We were there to veg out and soak up the sunshine, with some retail therapy, and that goal was achieved.
We really enjoyed the seafood from the Co-Op the prawns were fresh, and tasty. The Rainbow cafe at Tea Gardens was a real buzz with food/drinks/personality and of good standards. A local friend tells us the Chinese next door to the Rainbow Cafe is very good, and the Aurora (Chinese) also good & home delivers. We didn't manage to fit in The Boatshed Restaurant it was always busy as we drove by, maybe next time.
We had great success with Dolphin watching. On our first day in Tea Gardens opposite the Rainbow Cafe sighted 2 Dolphins gently swimming. Next night on The Singing Bridge we could hear the Dolphins expiration so located them in semi darkness we watched them for 30mins playing and diving for their dinner accompanied by the Pelicans. We would recommend you try this but the weather, water temp & conditions & time of year will influence Dolphin sightings. We also had 2 Dolphins swimming very close to us at Jimmy's Beach. No need for us to go on a boat to see Dolphins, we were lucky! Its a magical place and you can do much or little.
What didn't we like, well the Mosquitoes which if you go prepared with sprays they won't bother you. They are a part of the landscape (water & bushland) but are seasonal, annoy for a short time and don't like anything with Citronella. The house is very well screened, and has good supplies of outdoor candles on the table.
We would highly recommend The Boatshed house, contact the owners for rental and then they quote you the price and then you deal with the agency for the paperwork.
We hope to return to enjoy a wonderful house and location.
Thank you Carolyn for making us feel so welcome and the offer of a late checkout was super.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House and the outside covered deck looking at the Myall River
Liked least: Mosquitoes
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an expansive review Maggie it is much appreciated.you hit the nail on the head as yes we do want our guests to love the house and area as much as we do and do everything in our power to make that happen. Come in the winter next time and enjoy the fire and I promise the Dolphins live in Port Stephens all year round so you won't be disappointed . Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna G
Wellington, Australia
1 review
“A fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The boathouse is a lovely, spaceous and clean place with everything you need for a holiday. The interior is very nice and you start feeling relaxed the moment you walk to the door. Key collection and drop of and communication were excellent and the location is great. I can hands down recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pretty much everything
Liked least: the mattress in the main bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
Thank you for your kind words Hanna. We are so pleased you had a great relaxing holiday.
We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.
Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy C
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband, myself and a friend have just come home from The Boathouse. We stayed from Monday to Friday and didn't want to leave.
Great house! Extremely comfortable and so well appointed. Everything was there that we needed. Plenty of bowls, saucepans, sharp knives, in fact everything a good cook could want.
Comfortable beds and plenty of relaxing lounges. My husband was disappointed it wasn't cold enough for him to light the fire. Would have loved to curl up in front of that.
Like Arnie, WE'LL BE BACK!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The closeness to the beach and lake and the wonderful view
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review Joy. We are so happy that you enjoyed The Boathouse as much as we do.
We look forward to having you back in the winter months when the beaches are even emptier and you can curl up in front of the fire.
Kind regards. Carolyn and Nigel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne S
rushden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a wondeful stay at Hawks Nest at The BoatHouse. The accomodation was homely, larger than expected, excellent facilities location beautiful. Wild life amazing. I would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely and beautiful location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We always love to hear from our guests and are thrilled to hear of your wonderful stay. Please come again. Winter is fabulous at The Boathouse, but summer adds another dimension. Hope to see you and your family again. All the very best Carolyn and Nigel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
258meme66
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“most relaxing, comfortable accommodation, a great place to unwind”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Had a lovely 6 days at the boathouse with my mother and aunt both in their 80s who had holidays at Tea Gardens 60 years ago with their large families. The house was very welcoming with lovely views and all that you need. A wonderful time was had by all and are already talking about a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bright openness of the house.
Liked least: thought the price was slightly high for the time of the year.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review Sue. We' re so pleased you had a lovely stay. We would love to host you again.
Kind regards
Carolyn and Nigel Dufton
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Reviewed 29 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing