We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jolly Swagman”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jolly Swagman Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Holbrook
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This place was advertised as a small friendly motel that was B&B style

After checking were told the restaurant was closed so we bought take away Chinese but didn't get forks Asked the motel owner/ manager if we could borrow 3 forks He said no but we could buyers some plastic sets for $5.00 , not sure if that each I did mention that as his advertised restaurant was closed and we had already paid him$120.00, we thought he wouldn't mind loaning us 3 forks but the answer was no He said he needed to charge to wash them but people steal them so he sells plastic ones. We only got 2 teaspoons in the room for three of us so we went and asked for a teaspoon and ate Chinese The beds were terrible On principle I didn't dare touch the mini fridge and wouldn't go back again Also noisy with trucks all night as right on Hume highway The up side is they do allow pets in some rooms

Room Tip: There are several other motels to choose from that don't advertise on google No rooms would...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jakara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jollyswag, Owner at Jolly Swagman Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Many thanks to Jakara, Broome for taking the time to give feedback on our service. Their comments will be very helpful towards maintaining and improving our services to our guests.

At the time of their check-in (8.23pm) our restaurant had closed. We close at 8.00pm. We have stopped lending cutlery and plates to guests when they chose to have Chinese takeaway because our cutlery very often went missing and we were so often left with a terrible mess of dried up food scraps on the plates to clean the next day. We always recommend to guests that they request cutlery from the Chinese restaurant when they pick up their order.
We do have complete plastic picnic sets that we sell (2 x plates, bowls, cups, knives, forks, spoons and napkins) for $3. I was offering these at 2 sets for $5, certainly not just 3 forks. I apologise for the misunderstanding over this.

I was very suprised by the comment about uncomfortable beds. This is the first negative feedback about our beds.
The No 1 comment at check out by our guests is how good the beds are.

We are sorry that Jakara had a less than pleasant experience at our motel. We would love to welcome them back again - Maybe after the by-pass is in place.

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Jolly Swagman Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

We found this motel ideal for a stopover between Sydney and Melbourne. The hosts were friendly and helpful, the room spotlessly clean and the dinner enjoyable.
We were wondering if edie83Melbourne stayed at the same motel, seeing that the ear plugs were kept in the room fridge at a price of 50c, the walls were brick and certainly not marked and the carpet in all rooms had been replaced following 2010 floods. We thought that the room at $98 per night was a reasonable tariff. The trucks do travel the Hume Highway at night and create some noise.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Great stopover on long road trip, spotless room, great breakfast, if passing through would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossandmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed as a rest stop on the way to Canberra. Unfortunately the constant noise from trucks on the highway made sleep an impossibility. The ear plugs for sale at reception (at a 200% mark up) should have been a clue.

The decor is very dated and fittings are in urgent need of an update - badly marked walls, cracked tiles in bathroom and worn carpet.

Meals in restaurant were average - we were grateful to get them as there seemed to be no other places open for dinner on a Monday night.

The owner/ operator ? was one of the surliest people I have ever come across in years of travelling and his attitude alone would be enough to never stay here again.

Final word- if you are looking for a good nights sleep to break your journey or any sort of customer service or pleasantness from your hosts keep driving!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edie83Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We chose this Motel for a long weekend away dog showing in Albury. The hotel was happy to have a crated dog in the room providing the dog was not left unattended and was not fed in the room. They have suitable grassed areas for on leash exercise. Breakfast to the room was reasonably priced and the onsite restaurant was excellent for a motel restaurant. Overall the hosts were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YassSaluqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This Motor Inn is a great place to stay on the Hume Highway.
We have stayed here about 4 times in the last year on our way back from outer Melbourne.
The tariff is reasonable and the the proprietors John and Janet are welcoming hosts. The rooms are spotless and even though the noise from the trucks running up and down the highway are tiresome at times, the thougtful addition on the mini bar of earplugs helps.
The breakfasts are more than adequate but the addition of the dining room for an evening meal saves having to get in the car and go searching.
The evening meal is usually excellent, good wholesome "pub grub" and licencsed to boot. Great after a weary day on the road.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms comfortable, try the restaurant for an meal
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Perfect place for a quick stopover with exemplary customer service, comfortable, warm rooms and classy decor. We also enjoyed a delicious meal at the on site restaurant and greatly appreciated the care taken to ensure my meal was gluten free. Parking for our camper trailer was not a problem at all so this is a great stopover for campers who would like a night of luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shark004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
0.4 mi away
Holbrook Town Centre Motor Inn
1.3 mi away
Byer Fountain Motor Inn
Byer Fountain Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Holbrook
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenndale Park Motel
Glenndale Park Motel
#3 of 6 in Holbrook
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holbrook Settlers Motel
Holbrook Settlers Motel
#6 of 6 in Holbrook
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holbrook Motor Village Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Swagman Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Swagman Motor Inn

Address: 46 Albury St, Holbrook, New South Wales 2644, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Holbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Holbrook
Price Range: £58 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jolly Swagman Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jolly Swagman Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing