We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Huskisson Bayside Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Huskisson
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Way overpriced”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed one night and barely could sleep as the walls are too thin and everyone seemed to enjoy slamming doors and talked really loud the whole night.
It is clean and well located but for $145 you could get something better elsewhere
We stayed in Bateman's Bay the weekend after and payed $120 for a beautiful cabin close to the beach which way better furniture, beds, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    24
    44
    20
    16
See reviews for
23
65
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Had gone to Huskisson to camp but due to gale force winds we had to abort. Unable to find any accommodation in our first few attempts at late notice we were able to secure a room here for my wife and I and our two kids. Sure the place is getting very dated now , but we had no complaints, rooms were clean (out of the wind) , good location close to main street, service was very friendly and a good nights sleep was had by all. $145 for a family room. Better value can probably be found, but for what it is I can't fault them.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitrams027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I'm staying at this motel as I type .. I've been here two nights with my lovely wife and we can't fault the place. Initially when I booked the accomadation after reading all the other reviews I was very pleasantly surprised with the phone manner and efficiency of the man on the other end. Upon arrival we were greater in a friendly and pleasant manner .. I gave instructions as to my wishes not to be disturbed etc and these wishes have been strictly adhered too. The room itself (Standard) is reasonably large and clean and I've got absolutely no complaints whatsoever. The close proximity to town and the water are superb and also ample parking provided for cars and vehicles towing boats jet ski's etc...
I'd say to all the critics and detractors who've had negative comments that your entitled to your opinion but I'm thinking maybe your expectations are slightly higher than your intellect.
Overall I've rated it 3 out of five stars and I'm a happy customer .. Everything in the room worked and the grounds were clean and well kept .. The staff were friendly and helpful and I know I'd be more than happy to spend my money and time here again.
I booked accomadation sight unseen as I usually do and after reading all reviews.
To any potentials customers reading this don't let the negative comments put you off staying here as I'm a very pedantic customer who is 100% satisfied.
Great place .. Great part of the world.
A sincere thank you to all staff for your hospitality .. See you all again soon.

Room Tip: Room 25 I was very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stopped here and payed for a room without looking at it. The price was $145 which seemed very high. We climbed the rusted stairway (that had been covered in timber in an attempt to hide the rust holes) to find a room that had old furniture in it that was not very welcoming. The furniture looked like something that came out of an 1970's op-shop. The room also stunk of cheap air freshener and was in NO WAY worth $145. I returned to the office within 5 minutes to ask for a refund. The manager did grant me a refund but not without becoming increasingly aggressive in his manner. He said he was going to deduct a fee for the trouble ($10). I pointedly asked why and he backed down. He said the fee was for having disturbed him by ringing the buzzer twice. (Sorry Mr. Fawlty) As I was leaving he said to me "You better not have (crude word) in the toilet because I'll be really (another crude word) with you if you did". He has graduated from the Basil Fawlty school of customer relations it seems.

We ended up getting back in the car and driving down to Ulladulla and staying at the Ulladulla Guest House for $148 booked through wotif. It was well worth the extra drive (they even through in a welcome glass of champagne and a nightcap by the bed of port!) I will write another review of that experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keithsutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBpossum, Manager at Huskisson Bayside Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
With over 5000 room sales per year we endeavour to provide a Motel where the staff are friendly and helpful as our reviews have indicated, so we are happy to take on board any feedback that is constructive
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huskisson hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed a friday night, so perhaps we paid the weekend-super-premium. The rooms are old, the carpets was just floating on the floor, and the place is in desperate need of some repairs. That said the staff were friendly and very helpful, which was the only saving factor.

if you can stay somewhere else, you probably should.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snabelfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBpossum, Manager at Huskisson Bayside Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
What we offer as previous travellers have indicated is a clean Motel with Queen size beds, LCD TV's and free wifi with friendly helpful service in a great location and at a tariff comparable to other Motels of the same standard in the area.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I stayed at the Bayside a number of years ago in one of their standard rooms and have just paid another visit. On this occasion I stayed in one of the bigger rooms looking out towards the sea.

This really is a pretty standard seaside motel like many along the coast here. Having said that it has less ambience than many such motels in terms of its external presentation (no garden beds between units etc) - although this is typical of the motels in this otherwise attractive town.. I know we found the standard rooms a bit bleak for this reason and so I haven't used it again for some years.

On this occasion I had one of the first floor rooms overlooking the park and towards the sea through the trees.

This is a much more nicer option. The aspect is pleasant (see photo) and you can enjoy it from a good sized balcony. The room is comfortably enough furnished with a large double bed, it also has a sofa bed. The room is large and spacious. The bathroom has separate shower and bath.

I would consider these front upstairs rooms as a reasonable accommodation option when visiting again although I thought it was a bit pricey for the standard of accommodation and furnishings. I paid $180 for one night ($160ish would feel more appropriate to me). The standard rooms were $110 per night but I really didn't want to stay in one of them again.

This motel really is a convenient location to the town centre and the beach The service at reception was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I've spent two night in this motel with my mum. It is a bit old, but it is super clean and the shower is absolutely great. After having done a tour in the surrounding area, we agreed that it is the standard level for a Motel. Huskisson is a very small village and there are not that many streets so, even if there is a Owen St (the main street), it is very esay to find the Motel in Bowen St (its parallel!!!). No problem at all in finding the place!!!
It is 1 min walking to a nice white-sanded beach and from the wharf from which dolphins and whales tours depart. Super close to Stonegrill, probably the best restaurant in the area with reasonable prices for a great quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank motty90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huskisson
1.9 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
284 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bay n Basin Lodge
Bay n Basin Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jervis Bay Motel
Jervis Bay Motel
#3 of 4 in Huskisson
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huskisson Bayside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huskisson Bayside Resort

Property: Huskisson Bayside Resort
Address: 28 Bowen St | corner Bowen & Hawke Streets, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Huskisson
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Huskisson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Huskisson Bayside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Huskisson over looking a beautiful park/play ground and Jervis Bay. We offer vintage style accommodation to suit a variety of travellers. We are centrally located to restaurants, shopping, bus stop, activity options and of course the beach. Our rooms are clean, staff are friendly and we look forward to seeing you at Huskisson Bayside Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Huskisson Bayside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing